We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bring Your Little Ones Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Reviewed December 26, 2005

My husband, 16 month old daughter and I checked into the Avon Old Farms Hotel for a 2 night stay last week. It's not really our kind of place, as we prefer large, modern hotels (we had just come from two nights at the Four Seasons New York), but we knew that going in so we felt prepared. Check-in went fine, and we drove to the building where our room was located. The rooms are located in at least two different buildings, some of them with doors to the outside like a motel. There is no bellman to help with your luggage, and no valet.

The room was alright - about what we expected - older, musty smelling, but seemed to be pretty clean and was a decent size. The bathroom was not luxurious by any stretch but was reasonably clean as far as I could tell. For some inexplicable reason, the heater was on "cool" and it was about 50 degrees in the room. The heater is an individual unit near the window that blows air out pretty forcefully. It is very loud and can be set only to hot or cold, not to a specific temperature.

When I booked our stay (2 months in advance), I specifically asked whether they would have a crib available for my daughter and was assured they would. When I called to confirm the reservation several days in advance, I was again assured that they would have a crib. When we got there, there was an old, stained/dirty pack 'n play folded up in the room. No sheet, no blanket, nothing. My husband called the front desk and they said no, they didn't have sheets for the pack 'n play. First off, I had specifically asked for a crib, NOT a pack 'n play. As it turns out, no hotel in the area (at least none that I called) have actual cribs, but it would have been nice to know that beforehand, as my daughter hates sleeping in pack 'n plays. What really bothered me, though, was that they expected my one year old to sleep on a BARE mattress, with not even a sheet! And when asked, they acted as if it was such a bizarre request, that I should want something between my daughter's face and some other baby's drool, spit up and who knows what else. Their best offer was to use a king sized sheet folded up and a bath towel for a blanket. We checked out. And when we returned the key, the front desk clerk informed us that actually, we were wrong, that the pack 'n play IS actually a crib. Huh?

Bottom line, if you don't have a baby, this hotel is OK, but no better than that. If you do have a baby, try the Marriott in Farmington. It's not exactly five star quality, but they upgraded us to a suite, set up the pack n play for us (along with a sheet and blanket!!) and otherwise had excellent and fast service, without the attitude.

1  Thank mrswh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 360 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
314
Reviewed January 23, 2004

I would highly recommend this quaint little place in Avon. The room was very clean and very spacious. In the Inn, there was a workout room as well as a restaurant and pub. I didn't try the food, so can't comment on that. But, the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank FEUFEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions une chambre avec deux lits queen size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlmc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Annex Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Chechu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almeida105732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
204 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#5 of 6 in Farmington
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range: $139 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing