We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love the corn and cheese muffins!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #12 of 715 Restaurants in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“love the corn and cheese muffins!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

They were absolutely yummy...we finished our first basket and our server gave us a new one. But we decided to wait till we got our entrees otherwise we'll be too full to eat. I ordered the Double Decker sandwich which is made with bbq pulled pork and beef brisket, bbq sauce and you have a choice of having it on a regular or wholewheat bun or sourdough bread. You can also choose one side dish, and I got the fried green tomatoes. The sandwich was great and the fried green tomatoes were interesting. My hubby ordered the Southern burger and he chose collard greens as his side. The burger was more medium when it came and it was pretty 'blah' but we liked the collard greens.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ experience.. Don't forget to ask for your "crack" muffins..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a dinner. The staff was amazing.. Hervest and Blake were the BEST..

The food was finger licking good..

It came out quickly and was very good..

The muffins to start the meal were the best.. They call them crack muffins, because people try them one time and keep coming back for more..

We enjoyed the meal so much, we went back the next night!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjutzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stumbled on this Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were on our way to Denver Airport and wanted to grab a bite to eat first. Being from out of town, we were not familiar with area we exited 470 at Smoky HIll and came across a huge shopping area. Lots of restaurants and various stores for shopping.
We decided on Jim 'N Nicks BBQ and what a delight! Nice, casual atmosphere, and some of the best bar-b-que we have ever had!
While waiting for your dinner to arrive, they bring you a basket of warm cheese muffins. They were wonderful.
Our server Brittany was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommended several of her favorites. She provided us with fantastic service, prompt, was nice to have waitress stop by once in a while to see if you needed something.
I am not as big of a fan of bar-b-que s my daughter & husband, but have to say I was very pleased with my pulled pork sandwich and would definately go visit again next time we are in area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flagstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant is family friendly, and provides great service. The food is average for BBQ, but the atmosphere makes up for it. It will never top our "favorite" BBQ joint in Parker, however.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLynnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Made Fresh Daily”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

They make all there food daily so it it is fresh. But this also means that they can run out of an item. This has only happened to me once though, prime rib. All meats are smoked at the restaurant. They serve a 'to die for' margarita that is huge and only $5 everyday! They serve unlimited cheese corn muffins with honey butter that are addictive. This is a great place to go with friends, they never rush you to get out. Manager and Kitchen Manager are visible and personable, they really care about your dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DotComMomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing