We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing in Spring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have come to Colorado from Spain to see family who live here and previously lived in Aspen!
So knowing the area we chose mountain lodge to stay overnight for a trip from Eagle!

It was a great experience ! Old world ambiance at its best!
The staff were great and the pool was exactly what was needed after a hard days skiing!
Breakfast , Afternoon cookies and and drinks were welcome too !

It was also interesting to read the history of the Chalet and its predecessors! We loved the paintings and the overall decor of the walls and exterior flower paintings .
N
I would think that Christmas would also be a great time to visit , the atmosphere would be phenomenal!

Room Tip: I would think they were all good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 512Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

512Jill,
Thanks for coming out of your way from Eagle (and Spain!) to visit us this spring. We're glad you came for all the great things the Mountain Chalet and Aspen has to offer. We appreciate your review and hope you can stay again in the future.
Best,
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Chalet Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This little chalet at the base of Aspen is a real gem. The room was clean and cozy with great (environmentally friendly) products and a few extra touches that few places have anymore; like apres-ski and breakfast.

The hotel looks like a simple modest structure from the road and in the reception area, but it has a heated pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room along with a full gym. The staff were friendly and went out of their way for us - and then there was breakfast. When the hotel lists "hearty skiers breakfast" they mean it. Every day they have a different hot breakfast along with the usual fare (bagels, yogourt, cereal) and fresh squeezed orange juice.

Parking was street-level, but they provided a pass and rooms came with an easy to access ski locker for gear. Note that in some cases, this is actually a shared ski locker with another room.

Looked like a great place for families as well.

Room Tip: Road side can be a little loud as it is an old hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabathaSoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear TabathaSoltay, We work hard to keep guests like you happy and are pleased to know it's working. Thanks for the honest assessment and for sharing a bit of praise for us. Come back again soon! Best, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Mountain Chalet is Absolutley the best place to stay. They have all kinds of rooms from modestly priced twin bedded rooms for those on a budget, to super fancy big rooms with mini kitchens and great mountain views. Even the big rooms, as well as the apartments are priced much lower than comparable units in Aspen. This is a family run hotel than places a huge emphasis on making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Family members are always present, at breakfast, the front office, and the weekly Gluvien parties. The bar in the hotel is the only place in Aspen where drinks are $5! And it has the best 360 views of the valley and mountains! The gym is one of the best in Aspen and is free for guests. You can walk a block and a half to the gondola, or across the street to the buses to the other areas. One of the best, unadvertised things about the Mountain Chalet is that as a repeat guest, you enjoy great discounts. And I have always been able to get half price lift tickets from the many season pass holders that stay there. Need I go on? Just stay there, unless you want to rub elbows with the uber rich that stay at the Little Nell or other overpriced hotels in Aspen!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank katherinem363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear kathrinem363, Thanks for all those exclamation points! We are happy to have this feedback about our hotel and glad that you have chosen to stay with us when you think about skiing. See you next time! Regards, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My son and I have been staying at the Mountain Chalet for our Aspen Ski trips for the past 5 years. I love the old school ambiance, the friendly people, the free breakfast, the heated secure parking and of course the location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear BradfordP331, Happy to know you and your son have enjoyed our brand of hospitality at the Mountain Chalet Aspen. To share your family with ours is what we are all about here! Hope to see you again next ski season, if not before. Regards, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ski season review. Visited many times (2013, 2012, 2011, 1990's ....) first review.
1. Helpful and pleasant staff.
2. Across the street from busses to Snowmass, Buttermilk, Highlands and downvalley.
3. A short straight walk to Aspen gondola.
4. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant does not get more stars since it is only open for breakfast.
5. Healthclub on premises. Excellent for doing stretching and light workout (treadmill, Precor, weights). You can (but I did not) schedule a massage.
5A. Pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room. Great for after skiing.
. Pool, hottub, sauna, steamroom, healthclub are all in the same area.
6. On the top floor there is an area used for a weekly "gluhwein" party and almost daily as an after ski bar. Nice views toward downtown and Aspen Mountain.
7. Lobby lounge with after ski cider, hot chocolate, GREAT cookies and comfortable seating. A pre-dinner gathering spot. Or just a good place to enjoy the fireplace and read a newspaper.

The Mountain Chalet website is accurate and honest. See the writeup for economy rooms (my choice) for truth-in-advertising.

Yes, I am going to make a reservation for the 2013 - 2014 ski season.

Room Tip: I choose the smaller economy room with two twin beds. As a solo traveler that is OK. A queen would...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinNYC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear binNYC-2013, Wow, what a great, comprehensive review of the winter experience at the Mountain Chalet! We are glad to know you took advantage of our many great amenities during your stay in Aspen. Thanks for this review and for your travel business over the years. We hope we can continue to please you and help make your vacations enjoyable. Best, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

You can't beat the location and amenities for this price! Family, couples and singles will all love. Great breakfast included. Walk to gondola and close to other mountains too. Service and housekeeping were great too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1giginjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks, 1giginjamaica! We appreciate your honest and enthusiastic review and your willingness to share it! We hope other travelers benefit and we hope you come back to stay again too. Cheers, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great place to stay. Perfect location . Good food to start off your day on the slopes. Two short block walk to gondola. Can't beat it. Parking for your car if you have one. Staff and housekeeping are excellent. Don't miss staying here when to come to Aspen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallyho114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Tallyho114, Thanks for the comprehensive and concise review! We're glad you enjoyed our location, breakfast, staff, and facility. It was a good month to be in Aspen. And we hope you choose us again! Regards, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 36 in Aspen
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 36 in Aspen
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $96 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing