We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinema Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cinema Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I decided to check this place out after doing a search for restaurant style movie theatres in the area. I checked the reviews here and while the reviewer saying that it was in a sketchy area had me slightly concerned, I decided to check it out anyway (figuring I could always keep driving if it was really that bad). I was pleasantly surprised.

Let me first say that the area was not bad at all. The cinema is in a strip mall plaza close to the highway and other strip malls. It didn't seem any worse to me than any other strip mall. As to the place itself, like I said above, I was pleasantly surprised. Inside the theater, there were plenty of seats and menus were spread out but available for all to view. For being a small place, it seemed to be run efficiently - and you can't beat the matinee price on half price Tuesdays ($1.25 for the movie!). The movie itself was no longer in regular theatres, but I have no problem with that. I didn't get a chance to see the movie the first time, and this was a great cheap option to see it before it comes out in various electronic media.

The food wasn't bad. I had the chicken fingers and the portion size was decent. No complaints there. The only fault I could say is that I tried to order a dessert (apple pie - sounded good), only to find out that they didn't have any available. I thought that was a little strange as it was pretty early in the week, but it wasn't a deal breaker.

Overall, I would say that the prices make this place worth it. ~$15 for the entire experience - I dare you to try to find that in a normal theatre. You can pay just that much for the movie ticket itself. I would go back again in a heartbeat. And I wouldn't worry too much about the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smcvt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“decent food for a movie theater, worst location ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We found this place on groupon. The area is so very, very sketchy. I did not get a good feeling being there at all. The actual movie and food were decent. The service was decent. I enjoyed everything but the location. I will not be back due to the location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissColoradoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great food. Great setup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Food was surprisingly great. Had potato skins and they were the best we have ever had. Had halibut fingers and fries and they were great also. They set up is great. We are here on vacation and wished we had something similar back home in Indiana.

Helpful?
Thank MBSpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
“Fine for movie and lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Service here was good, and it wasn't too crowded. Certainly not as comfortable as a regular theater, but if you need to eat a meal while going to the movies, this is a good bet!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and movies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been to this cinema grill several times and finally have a good sense of the offerings of this location. The price of admission for a matinee show is cheap, a family of four can get in for $10. They show movies on second run, usually a couple weeks after they are shown in the first run theaters. They usually have a good selection of movies ranging from family-friendly to blockbuster action flicks.

The theaters themselves are fairly small, rather intimate settings. Usually there aren't more than 20-30 at each flick. There are rows of swivel chairs with a counter to put your food, and interspersed are little round tables.

The servers are good at what they are doing, and take orders and bring out food with efficiency. They offer the standard American fare such as burgers and other entrees, as well as popcorn and other appetizers, salads, and desserts. Overall the food is decent for movie house cuisine, but nothing to write home about.

The screens seem to have been updated in recent years, so the picture quality is pretty good compared to a couple years ago, but still a notch below the major theaters.

Overall for the price and dining feature, it's a good place to take your family when it's dreary outside for some lunch and movie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing