We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gant, Your Best Bet in Aspen”
Review of The Gant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gant
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Gant, Your Best Bet in Aspen”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Well equipped, well appointed, well maintained condo units. They have complimentary van transportation to and from the airport as well as anywhere in town. Many other services and amenities. I have been going to Aspen for over 25 years and have stayed in many hotels and condos. The Gant, as far as I am concerned is the best.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    143
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
371
222
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Great condo hotel located just steps from downtown Aspen. Very spacious accomodations with full kitchen, fireplace, cable TV, etc. Upgraded for free. Although not ski-in/ski-out, definitely did not matter (very limited ski-in/ski-out at Aspen Mountain anyway). Hotel provides ski shuttle to all ski and town locations (door-to-door service) free of charge. A short (< 4 minute walk to heart of downtown) yet secluded up against the mountain. Hotel website is true to rooms, facility.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad4luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2008

These condos are a great place to stay in Aspen. The front desk staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and they have convenient public transportation.

  • Stayed January 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowgurl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Booked many months ahead on Expedia where they were discounting the prices. Still not cheap so we accepted a one bedroom/bathroom condo but put in a polite request for one with a scenic mountain view. Phoned to advise our imminent arrival out of Denver airport but they requested we phone again when we were actually at Aspen airport. Only about 15min wait and one of their shuttle buses turned up. Arrived at the complex to be pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a 2bed/2bathroom unit plus it was in area F so we did get a nice view of the surrounding mountains from our balcony too. Later on noted that for other units there could be more of an internal view- not unpleasant though.
Nicely furnished and equipped with log fire hearth that we used a couple of times. Everything worked and when we did report a couple of minor issues their workman was onto the case promptly. Apparently the units are individually furnished, did get a glimpse of a couple from open doorways and this would appear to be correct. Can only say ours was of a high standard, Plasma tvs in all rooms, huge beds comfortable pillows, heating and ventilation that worked.
Maid service provided each day, so nice to return like a hotel to find beds made and the dishwasher put on.
The complex has a Pool, hot tubs and exercise facilities on hand, we were happy skiing and enjoying the very hot water available in the baths of our unit, however noticed lots of people using these areas at the end of the day so must have been ok.
Only about 300 hundred metres walk to the Aspen mountain base area where across the road is the main ski bus terminal for getting to all the other mountains. Also just near this is the local supermarket and wine stores. In fact perfectly feasible to walk from the Gant to most shops and restaurants in the area. However if you are skiing; yes it does get tiring- the Gant provides a series of shuttle buses. Morning and late afternoon there are regular runs to and fro the skibus terminus so you can wear your ski boots and sit back. Clearly full use made of these by the guests. Outside these hours you can request one with driver to take you to any destination, or I believe phone them to collect you. Advertised as complimentary but clearly one should tip the drivers for this latter service. At the end of the stay they request you advise the night before of your flight departure time and they set up a timed departure for the shuttle bus to the airport- again we were happy to tip.
Overall with our upgrade this turned out to be excellent value for a quality product. We have always stayed in hotels on our previous skiing holidays but would certainly consider again renting a condo.
Would certainly stay here again and recommend these units to others.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and pillows
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed in a deluxe room at the Gant and the apartment was sumptuous. The granite topped kitchen had every gadget you could imagine in it and was fully equipt. The lounge area had a real log fire, shag pile thick carpet, balcony, and massive HD TV with DVD player. I am always critical of the beds, but here they were massive and extremely comfortable. Both bedrooms also had TVs and DVD players. The beds were massive and extremely comfortable, which is rare. The only minor thing was the bath itself was very small, but to make up for it, the shower had 3 types of shower heads and a steam room experience!
There was also a cupboard in the hall which was heated and dried off the ski boots and coats, which were lovely and warm for next morning.
The apartments are about 5-10 mins walk into town, but there is no need to hire a car as they will pick you up from the airport (10 mins away) and bring you to the hotel. They also take you to the ski buses or ski runs, and also drop off and pick up until 11pm at night so no taxis are required. Its a free service, but we did tip as the drivers were very good, and the longest wait we had was 10 minutes.
There were 2 outdoor pools and jacuzzi's which the kids used daily and which provide clean towels to use.
The hotel will book massages, restaurants, etc for you.

I advise booking restaurants before hand in Aspen as they get very busy from 6pm onwards.


Overall I would say this is one of the equipt apartment hotels we have ever stayed in ( and I am an ex air hostess)!

We travelled with British Midland to Chicago and United express to Aspen, both of which were excellent and had loads of leg room. Watch the Aspen flight at midday leaving for Chicago tho' as it is often cancelled due to bad weather in the Chicago area.

If I had to be massively critical, the Gant was the only place where the reception staff were not very friendly (altho' they were efficient), and the rooms were too hot (to the extent we couldnt walk on the kitchen floor due to the underfloor heating, and had to ask for it to be turned off!).

  • Liked — Sumptuous
  • Disliked — Small bath
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Stayed at this condo for 4 nights and loved it !!! Very friendly staff on check-in , good cleaning service every day, good and many buses from Gant itself to town and back, although it is only an 8 min walk to Aspen centre. Condo we had was very,very nice, next to swimming pool and hot tubs. If you go to aspen, go for The Gant !!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bertonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

The Gant is by far the best value in Aspen. The property is beautiful and the people are friendly and very helpful. We were given a free upgrade upon our arrival and the condo was beautiful. The staff were always available to help with bags or drive us into town (although it is within walking distance) and offered great suggestions when asked. If I am ever in Aspen again, I will definitely stay at the Gant, no question.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbauer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.7 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gant

Property: The Gant
Address: 610 S West End St, Aspen, CO 81611-2142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aspen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#6 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gant 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gant is Aspen's finest condominium resort. A resort within a resort, The Gant offers high quality, friendly hotel services at the highest level of any Aspen condominium property. Situated in a peaceful enclave at the base of Aspen Mountain with convenient access to downtown and the ski lifts. The Gant's privately owned condominiums are regularly refurbished and fully equipped, offering the comforts of home to today's travelers and meeting guests, with the services of a hotel.The Gant's conference center will undergo a $5-million renovation and expansion that includes a new specialty cafe, panoramic rooftop deck, flexible indoor and outdoor floor plans, and contemporary new furnishings, accessories. This project artfully blends function, style and sustainability to create a multi-use mountain venue suitable for varied gatherings ranging from special events, weddings and private celebrations to corporate meetings, business retreats and incentive trips. The 10-month project begins in August 2013. Throughout the winter season construction will be limited so as not to disrupt surrounding condominium guests. The project will be complete in May 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gant Hotel Aspen
The Gant Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing