We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love from a picky business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love from a picky business traveler”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I travel all over the world and stay at a lot of very fancy hotels as part of my business travel. I stayed at SpringHill initially because it was close to my meeting at U. Colorado Medical School. Came back because these guys are wonderful. The rooms are lovely but the best part is the service. The staff is great. The manager is wonderful. Everyone puts their heart in being the best. This is a great place to stay. Makes me happy when ever I com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello Victoria,

Thank you for taking a moment to pass on such nice comments. We are very proud of our hotel and our team and sincerely appreciate your business. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Brad Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    79
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
93
24
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

All SpringHIll Suites, the new brand from Marriott, appear to offer the same layout and design, from the lobby to the rooms. Seen one, seen 'em all. This one included.

The pros: everything you need; it's new and clean; smart, modern design. The cons: the layout of the room is a little weird. It is smaller than the traditional Marriott Suites; there is no door to the bedroom and there is only one television, somewhat awkwardly placed so as to be viewable either from the bed or the couch, but not terribly well from either.

The biggest con, from the perspective of a traveler not on a business expense account *I was attending a non-profit organization's board meeting), is that there is no free wireless internet in the room. (They do have it in the lobby area.) They provide an ethernet cable, but it is barely long enough to stretch from its fixed perch in the "office" area to the bed. You cannot get comfy cozy with your laptop in the bed, alas.

I did not have the breakfast, though in my experience any hotel that offers free buffet breakfast and charges less than $100 for the room is not going to offer top-of-the-line deliciousness. There is a Starbucks about a mile away on Colfax (at the intersection with N. Chambers -- go under the highway overpass and it will be on the left).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottieW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Good morning ScottieW32,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay. I do want to let you know that we do have free wireless internet throughout the hotel including the guest rooms. Our rooms are equipped with both wired and wireless connectivity. I'm guessing that perhaps the information card on the internet may have been missing from your room and therefore you were not made aware of our features. In any event, we certainly do hope to see you again in the future so you can take full advantage of all of our amenities including the free wireless internet. Thank you for your business and have great day!

Cordially,

Brad Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

First of all this hotel is right across from the hospital, which means, at the very least, you'd think that they would plan on having quite a lot of business from family staying with sick people, especially since it is not located in one of the more fashionable/touristy parts of town. Indeed, the only things around this hotel current is the hospital and a brand spanking new Panera. That being said, the design of the hotel rooms are absolutely mind boggingly idiotic.

Imagine you are sitting on the bed of the hotel. On the far left is a sliding door that leads to the shower/and sink vanity. To the RIGHT of that door is the closet. And to the right of the closet is another sliding door that leads to a smaller "closet" that contains the toilet and another small corner sink. So basically in order to get from the toilet to the shower you have to leave the "shower room" cross through the main room and then enter the "toilet room". Now imagine you are a woman or a sick person. First of all most women I know have specific supplies that are usually required on a monthly basis that are usually kept near the toilet. Which is not a problem until you are showering one morning and realize your supplies are across the room, and you must now cross through the room to get them.

Or you are a sick person, who is attempting to take a bath or steam yourself a bit to relieve your congestion or whatever, and then when you are sick you now need to dash, again through the hotel room to make it to the toilet.

In addition there are two sinks in the hotel room--one in the shower room on one side of the room, and one in the toilet room on the other...and no sink in the little cubby they have with the fridge microwave and other "food" prep areas. So basically, since most guests I spoke to were extended stay for hospital in order to do your dishes, you either have to carry them across the room to the shower room, or do them in the tiny toilet room.

This was a completely idiotic set up. All they had to do was place the toilet room where the closet was and you would eliminate the need for a sink in it and you could still separate it off from the shower room by means of a connecting door, but eliminating the waste of a sink that could have then been put to better use as a "kitchen" sink.

The designer of this hotel was completely incompetent and did not consider functional usage of space as a consideration.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello QueenMean,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. I'm so sorry you didn't feel as though our rooms are very practical or functional, particularly as it relates to the bathroom setup. We have had a great deal of positive feedback on our bathroom configuration since we opened, and it is unfortunate that it didn't suit your needs. Admittedly, it is very unique and your feedback will be valuable for us to pass on for future prototypes. In any event, I sincerely hope that you were able to take advantage of our great service and other amenities like the complimentary breakfast, the free high speed internet and our local shuttle service. Thanks again for your time and have a nice day.

Brad Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Friendly staff, great service, big rooms, free internet, nice decoration, great breakfast, what else you can ask for...

Room Tip: request room facing south or parking lot, north side or facing colfax not recommend for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank here-we-go-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello here-we-go-usa,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to comment on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay. We really are very proud of our hotel, our service and all of our amenities. I sincerely hope to see you again for future stays. Thank you very much and have a nice day!

Brad Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is brand new and is very nice overall with some "glaring" weaknesses. First, DO NOT book a room on the main road side...every semi that drives by will shake your room...hotel is 4 feet away from a very busy road. Second, breakfast was atrocious...fake scrambled eggs..very rubbery (Sysco liquified egg premix)...apples mealy...always out of bananas...had out of date yogurt that was warm...sausage luke warm and greasy...still frozen inside. Third, bartender refused to turn on sports at the main Bar TV (other TVs available though...not at bar), only turned on Dancing with the Stars or American Idol at night. Then would not turn on sound for sporting events (said it was illegal to do this...guess all other 10,000 Marriott properties don't know what they are doing...). Fourth, internet connection speed maxed out at 0.1 Megs...about the same spped as dial-up...could not maintain VPN or do any Skype or Web-Ex meetings...could not stream training videos either. This hotel is good for families visiting the hospitals...not good at all for anybody on business though.

Room Tip: Do NOT face the road...VERY noisy...hotel is 4 feet from a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Hello Sam R.,

Thank you very much for taking some time out of your busy schedule to offer some feedback regarding your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issues that contributed to the negative experience. I am happy to address these as we continue to strive for continuous improvement towards a more productive and pleasant experience for our guests. In the event you would decide to try us again, please don't hesitate to ask for a room on the parking lot side of the hotel. We are pleased to accommodate such requests. I am happy to report that we will be upgrading our internet circuit to 10 megs within the next few months. I know it can't happen fast enough but we certainly recognize the need to upgrade this technology. In terms of our complimentary breakfast, I am always looking for ways to improve. There is certainly no excuse to have outdated yogurt out there but our team is aware of the importance of keeping breakfast fresh and crisp. I would like to think we have made strides since your stay with us this past November, including the addition of hard boiled eggs. Lastly, I will speak with our bartenders about the channel selections. I would agree that consensus would dictate the TV viewing selections at the bar over anyone's personal preferences. In terms of the volume, allow me to clarify. There are some fairly strict copywrite laws that come with exorbitant licensing fees that have prevented us from having the volume on the public area TVs. Other public area TVs for example, in other Marriotts, have agreed to pay these fees in order to broadcast television shows with volume. A big part of the SpringHill Suites ambiance relies on the music being played in the public areas and we have decided to make the music the audible point versus five televisions broadcasting different things. In any event, our mission is to provide a clean, comfortable, and productive place to stay and do business. Our staff service is ranked in the top 11% of the brand and it is our pleasure to do whatever it takes to improve. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.


Cordially,
Brad Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

For the chain hotel class of accomidations I must say SpringHill in Aurora was fantastic. The property is new, kept very clean, and offers special rates for people staying due to the medical complexes (U of C complex, Children's and the VA). The staff was beyond helpful and friendly, some of the nicest I have encountered in a long time, and they certianly went above and beyond to help us. The van serivce is extremely nice if you are at the SpringHill longer term and don't want a car. They provide access to anything in a radius vis their shuttle. Would stay again and the breakfast was yet another plus.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side away from Colfax and for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Hello travelqueen49,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We take great pride in our new hotel and I am pleased to hear that you experienced great service during your stay. We certainly thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Each room in this hotel has a separate sitting area, work station and small kitchenette, complete with small refrigerator and microwave. It's brand new, and very clean. The staff is superb! Ask for a room on the "quiet side" away from Colfax, which has a lot of traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side away from Colfax Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Hello KangaTex,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to write your review. I am please you had a nice stay and experienced our superb service. I sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Brad Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aurora hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Gateway Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Woolley's Classic Suites - Denver Airport
2.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Denver Aurora/Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
2.9 mi away
Denver Airport Marriott at Gateway Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus

Property: SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus
Address: 13400 E Colfax Ave, Aurora, CO 80011-5512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aurora
#4 Business Hotel in Aurora
#6 Family Hotel in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much like its city of Aurora, where cutting-edge biomedical research facilities are surrounded by the beauty of the Rocky Mountains, SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus offers modern amenities in a stylish setting. Within 30 minutes of downtown and Denver International Airport, this new hotel is just across the street from the Anschutz Medical Campus and near hospitals including Children's Colorado Hospital, University of Colorado Hospital and the VA Hospital. Spacious suites speak to guests' needs, whether visiting loved ones or attending a conference, and feature separate living and sleeping areas, free Wi-Fi, a sofa bed, desk, 42-inch flat-screen HDTV and microwave. Mornings are easy with a complimentary breakfast offering everything from eggs with artisanal cheese to Greek yogurt with tasty toppings; in the evenings, unwind at the lobby bar. Stay active at the hotel’s fitness center and indoor pool. A meeting room, 24-hour business center and executive floor cater to business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Denver at Anschutz Medical Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Denver Aurora/Fitzsimons Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing