We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than some, not as good as others” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Liu's Authentic Chinese Cuisine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef Liu's Authentic Chinese Cuisine
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than some, not as good as others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been here twice--dinners both times. It's not bad, but I've read these glowing reviews and frankly I didn't have that experience. Atmosphere is okay, nothing special. Food isn't anything to home about. It's better than East Cafe; more spice. We didn't try the "authentic" menu in back--I think next time we'll do that. It's worth another try to see that. Overall, having been to hundreds of Chinese restaurants in many parts of the country, I'd say that this one isn't one that I'd prize on my list.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorashim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I ate here and it did not disappoint. The food is very tasty and fresh with wonderful favors and textures. Everyone enjoyed the various dishes ordered. We had a whole striped bass that was fantastic. Worth a special effort!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Szechuan Jewel in Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just returned from two weeks in Szechuan, China and heard about the new restaurant one of its top chefs just opened in Aurora, CO. It's so good it's worth a journey.
The layered tastes of spices, vegetables and protein rivaled the best meals we had in China.
The atmosphere is plain but the food is world class.
Try the Steamed Striped Bass with Ginger and Scallons for something mild, Mapo Tofu with Ground Beef for something hot. You can't go wrong with any of the chef's specialties.
If you like spicy food, this place is heaven. Ask for recommendations. They will explode your concepts of Chinese Food. This is the real thing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have had great Chinese food in New York and San Francisco. This restaurant in Aurora, Colorado stands toe to toe with any of them in quality, quantity and flavor of their dishes and quite frankly is the best Chinese food I've ever had the pleasure of eating. I highly recommend Chef Liu's to anyone hankering for Chinese food in the Denver/Aurora Colorado area. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Liu's Authentic Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing