We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annabelle Inn(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limelight Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gant(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$411
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $400/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn at Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$475
$380
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $516/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$329
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Durant(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$205
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The St. Regis Aspen Resort(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$398
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $557/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
307
135
27
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
135
27
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssqueezed orange juicehot tubblueberry pancakeshot dishfresh cookiessteam roomolder hotelin townhot breakfastunderground garagelaundry roommaroon bellsexcellent breakfastbest dealevery afternoonmurphy bedperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 482 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This little chalet at the base of Aspen is a real gem. The room was clean and cozy with great (environmentally friendly) products and a few extra touches that few places have anymore; like apres-ski and breakfast.

The hotel looks like a simple modest structure from the road and in the reception area, but it has a heated pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room along with a full gym. The staff were friendly and went out of their way for us - and then there was breakfast. When the hotel lists "hearty skiers breakfast" they mean it. Every day they have a different hot breakfast along with the usual fare (bagels, yogourt, cereal) and fresh squeezed orange juice.

Parking was street-level, but they provided a pass and rooms came with an easy to access ski locker for gear. Note that in some cases, this is actually a shared ski locker with another room.

Looked like a great place for families as well.

Room Tip: Road side can be a little loud as it is an old hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabathaSoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear TabathaSoltay, We work hard to keep guests like you happy and are pleased to know it's working. Thanks for the honest assessment and for sharing a bit of praise for us. Come back again soon! Best, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Mountain Chalet is Absolutley the best place to stay. They have all kinds of rooms from modestly priced twin bedded rooms for those on a budget, to super fancy big rooms with mini kitchens and great mountain views. Even the big rooms, as well as the apartments are priced much lower than comparable units in Aspen. This is a family run hotel than places a huge emphasis on making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Family members are always present, at breakfast, the front office, and the weekly Gluvien parties. The bar in the hotel is the only place in Aspen where drinks are $5! And it has the best 360 views of the valley and mountains! The gym is one of the best in Aspen and is free for guests. You can walk a block and a half to the gondola, or across the street to the buses to the other areas. One of the best, unadvertised things about the Mountain Chalet is that as a repeat guest, you enjoy great discounts. And I have always been able to get half price lift tickets from the many season pass holders that stay there. Need I go on? Just stay there, unless you want to rub elbows with the uber rich that stay at the Little Nell or other overpriced hotels in Aspen!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank katherinem363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear kathrinem363, Thanks for all those exclamation points! We are happy to have this feedback about our hotel and glad that you have chosen to stay with us when you think about skiing. See you next time! Regards, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My son and I have been staying at the Mountain Chalet for our Aspen Ski trips for the past 5 years. I love the old school ambiance, the friendly people, the free breakfast, the heated secure parking and of course the location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear BradfordP331, Happy to know you and your son have enjoyed our brand of hospitality at the Mountain Chalet Aspen. To share your family with ours is what we are all about here! Hope to see you again next ski season, if not before. Regards, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ski season review. Visited many times (2013, 2012, 2011, 1990's ....) first review.
1. Helpful and pleasant staff.
2. Across the street from busses to Snowmass, Buttermilk, Highlands and downvalley.
3. A short straight walk to Aspen gondola.
4. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant does not get more stars since it is only open for breakfast.
5. Healthclub on premises. Excellent for doing stretching and light workout (treadmill, Precor, weights). You can (but I did not) schedule a massage.
5A. Pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room. Great for after skiing.
. Pool, hottub, sauna, steamroom, healthclub are all in the same area.
6. On the top floor there is an area used for a weekly "gluhwein" party and almost daily as an after ski bar. Nice views toward downtown and Aspen Mountain.
7. Lobby lounge with after ski cider, hot chocolate, GREAT cookies and comfortable seating. A pre-dinner gathering spot. Or just a good place to enjoy the fireplace and read a newspaper.

The Mountain Chalet website is accurate and honest. See the writeup for economy rooms (my choice) for truth-in-advertising.

Yes, I am going to make a reservation for the 2013 - 2014 ski season.

Room Tip: I choose the smaller economy room with two twin beds. As a solo traveler that is OK. A queen would be better to sleep in but I need space for ski stuff. The ecomomy rooms are in the older section of the hotel. The writeup on the Mountain Chalet website is accurate and honest. Very honest. "For this price, in this neighborhood, these rooms are an excellent bargain during any season." I fully agree.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinNYC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear binNYC-2013, Wow, what a great, comprehensive review of the winter experience at the Mountain Chalet! We are glad to know you took advantage of our many great amenities during your stay in Aspen. Thanks for this review and for your travel business over the years. We hope we can continue to please you and help make your vacations enjoyable. Best, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

You can't beat the location and amenities for this price! Family, couples and singles will all love. Great breakfast included. Walk to gondola and close to other mountains too. Service and housekeeping were great too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1giginjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks, 1giginjamaica! We appreciate your honest and enthusiastic review and your willingness to share it! We hope other travelers benefit and we hope you come back to stay again too. Cheers, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews