We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Nice Perks”
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Molly Gibson Lodge
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Value and Nice Perks”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed in the Molly Gibson over the New Year break 2010/2011 and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is fairly central to the bars and restaurants of Aspen. Our room had a nice big bed, a lovely fireplace and clean but slightly dated bathroom.

The Jacuzzi was lovely and warm with a great view of the mountain but the pool seemed too cold for this time of the year.

A great perk was the complimentary breakfast and après ski afternoon lunch with wine.

Our only complaint was the noise from guest coming home late and the traffic from Main.St.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    178
    62
    31
    18
See reviews for
96
243
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Upon arriving, we were pleasantly greeted by Mike and subsequently given a free upgrade to a suite with both a fire place and a jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well as the Apres Ski perks!

Also, the 3 hot tubs and heated pool were all immaculately clean and well maintained.

Everyone was very friendly and we will most definitely stay here again ... soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JotaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I booked our room online well ahead of time on the Hotel Aspen website. I booked a room with a private outdoor jacuzzi on the patio. When we arrived at Hotel Aspen we were told that they had accidentally overbooked. They told us we would be staying at their sister hotel, the Molly Gibson across the street, and to make up for the inconvenience we were given a bottle of wine and a bigger room which they said would be an upgrade. I looked at the prices and the room was not an upgrade. We did not have an outdoor jacuzzi, and the bottle of wine was one of those cheap $4 bottles. What a smack in the face! The room had a fireplace that when lit filled the room with smoke. The damper did not properly let the smoke out, so we could not use the fireplace. We did not want a fireplace. We booked a room wth a private outdoor jacuzzi, and that is what we expected. When someone books a room and receives confirmation the expectation is to stay in that room during their vacation. They handled the situation poorly, and it set the tone for a rather disappointing trip that we had been looking forward to for a long time. The front desk at the Molly Gibson told us when we left we would be further compensated, and we have not heard from anyone at the hotel. I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2_vagab0nds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear 2 Vagabonds,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us regarding the less than perfect experience you had with us at our hotel. Let me begin for apologizing wholeheartedly for the mistake on your reservation and our well intended but less than satisfying resolution.

I will not make excuses as to why we overbooked, we made a mistake and you should not have been inconvenienced as a result. I believe our staff made what they felt was a reasonable gesture to make your stay comfortable by moving you to a Deluxe room with private jetted tub and fireplace (the Jacuzzi room at Hotel Aspen would not have had a fireplace) and a bottle of wine, but our efforts fell short. During cold weather a wood burning fireplace will occaisionally down draft as the cold air comes down the chimney, but usually the situation is quickly resolved once a fire is going. Our maintenance staff is more than happy to assist in these situations. We do not have a restaurant and bar on property, so our staff chose a bottle of wine that we use at our Apres" ski reception, not fancy but good wine and it certainly was not meant as an insult to you of any kind.

I wish I would have had the chance to work with you personally on your challenges during your stay instead of replying to you here, but I would appreciate the oppportnity to have you stay with us as my guest at the Hotel Aspen at your convenience in the future. I believe you will find our hotel to be upscale, comfortable, friendly and an excellent experience. I'm confident that your feedback after actually experiencing the hotel will be extemely positive.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay C.H.A
General Manager
Hotel Aspen - Molly Gibson Lodge
jeff.bay@hotelaspen.com
970-925-3441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellvue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We only stayed one night, staff was very pleasant. Our room was clean. Lots of ammenities like several hot tubs, heated pool, apres ski with wine, continental breakfast. The tub in our room was ok, next time I will choose a fireplace poolside. I could barley hear the people next door talking. Our room didn't have any real view, and the location of the Molly doesn't seem to lend itself to any views. We really liked the location because of its proximity to the restaruants and shopping downtown, just a couple blocks, pleasant walk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekbstrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Just leaving Hotel today, staff couldn't be friendlier, rooms are very clean. We combined forces and got an apartment which has been lovely.
The outdoor hot tubs are a great luxury touch , but the heated pool is not warm enough to swim in at night, in December, when it's sub zero and snowing. Probably obvious, but the steam looked enticing. Beware !

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Highlights: Personnel: The receptionist was extremelly friendy and gave us great advice about snowboarding in the area. She also gave us a city map and mountain trail map and showed us in the map several area atractions.
Food: Absolutelly great breakfast, included in our stay. We spend over half an hour everyday trying everything. Apres-sky: The hotel offered a nice local beer, wine.soup, cheese and others eveyday from 4:00pm to 6:30pm also included in the stay.
Could be better: Our room and bathroom were small (we booked the cheapest with 1 queen bed). It was still confy and very clean but next time I come back here I would pay more for a better room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Just got back from a terrific stay in Aspen. We went up for a quick weekend getaway. Given the great price that we got on our room (King Room with fireplace), I wasn't expecting too much. We were pleasantly surpised though! The room was terrific, very large with a big bathroom. The bed was amazing! The lodge is in a perfect location allowing us to walk nearly everywhere we went. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 36 in Aspen
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Property: Molly Gibson Lodge
Address: 101 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1709
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing