We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS!!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alachua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After finding and reporting a tick sized bedbug in my bed, not only did they not offer me any refund, they asked me to leave the hotel! Stating that the building needed to be closed and they had no other room to offer me!
They made it seem as though I had given them bedbugs!!
I have never in my life experienced bedbugs until my stay at this Quality Inn!!! I reported them to the health dept. and advised their corporate offices, who also offered me NO compensation for the 734.00$ I had spent staying there!!
Now, I have to pay to have every single item of mine that was in the room to be properly cleaned and for my luggage and my vehicle to be treated with chemicals as well!!
VERY UPSET,INSULTED & DISAPPOINTED IN QUALITY IN ALACHUA FLORIDA @ I-75 & HWY.441

I ALSO HAVE A PHOTO OF THE BEDBUG TO SHOW ANY AND ALL THAT I CAN! To prevent this from happening to anybody else!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jburrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    34
    25
    44
See reviews for
71
43
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alachua, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at many Quality Inn that was very clean but this location needs better housekeeping or new manager. This is not the only complaint others have the same dirty rooms. My advice is do not stay there,i know i will not. WE stayed the night because it was getting late and we had a 4 year traveling with us ,hope this helps.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alachua hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very clean. Very friendly. Cathy & June went out of their way to figure out how to take our payment method. It was late and we had attempted to get a room next door, but these ladies made everything go smoothly. Paula made an awesome breakfast - great variety from cereal to fresh waffles! Everything worked out perfectly. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 983JennM983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I'm not sure I can say anything nice about this hotel. I stayed on a Saturday night and checked out on Sunday. It is a very old motel that is in the process of being updated, but my room was not. First, when I checked in, the person behind the desk was on the phone. She was somewhat rude to both the person on the phone and also to another staff member. I had to wait nearly 10 minutes for her to check me in. She put me in room 134. The room looked like something out of the 1960's. There were cracked tiles in the shower. I found 4 different bugs in the room (3 were flying and one was a roach). I needed to use the iron, but someone had taken the plug for it. I went to the front desk and the clerk brought me another iron. This one had gunk on the iron so I had to use a towel over my clothes because I didn't want gunk on them. The towels (only 2) in my bathroom were threadbare and needed replacing. The next day, as I was preparing to leave, I wanted to get some ice for the road. None of the ice machines were operating! I would not stay in this hotel again. For $95, it was way over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967Yankeesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After spending one night at the Econo Lodge adjacent to the Quality Inn in Alachua, FL, I thought I'd have to stay in Gainesville to get a decent room. I took a chance, considering the poor reviews on TripAdvisor, and checked out the Quality Inn. Although the lobby was deserted when I arrived (I wondered if the clerk had been abducted), she showed up after 15 minutes and apologized for not being at the desk. Apparently, a guest had broken a glass bottle in either the hall or parking lot as she had cut her finger picking it up. Anyway, I booked a King room for the night, but ended up being so delighted with the condition of the room that I immediately called the clerk from my room and booked it for the remainder of my stay in the area.

Upon entering the room, I noticed that the bed looked clean and inviting. The carpeting appeared new and the room smelled fresh. The decor was attractive and welcoming, with one wall painted a warm mustard or gold featuring coordinating framed prints. A comfortable love seat gave the room a cozy feel. There was ample lighting and all the lamps worked (not so at the Econo Lodge next door)! The bathroom was clean, although it could have used a more careful vacuuming, and the shower just right. Included in the room were a small refrigerator and microwave, plus a TV, of course. The A/C worked perfectly. Best of all, the bed was made with crisp, clean sheets and a snugly comforter, plus four fluffy pillows to sink my head into.

The free breakfast choices consisted of: do-it-yourself waffles, two different cereals, scrambled eggs (real, not powdered), sausage links, a selection of breads, grits, juices, fruit and good coffee. I'd definitely stay there again and, at $67/night (AAA discount), would say it's a GREAT value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a place to rest while on a roadtrip, and ended up in Quality Inn Alachua. Got a room in building 2, away from the main building, and found it a bit run down. Quite alright for a night on the road, but would not want to stay longer.

Front desk was friendly and welcoming, a nice complimentary breakfast with some hot items (scrambled eggs and sausages). Overall value was ok. Once again you kind of get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JothySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north geogia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here previously 4 years ago on a combined business/pleasure trip. The rooms have been renovated and updated since then. Much nicer than before. This is an older property but is in good shape. Nice grounds, bbq pit and large pool. Breakfast area is spacious, looks like it was built as restaurant originally. Location is easy access to 1-75, with Gainesvile a quick trip. Only downside was they were understaffed on a busy football weekend, but this was a minor factor however the limited staff was somewhat harried. I will continue to stay here when possible.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the backside. Much quieter and better scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youneverknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alachua
8.3 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
11.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
14.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
15.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 15960 NW US Highway 441, Alachua, FL 32615-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Alachua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alachua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the North Central Florida at the Quality Inn(R) I-75 At Exit 399 hotel in Alachua, FL. We're located off Interstate 75 and Highway 441, just minutes from the historic Newnansville Town Site. Our bargain hotel is close to the San Felasco Hammock Preserve State Park and River Rise Preserve State Park. We're 30 minutes from downtown Gainesville, plus close to: Blue Springs State Park Ginnie Springs Outdoors The Oaks Mall University of Florida Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alachua Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing