We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Molly Gibson Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Chalet Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limelight Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gant(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$430
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $400/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn at Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Meadows Resort(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$594
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $403/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The St. Regis Aspen Resort(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$398
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $546/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Durant(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$230
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
264
193
67
34
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
193
67
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapres skihot tubfree breakfastking roomwood burning fireplacemain streetnice sizebreakfast roomin townparking passfree buseasy walknice poolbagelsaspen mountainbus stopgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 581 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son and I spent a great week at the Molly Gibson Lodge in mid-March. We were very happy - loved the jacuzzis and happy hour, beds were comfy, place is well situated right next to bus pick-up. A great value for the price. We were on the ground floor, facing the mountain, and my only complaint is that it was sometimes noisy at night when people returned from being out (we slept with the window open because it was a very warm week). It's not a luxury hotel (where I would stay had my husband come along), but overall we were very happy -- this place is a total bargain for Aspen.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably best, since you won't hear anyone above you stomping around. But, you'll have to climb those steps with tired ski legs!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djangomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear djangomom,

Than you so much for taking the time to leave us your positive feedback and we are so pleased you had such a great time! We are sorry if your sleep was compromised by heavy boots but often our guests are just exhausted from the great skiing in Aspen and just can't help but to stumble back to their room!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a very pleasant 5 days in Aspen at the Molly Gibson lodge in mid-March. Included in the room price are (1) airport transport, (2) WiFi, (3) a bountiful breakfast, (4) an equally extravagant Happy Hour every day, (5) a very pleasant, quiet lounge with fireplace, couches, TV (if you want) and menus for all the Aspen restaurants, (6) a heated swimming pool and jacuzzis, and (7) helpful and friendly staff. Those benefits outweighed the slightly tired rooms. We would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Consider staying away from the rooms fronting on the pool and jacuzzis - they're open until 22:00 daily.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hello JohnofOz,

Cheers and thank you so much for taking the opportunity to sing our praises! We are so pleased you had such a nice time and enjoyed all of our amenities and services. I hope you had time to go out and have as great as time skiiing as you did staying with us :-0

All kidding aside - thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Molly soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall, this is a solid Aspen choice and is a relatively good value in a very spendy town. We initially had booked a Molly King with a fireplace, and were given a pretty good room on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room had so much traffic noise from Hwy 82 (Main Street), however, that we couldn't sleep and asked to move after the first night. They allowed us to upgrade (for a fee) to a deluxe room that actually was directly facing Hwy 82, but had much better insulation and so noise was not a problem. This was a very good room with both a double-sided fireplace and large hot tub.

Location is very good. Just a couple blocks away from downtown, and the shuttle buses to the mountains stop right outside.

You don't often come across actual wood-burning fireplaces in hotel rooms these days and so that was a real treat. Housekeeping restocks the wood and provides matches and fire-starter. We used the fire every night and loved it (though came home with fireplace smoke in our clothes).

The hotel design is kind of early-1960s lodge. There are original brown tiles in the bathrooms that have a great mid-century feel. If you don't like that style, I can see how you'd perhaps find it dingy or dark, but we liked the mod and groovy feel. We found both rooms we were in to be very clean. The plumbing and fixtures could stand to be updated, however.

The breakfast spread mostly has typical items you'd see elsewhere, but the quality and freshness are good. There's a cool little pancake machine that makes fresh pancakes (why does every Hampton Inn not have one of these things?). The apres ski spread also is generous.

Room Tip: I couldn't get a straight answer from the front desk about which rooms have better noise insulation, so it seems you have to just stress you want a quiet room in your reservation and hope for the best. Room 204 was the king that we found to be noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear denver_mg,

I so appreciate the time you took to write such a thorough and positive review! I'm so glad you found our hotel and Aspen to your liking and had such a wonderful time. It's nice to see you appreciated the authenticity of our hotel but also recognized the great location, terrific amenities, great service and tasty pancakes!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Bay, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were not really expecting much at this hotel when we first booked it. As it turned out, the bed (bedding and pillows) were very nice. There was a fireplace in our room and, although we did not use it as the weather was very nice during our stay, we would have if it was colder. The room was very clean. The bathroom was a little dated and needed some tender loving care but, all in all, we had a very nice stay here. Oh, the free breakfast and the "apres ski" social offered many options to eat and the really helped bring the total value of the room to a great level. This was a wonderful surprise! The pool was heated and there are a couple of hot tubs on the grounds. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the king room with fireplace. There are some rooms that are downstairs and along the hallway to the eating area ... stay away from these. They are the "300's" rooms. Our room was around the pool in the main building and we like it a lot. You can hear the guests walking around you above you so if this bothers you, you should ask for a second floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Bonnie G,

Thank you so much for the kind review and I'm so glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable and unexpectedly nicer than you anticipated (although it was no surprise to us :-)

Hope that you can make it back this summer to enjoy Aspen again - we appreciate your business!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the website do not portray a true sense of what you actually get. The exterior is a bit out dated and the pool area not as luxurious as the photos. We got a Molly King room. Our vision was a "resort" style or "high" end room. We were very let down. It's a dingy room with dingy carpet & a mediocre fireplace. We could hear traffic all night long. If I was staying here purely to ski, the Molly Gibson Lodge is a very short walk to the slopes. That is truly the only upside.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooroo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Roroo 2010,

First of all, my apologies if any portion of your stay was not up to your satisfaction. I take guest experience and feedback very seriously, I respond to every single comment and concern and would have most certainly worked with you to provide you a positive experience had I been allowed the chance. I hope that you will offer me an opportunity to do whatever I can to turn your impression of us around. This is demonstrated by the overwhelming majority of our TripAdvisor reviews all being extremely positive

We offer many types of rooms in different configurations located in various parts of the hotel, and would have gladly shown you several alternatives. We pride ourselves on being a true, authentic Aspen ski lodge and all of our rooms feature decor and ambiance that are respectful to that history. However - every single room has been completely renovated with new carpet, wall coverings, paint, furniture, pillow top mattresses, 300 thread count sheets, down duvets, HD Flat Screen TV,s IPod docking stations and much more. We offer complimentary full hot breakfast, apres' ski reception, free local and LD calls, free parking, free wi-fi, free transportation, pool, hot tub - all at a price that is generally half of the "high end" hotels you refer too.

I am available at anytime to discuss your situation and can be reached at jeff.bay@mollygibson.com or by phone at 970-925-3434

Best regards -

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews