We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in bucolic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Pearl, Mississippi
1 review
“Nice hotel in bucolic setting”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Comfortable, tastefully decorated hotel rooms that assist for getting a restful night's sleep. The staff members at all levels were very helpful, hospitable, and professional. Excellent transportation staff who went above and beyond expectations, especially during a very busy wedding season! I cannot thank them enough! The hotel restaurant served reasonably priced, beautifully presented, delicious meals served by friendly wait staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    116
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
92
76
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WOODSTOCK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large any clean. Their were beautiful winding staircases and lots of sitting areas to take a break outside of the room. They served fresh Danishes and breads with coffee in the lobby for breakfast. We will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nicely decorated rooms that have a colonial feel. Comfortable beds with comforters and nice homey touches throughout the room. The pool is set beautifully in the woods, clean, and relaxing. However they over did it with the scent sticks in the reception area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
630 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Well I was on business in Canton for a week and the Avon Old Farms Hotel is fabulous. It has an old world charm in the staff and the building and the lobby. It is oh so very clean and the room was big, comfy, well kept, clean, and stocked. This is a place I will stay again when I travel to the area. The Wi-Fi works great, the bar and restaurant are just down the hall and again the staff is exceptionally helpful. I just want to thank the staff for what they do. They deliver and do it well. me thinks I might sound like an advertisement however, this is the hotel I found after reading reviews and checking prices and as I have stated - This is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely delicious! There were many great choices. I had hanger steak for the first time.
It was delicious. My husband had chocolate cake that was perfection!
Just went for dinner. We live locally.
The service was great, the food was perfection.
Lovely venue, what more can we say.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Returning to Connecticut for a boarding school reunion, it seemed logical to stay at one of those places that was there when I was in school. The property is well kept, the rooms are a good size, and the lobby coffee and treats are welcoming. There is a decent sized exercise room, and the staff is helpful. The only concern is that the rooms are not at all soundproofed - if staying in the Annex, make sure to request a room on the second floor.

Room Tip: The only concern is that the rooms are not at all soundproofed - if staying in the Annex, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A pleasure to find a nice hotel in a small town. The room size was adequate, the beds very comfortable, and the food and beverage available would compare favorably with a good city hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#2 of 7 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
8.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Property: Avon Old Farms Hotel
Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing