We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would have liked to have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Aspen
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would have liked to have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was large and well-equipped; the hotel perhaps more geared towards their winter guests, understandably, with breakfast only available at weekends when we visited and a relatively limited on-site menu. The combination of a one night stay, adjusting after a lengthy flight and one of us with a bad cold meant that we didn't get to see more of Aspen or the hotel but what we saw we liked. The frequent references to the shuttle service in other reviews are justified - whilst we didn't use the service, the hotel seems to be justly proud of the service and unlike some goes out of its way to promote the facility.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    48
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
45
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed their with a hockey team there in September. I felt the staff there bent over backwards to accomodate our group, with everything from door to door shuttle service, to meal recommendations. The rooms were very spacious and we loved the location. Parents and kids alike enjoyed the pool and being able to climb up the half-pipe. The staff, amenities and scenery made this a must stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom_in_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed four nights in late September, 2012 and found this hotel to be everything we needed and more. The room was large, modern and well maintained. The shuttle service (available until 10PM, but sometimes later) made it easy to get around town without the inconveniences of our car. Every staff member was helpful and friendly in a genuine way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumbclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay was during the week during off season. We were in town to see the aspens in their fall colors. We hit right it at the peak. Bruce and Darren at the front desk recommended lots of good places to see the aspens. The hotel is located 2 or 3 miles outside of Aspen close to the airport at the base of Buttermilk Mountain. Buttermilk Mountain is where the Winter X Games are held. ESPN books the entire hotel during the event. The ski lift is right out the back door. Lots of free parking. The hotels in town are compact and their parking is limited. Almost all parking in town is pay to park. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from town. They will drop you off and pick you up any where in town. We stayed in a recently remodeled king room with a fridge and microwave facing the mountain. Bed was great. Prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was not available at the hotel. The hotel restaurant was only open in the evening Wednesday thru Saturday because it was off season. The menu was limited but the food was good. It has a full bar for those who look for that. The parking lot is not illuminated very well at night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came to Aspen for a couple of days to photograph fall color and we picked this hotel because of the great price and its proximity to the Maroon Bells and Castle Creek roads. It is located just outside of Aspen, near the airport, but very close to these 2 roads. We drove to various locations during the day, but parked the car and used their convenient, quick shuttle service in the evening to go out for dinner in Aspen. No worries about parking that way. I knew from the website photos that the hotel had kind of an 80s look to it, and from the low price, I didn't have high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised as our room appeared to be recently renovated with nice carpeting and a very comfortable bed with nice linens. The room was very spacious with a small couch and table and a desk. We liked that there was a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. We appreciated the free movie DVD. There was free internet and it was fast! That's a big plus with us! No password was required for the internet, so it was easier to use with our multiple devices. The bathroom had just a shower, no bathtub. It was rather average, but the rest of the room made up for it. As for the common areas, there was a nice sitting area and bar near the lobby. The bar wasn't open the first night we were there, but it was open the second night. One of the best things about the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. They really made us feel welcome and were happy to offer restaurant suggestions, and other tips about sights in the area. It was a very pleasant stay in a nice quiet location and we will stay there again. We have also recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver. colorado USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed 5 star and I have stayed budget so I have a good idea of what's what. First off I agree with everything in SanDiegoTahoe's review. But I am going to add to it...we too had a King room facing the pool and were delighted at the size of the room (big enough to have a sitting area) as well as how quiet it was considering it is near the airport and the highway. We did not have one of the newly renovated rooms but our room was not shabby or old/tired but clean and comfortable with a soft bed and nice linens. The bath is a bit small but who cares, it's really just to shower anyway.

The hotel itself is quite cozy and the lobby is updated. There was also fresh coffee and tea available as well as a nice fireplace with sofas etc. They offered complimentary movies as well which was nice after a day of fun. Breakfast is adequate...the make your own waffles was kind of fun. The juice is a bit flat and the coffee just ok but enough to get me rolling. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle for runs to/from Aspen. This is a fantastic service as we never drove our own car in 4 days, nor did we ever wait longer then 5 minutes for the shuttle so very convenient. It is also on the city bus route which we did take later in the evening after the shuttle stopped running at 10pm...easy.

Last up is the staff...we were well taken care of. Especially Mitch, Guest Services Manager, he's the man! Always helpful and always smiling. Even when we had a problem with our bill...no issue, he just took care of it.

We would absolutely stay there again and have recommended it to friends as a more affordable and friendly stay in the Aspen valley.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the pool so you are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ridergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for business trip. Received update room...not bad. Nice view of pool and Buttermilk. I've stayed here a few times now and each time staff was friendly, breakfast was fine and will stay again. You can easily walk to Buttermilk as they share the area. Buttermilk skiing is great...again, their staff has always been friendly. If you have an issue, its easy to find a manager who can correct it...they understand service.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidVonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#11 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
2.1 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#15 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Property: The Inn at Aspen
Address: 38750 Highway 82, Aspen, CO 81611-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Inn at Aspen Hotel is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), to any of Aspen's 3 other ski areas or the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, McKenney's at the Inn,serving breakfast, lunch, apres' ski and dinner; free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. The major lobby and restaurant renovation at The Inn at Aspen is complete, just in time for the 2014/15 ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing