We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gristly meat”
Review of Pho 99 Aurora

Pho 99 Aurora
Ranked #190 of 729 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Aurora
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gristly meat”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Beef was edged in terrible layer of gristle, that caused us to spit out about every other helping. Dirty entry way with rug folded back upon itself created hazard, which I tried to fix while exiting.

Don't know why this place is so busy?? Maybe many favor cheap price over quality food...not me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Broth!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pho 79 is our neighborhood staple pho place. Their pho broth is just delicious and so are their vietnamese egg rolls. Service is usually fast and friendly and while the restaurant is showing it's age decor wise, it's always packed to the gills with happy patrons. For the price and it's location near my home it's a sure bet. We're here several times a month, especially in cold weather.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GojyoChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an unappealing space; dark, dank and dirty. But even that would even be ok if the food was good. Among other things, we ordered veggie egg rolls that were clearly frozen and processed. Not fresh and certainly not made there. Tasteless, soggy and greasy. The seafood pho was primarily not fresh fish and completely average. And, the spring rolls were loose and also barely average. The service was very slow to being but improved when what might have been the manager or owner finally came over to take our order. Compared to other Pho restaurants, especially on Federal Blvd, this restaurant is well below average. And, by the way, when I mentioned the poor quality of the eggs rolls to the friendly cashier who had asked how we enjoyed the food, she not so much offered a word of concern or apology.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, california
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Pho!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had some wonderful Pho soup for dinner from here! The food is excellent and the waitstaff is just terrific. The freshness can't be overstated. As spicy as you want...or not. Terrific value...a very popular spot and deservedly so!!
If you're over on this side of town...this should be your noodle house!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best pho in existence!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

so i was at work one night when one of my patients recommended this place to me calling it the best pho restaurant of all the pho restaurants around. the best? that's really saying something because i pass 5 pho restaurants just on my way to work each night. they open very early but serve the same menu all day so in the morning when i got off work, i picked up my wife and 4yr old and we all went to try it out. she. was. right. we started with the spring rolls. then we got a medium pho soup with rare steak and brisket and split it between the 3 of us. i got the combonation plate noodle bowl and my wife got the eggroll rice bowl. we all got 2 tai iced teas and we finished up with the mocha cake for dessert. it was enough to feed a small army, and we had to bring most of it home but i was so impressed that when i went to leave a review on tripadvisor and saw that this restaurant wasn't even listed, i took the time to list it myself! i think people have been posting reviews on the pho 79 in denver thinking they were posting on this one in aurora. everything we had was surprisingly amazing. every bite was sweet, salty, savory, spicy and blended perfectly. the veggies tasted extremely fresh, and the meat was cooked to perfection. luckily we had googled 'how to properly eat pho' before we went. if you're not fluent in pho eating i recommend doing that. there were so many sauces at the table that if we hadn't googled that, we wouldn't have known what to do with all the sauces! they also home make their fish sauce which was perfect. i dumped it over my combo plate. as amazing as the food is, no matter how full you will be after eating here, do not leave without getting the mocha cake. you will regret it if you do. it is so rich, that one dessert will feed 3-4 people. there was not one item here that we weren't terribly in love with. my wife fell in love with the pho broth the most. i think the eggrolls that came on our plates were my favorite part. my picky 4 year old even ate until he could't eat anymore. if you want to try a pho restaurant or even if you have tried several pho restaurants, this one is worth adding to your list! i hear it stays very busy all day everyday but we went in the early morning and it wasn't too bad. our super-sized excursion only costed is $45. this place comes with the highest recommendation i can give. it's at havana and missssippi on the west side of the street right next to another pho restaurant. try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho 99 Aurora also viewed

 

Been to Pho 99 Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing