We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer beware”
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Aspen
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I bought a 2-day stay through Travelocity for this Hotel back in March-April. At first it gave us a nice confirmation and a "warning" that they may be undergoing some upgrades in the hotel. Breakfast inclusive. All stated in the reservation.

When I went in this hotel's website last month it had a real nice rendering of their new common areas. Just to be on the safe side I called to check on our reservation. The gentleman on the phone only confirmed that we had a room, but to his knowledge they would not be offer any breakfast, and that in fact all common areas will be closing, from the lobby to the restaurant.

This forced me to cancel this reservation which TO MY SURPRISE generated a 10% PENALTY fee. When I questioned BOTH the hotel and Travelocity none responded. I protested this charge on both websites based on the fact that the hotel could not deliver what we had reserved, not because I wanted to.

So BUYER BEWARE of any reservations in this hotel. And while I do not doubt that when it is all finished and done it will be great, this may not be the hotel to take a family of 4 on a vacation for now. And I still expect to get my 10% back, one way or another.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Leshansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 195 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

You simply cannot beat the location. Right at the foot of Buttermilk - a fantastic all round mountain and great for the whole family. Considering the requirements of our trip the staff did a fantastic job. The shuttle service is great. Very family friendly, who doesn't want a spa and heated pool at the bottom of a chairlift?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbob1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We cancelled our reservation as soon as we walked in. Hard hat area near front desk. Construction equipment outside. Coffee on table in stairwell was a very weird setup. Everything looked below our standards. Not recommended! Not a typical Wyndham. An old Days Inn or similar.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have been staying at this former Holiday Inn now converted hotel condo for years. It has been the best deal around--ski in at Butttermilk ski area--breakfast included--a gym pool and hot tub. And just a stunning locatoin. The rooms have been updated in spurts over the years but the renovations are not plush--just clean and neater. The problem is the common areas which are run down. Wyndham resorts took over a year or so ago and we kept hearing that they were going to put money in and update--but nothing. The staff is all nice and they work hard to make things work but its clear everyone is just waiting for the improvements which have not happened. In the mean time maintenance is deferred and the place looks shabby and dirty in the common areas. Things that used to work before Wyndham took over like the internet desks in the lobby--now not working. The breakfast area (provided as part of room cost) has just seen better days. The hot tub is dirty. The bar used to be a nice place to hang out but the poor bartender is also the waiter and over worked. And the prices which used to be great are now typical Aspen--without the ambience. Also, because of the great price and location lots of young kids. We are rooting for this place to turn things around and as we drive from Denver area and know the circumstances we are fine with it. But if you are coming to Aspen area as destination give it some thought. We will be staying there again in a couple of weeks but we have a car and drive in to Aspen for all entertainment.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms. We have usually stayed on ground floor and have n...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July for my cousins wedding, they said it was their regular place when they come to ski. We had a very nice updated clean room with a very comfortable bed and and nice updated bathroom with a tub/shower combination and Aveda products. My aunt was around the corner and her room was almost exactly the same but she had a nice large shower only.We did have a mini fridge and think we were supposed to have a microwave but there wasn't one in the room. All the employees were extremely friendly and helpful! The front desk staff was great, they were very helpful when we decided to go check out some trails, offering maps with trail descriptions and just letting us know what they had heard or their own personal opinions of places they had been. The property is located just outside of town by only a couple minutes, but the shuttle service was readily available, and everyone that drove us was friendly, talkative and very informative to help us figure out what to do in and around Aspen. From the research I did this place is a great place for the money in Aspen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandalyn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

is a old hotel with some new room
depend the price you pay , the period of the year and the type of room , if old or new can be a good deal.
we stay in room 1166 and was modern/new
in front of the skilift only 100 meter.
medium breakfast , the chef change every day the special of the day
cheap restaurant compare to the zone, at a medium quality
is perfect for ski ski ski , need to have car or take a bus for go to aspen downtown
perfect fro storage ski in the corredor before the back exit
big parking, great receptionist

is the hotel you need for ski!

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This long-time hotel/time-share is renovating with some roughness around the edges. While most rooms are presumed to be attractive and clean as our room was - hallways and entrances are not. Tubs, countertops, piles of construction material and waste are prevalent. Particularly unappealing are the dirty staircases and carpets. There is no elevator to transport luggage for the south wing; best option is to go through the front/lobby if carrying many bags.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#11 of 36 in Aspen
504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
2.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 36 in Aspen
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
1.6 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 36 in Aspen
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Address: 38750 Highway 82, Aspen, CO 81611-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: $144 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Inn at Aspen Hotel is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), and the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, Home Team BBQ, serving breakfast, lunch, apres ski and dinner; free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing