We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimi's Cafe - CLOSED

Mimi's Cafe
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We thought we would give this Mimi's a go, since we normally go to the one just by Mall at Millenia Orlando.

Service was slow (and server was not friendly or attentive) and the food was poor. The chicken pot pies were only lukewarm.

The place needs a refurb - feels dirty/well used/falling apart at the seams (literally in the case of the seat I sat on).

Wont be going back here any time soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gforce_iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food! Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We discovered this restaurant quite by accident, but then that is often the thing that makes a vacation special. The staff was friendly and attentive. We never had to ask when our meal would arrive or for a refill on the drinks. The food was excellent. We had the dinner for 2. We are looking forward to future visits.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finwiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I am done with Mimi's..”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mimi's used to be someplace we sought out when we were back in Orlando, since they did not have a footprint in the area we moved to, but since they have completely discontinued their all-day breakfast and quiche options, I have no desire to return. Now it is just trying to have that french bistro menu... and failing... miserably.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSnackpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Muffins Favorite”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a taste for muffins and soup and I decided to go to Mimi's Cafe because I had heard that they make the best muffins fresh everyday. I had the Blue Berry Muffins and the Chicken Soup. Both were delicious...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New "Ugly American" Fake French Menu”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We used to enjoy Mimi's for the quiche, big fresh muffins and comfort foods. The new menue is a disappointment. We were told that they are under new French ownership, but they haven't updated a thin in the facility. It's looking tired. My hubby, who was raised by a French mother, recognized the food names, but the ingredients and cooking methods were a far cry from his memories. WHat we were served and what we saw on other tables looked lacked the freshness one would expect. Most meals seam to be garnished with an explosion of bright green frozen peas. Yuck. The Coq au Vin that was a tasty chicken breast served over instant pasty tasting mashed potatoes. The Carbonara was a creamy pasta with neon peas and chunks of dry salty red unidentifiable meat. The French bread tasted prepped from frozen. I don't think it's possible to serve good French food at the price point they are aiming for. French should be fresh not frozen. Our server was very good, but a manager kept hoovering around us to see what we were talking about. As many times as he passed our table and the other tables in our area, he never once stopped to say hello or ask how people were enjoying the food. I think he already knew.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing