We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
326
149
32
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
326
149
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squeezed orange juice fresh cookies hot tub blueberry pancakes hot dish steam room hot breakfast in town free underground parking game room laundry room maroon bells excellent breakfast swimming pool best deal every afternoon murphy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 524 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Lets be honest, this is an old hotel with an awesome location in Aspen. It’s right next to the best parts of Aspen and about 400 feet to Aspen Mountain. However, it is old and the rooms are dated. I was in a lower level room and it was very noisy, so maybe request something on the top floor. It’s affordable on the Aspen scale which is nice, but just be aware it’s old and noisy and the inconveniences associated with your stay.

Room tip: 107 was very noisy. Request a top floor room if you can.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Buckeye37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Wow, don’t judge a book by it’s older Alpine art cover! This place has been a treat. Ideal location, friendly staff, similarly happy guests and quite good facilities. Parking. Heated pool and hot tub. Kick ass breakfast. Did I mention nice guests from all over? They even had a place for my van

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank EarthSurferTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

Convenient location with the mall to base service gondola just steps away from the front door. True ski in/out. With fresh and no shovel, one could ski into the front lobby doors with the ski lockers 3 steps away. Great staff with only the visitors' wellbeing in mind. The positive attitude was throughout including management, cooking staff, maintenance, and housekeeping.
Very well run for an older building.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Park M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to stay at this special Aspen hotel. We won a trip to Aspen at an auction we attended in Cincinnati. We did not select the lodging, as it was preselected. It was a wonderfully delightful place. There is a lot of nostalgia at this hotel, which I found very cozy and charming. There is attention to customer service that people don't have the opportunity to enjoy like we enjoyed from the staff at The Mountain Chalet. We had a basket of goodies in our room upon arrival. The breakfast is vast with multiple selections, including a daily eggbspecial, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Fresh cookies and hot chocolate/tea/coffee are available each afternoon after returning from the lifts. We loved the big hot tub and observed other enjoying the many other amenities like the steam room and expertise room. Our room was very cozy with lots of pillows and an updated bathroom with a shower that had strong pressure and a bathroom floor that felt heated. We attended the Monday happy hour and had a wonderful time! The food and mulled wine were delicious! There was so much food that we didn't have room for dinner that night. We enjoyed speaking to a lovely young woman who we found out was the granddaughter of the gentleman who founded the hotel. She was delightful! Last but not least, after leaving Aspen, the hotel phoned to report we left a couple things behind. They were so hospitaple and assured us it would be shipped immediately. This is one of my favorite and most memorable hotel experiences I had the good fortune of enjoying! Thank you to the staff!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

First trip to Aspen; a bucket-list item for two 70+ year old hard-charging skiers. Your first impression of this hotel may be poor. It's old, probably needs updating, and is expensive. However, it grows on you. It's old school, Bavarian in nature, and the staff is very friendly and courteous. It's a walkable minutes from the bottom of Aspen Mountain; it's rooms are spacious and clean. It has a heated outside pool and an inside hot tub. The complimentary breakfast is very good; be aware that someone will come around to your table and take an order for hot food to complement the usual cold fare. We liked it so much that we decided it would be our go-to place to stay if we ever return on Bucket List Trip #2.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank HoweJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews