We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“returning to the Jerome after 5 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“returning to the Jerome after 5 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were in town for Aspen Gay Ski Week and booked last fall through jetsetter with a few friends. From now on I will book directly with the hotel, the jetsetter offer was a rip off and the room rate much lower than what we paid to jetsetter.

We had heard that the hotel had changed management (from Rock Rose to Auberge Resort) and that their former general manager was back so we were excited to come back.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Here is a list of some of the highlights

- friendly but professional staff
- room and hotel very clean
- food and drinks well priced
- $18 continental breakfast buffet with 2 eggs any style, coffee, juice
- centrally located
- courtesy car to take us to certain locations, always showed up and even texted me once while on location
- our room was a junior suite, very large, comfortable bed, very soft linen, molton brown products
- free wired and wireless wifi
- outdoor hot tub and heated pool
- ski concierge

We look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: We had room 444, a very large and quiet junior suite that could also connect with a private foyer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromNYtoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    66
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
106
258
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you ever wake up from a wonderful "White Christmas" Dream, I am sure you were indeed at the service of the staff of Hotel Jerome. From the moment they greet you from your airport service, to check in and the initial walk through amazing structure of the historic hotel, we were in awe. The amenities, location, room service were expressive. Given an opportunity, I'd be back in a heat should I crave for another Winter Funderland!

Room Tip: Check in early so you can an opportunity to view rooms that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Jerome Guest,

I was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in December and that we made it a memorable experience for you. It was my pleasure to share your review and comments with all our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Jerome in the near future. Should you crave another "Winter Funderland", please do not hesitate to call us! It would be my pleasure to have you as our guest once again.

Kind Regards,
Anthony DiLucia
General Manager at Hotel Jerome,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been to many hotels on vacation but i rank my experience at The Hotel Jerome as one of my favorites by far...From the moment i was picked up at The Aspen Airport to the very moment i was driven back 9 days later i am and will always be impressed by the friendliness, courtesy and professionalism of all i came into contact with at the hotel...My room was spacious, comfortable and the food was excellent...The famous "Jbar" at The Jerome was a great place to meet people who were in town during the holidays of Christmas/New Year....i look forward to returning perhaps this spring/summer 2012...I recommend this hotel VERY highly!!
Rudy DiLieto
Manhattan, NYC

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Mr. DiLieto,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Jerome on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Jerome over the Holidays. I very much appreciate your comments and it was a pleasure to share your review with all our staff.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back this Spring/ Summer, it would be our pleasure to have you back as our guest. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Anthony DiLucia
General Manager, Hotel Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here years ago on our honeymoon, during Thanksgiving, and had a wonderful time. This hotel really embodies the spirit of Colorado Casual. The staff consistently went above and beyond the call of duty. The food was exceptional and presentation was beautiful. Our room was very spacious, immaculate and well-appointed and had postcard-worthy views. Location is right in the heart of Aspen: no more than a 2-3 block walk to where you would want to be. Easy trip to the local airport, even in the snow. I cannot imagine staying anyplace else in Aspen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kam1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I don’t have any photographs but I do have this lasting image in my mind. It is of being carried over a threshold into a Victorian room, the golden threads of my wedding dress trailing behind me.

My husband and I were spending our wedding night at the historic Hotel Jerome. As a gift the General Manager, Tony DiLucia, left for us chocolate covered strawberries and a bucket of chilled champagne.

Thirteen years later, in the midst of packing and looking for a new home, we returned for our anniversary and for a weekend of total intimacy.

I checked in before him and was handed a nice sturdy key that felt good and solid in my hand. I welcomed the departure from the electronic key cards, just one of the many small pleasures of staying at a hotel where the past is preserved.

There are 94 guest rooms in the hotel and the rooms are the largest in Aspen, standard rooms are 525 sq feet. Our 1200 sq foot one bedroom suite was beyond roomy with light filtering into the living room and a breathtaking view of Aspen Mountain outside the many windows. The bathroom had an oversized bathtub, a separate walk-in shower and a double-basin marble vanity. Other amenities included private-label beds, down comforters, feather pillows, high-speed Internet access and VCR/DVD players.

Holding on to the hand carved balustrade I descended the stairs to meet up with Susie Stetson, yes that is her real name, for a tour of the AAA Four Diamond award-winning historic landmark hotel.

Jerome B. Wheeler, then co-owner of Macy’s department store, had the three-story brick hotel built in the heart of town in 1889 to rival The Ritz in Paris.

The hotel also housed the local post office and became the hub of Aspen as it was the first building west of the Mississippi with electricity and running water. It also boasted the first running elevator, so slow that it took 15 to 20 minutes to get to the second floor.

In 1985 investors Dick Butera and Jim McManus bought the hotel for $6 million and put $27 million into a restoration. Structural engineers rebuilt its bones while masons sandblasted the face to liven up the deep red brick and sandstone.

Today the hotel still stands as one of the great hotels of the American West. Upon first entering the lobby one is greeted by a friendly receptionist standing behind the original post office desk. The slots for letters still remain.

Walking around the lobby we admired the cozy East Lake Gothic Victorian style with original light fixtures, blue tiles made out of cobalt and gold and wallpaper hand screened to represent the original Victorian paper. An oak grandfather clock still stands holding the ashes of an Austrian Pastry Chef who loved the Jerome so much he wanted to be buried there.

After the tour, I waited for my husband at the hotel’s J-Bar. A local’s favorite it has a beautifully crafted masculine bar and a tin ceiling and one can easily imagine the likes of Hunter S Thompson, Glenn Frey, John Wayne, Gary Cooper and before that the Tenth Mountain Division soldiers and silver minors kicking back a neat glass of hard alcohol or an “Aspen Crud”, an ice cream drink laced with Bourban served during prohibition.

In the morning we went down to the Garden Terrace dining room and gobbled down a delicious breakfast of eggs and roasted potatoes with Classical music playing in the background.

The Hotel Jerome is still one of my favorites and I highly recommend it for “If you haven’t been to the Jerome you haven’t been to Aspen.”

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Aspen Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AspenRealLifeAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a great weekend in Aspen in October. The Hotel Jerome was a great place to stay, convenient to everything with really luxurious rooms and a nice, old-time feel. The pool and hot-tub on a brisk fall day were a nice addition, too. Breakfast was great, as was food at the J-Bar restaurant. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robandchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had a business meeting near Aspen, requiring an overnight there. Hotel Jerome was fantastic. It looks it's age from the outside - clean, simple, functional, period architecture. , but this veneer The old west theme continues through the common areas into their enormous rooms. Beneath the veneer of the decor I found every modern convenience from a gigantic flat HD TV to free wifi, openable windows and effective, adjustable climate controls. Free bottles of water in the mini bar. It's dry at 7900 ft elevation, so you'll need the water.

The bed, pillows very comfortable. All linens, bath towels excellent. Soaps and bath liquids, too.

Their J-bar restaurant is famed for its hamburger, so i ordered one, customized perfectly to my preference and delivered promptly by room service. Exactly as advertised, it was great., as was my granola and yogurt Breakfast downstairs. Coffee was light brown water. Oh well. I went out to a local side street coffee shop for the real thing. That was worth the effort, too.

Free personal pickup at the airport. Very congenial, cheerful staff at every point of contact.
At breakfast were two other sets of guests. The servers knew them by name and engaged in a social banter with each, catching up on family members, adventures, and health. Clearly the guests were regulars, and the staff has been there for years. They obviously pay attention to their guests, myself included. I haven't seen this kind of staff awareness and attentiveness since a visit to the Oriental in Bangkok in1981.

Room Tip: Suites in the rear "tower" - only 4 floors - are really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort

Property: Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Address: 330 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#2 Business Hotel in Aspen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#4 Green Hotel in Aspen
#4 Family Hotel in Aspen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort recently received the "Hot New Hotel" from Travel & Leisure for its renovation. The Hotel Jerome's 93 guest rooms and suites have been beautifully redesigned incorporating the charm of the destination with modern amenities for a luxury traveler. Aspen's best new restaurant "Prospect" offers regional cuisine, the iconic J-Bar is a local watering hole serving lunch and dinner daily with classic American cuisine. The new Living Room lobby has been energized with a bar and stylish seating areas to relax and socialize. A new Auberge Spa offers treatments for guests that will soothe and pamper after a day on the slopes or a mountain adventure. Services include twice-daily maid service, nightly turn-down. Convenient local airport and downtown transportation is provided via chauffer-driven luxury SUV. Nestled in the heart of Aspen, this landmark hotel is just a ten-minute drive from the Aspen Airport, a 75-minute drive from Eagle County Airport and less than four hours from Denver International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Aspen
Jerome Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing