We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Molly Gibson Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Square Condominium Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Aspen(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limelight Hotel(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyrolean Lodge(Aspen)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Gant(Aspen)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
262
192
67
34
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
192
67
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapres skihot tubfree breakfastking roomwood burning fireplacemain streetnice sizebreakfast roomin townparking passfree buseasy walknice poolbagelsaspen mountainbus stopgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 577 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Molly Gibson Lodge and would definitely stay there again. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. It is in a great location as well – the free buses to each of the ski hills are all within a block of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet fuelled us up for a full day of skiing. Good variety – oatmeal, cereal, fruit, pastries, yogurt, toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, juice, tea/coffee. We were also pleasantly surprised by the free après ski spread – wine, beer, soft drinks, soup, cheese, crackers, grapes, nachos chips, and a hot dish (e.g. meatballs or pizza).
The pool and hot tub helped loosen up those tight muscles and it was great to have the soft robes to bundle up into.
Tips:
- if you are going to ski at Aspen Mountain, catch the bus on Main Street in front of Paepcke Park, not on Garmisch, to get dropped off closer to the gondola
- hot chocolate at the Little Nell hotel is heavenly
- on your last day of skiing, drop off your lift pass at one of the drop boxes in the ticket office at the mountain and you will get a $5 refund on the credit card you used to purchase it with

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoVacationLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear TorontoVacationLover,

We are so please that you had an amazing time in Aspen and that your stay with us was a highlight. It's great to see that our efforts are well received. We look forward to your next trip to Aspen and another stay with us at Molly Gibson Lodge!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Very comfortable beds. Robes in the rooms. Big Après ski snacks and adult beverages.

Hotel is older, but everything worked. Wifi worked. Good coffee pot in the room. Not the crappy pod type Small refridgerator too.
Very close to all complimentary ski shuttles. Very glad we did not bother with a car. Fast shuttle from airport to the rooom. Walking distance to everything.

Super appreciated not being nickel and dimed for "resort fees", wifi , breakfast. Even parking would have been free.

Staff was very nice and helpful. Other guests seemed to be happy there too.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboyswifeEXETER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear flyboyswifeEXETER,

We are so glad you stayed with us as well! We truly agree with you that our included "extras' really make a stay with us a tremendous value. We hope you consider us again for your next stay with us.

Thanks again,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Molly Gibson is like a trip to the great "up north" in Minnesota....except you are in the outskirts of Aspen. You can enjoy a homeade cookie at Apre ski with wine, local brew and tasty snacks like quesadilla, soup and cocoa. It is interesting to go down a level to underground for the fireplace Apre and free breakfast, but once there-you can mingle with other guests, chat about your ski options and where to dine in town.

Rooms are a bit dated, but offer great artwork of Aspen as a mining town and comfy beds along with a clean shower. If you came to ski, this is a great option because you don't want to spend alot of time in the room anyways, right?!

It is a bit of a hike to carry your gear up stairs, there is not an elevator. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to help though. I would say this is a great option for travelers interested in saving a few dollars to enjoy being near the town of Aspen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Shannon G.,

Thankjs so much for your nice comments and for taking the time to positivley review our hotel. I did want to respond to one of your comments about the rooms being dated. I did want to let you know that the hotel underwent a complete renovation within the last 2 years that included beds, mattresses, furniture, floors and carpet, HD Flat Screen TV's, Ipod docking stations, 300 thread count Egyptian sheets and down duvets. We purposely kept some of the traditional Lodge feel that is a part of the Molly Gibson experience, but I assure you that all of our room comforts are upscale and on par with those found in much more expensive properties.We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our 4th trip to the X Games, 1st stay at the Molly Gibson. Exceptional, friendly, helpful staff. Our room was clean as a pin, but did have a slight odor from the fireplace (normal). We did not use the in room whirlpool tub as the was a very nice hot tub steps from our room. Our room was on the street side so there was some daytime traffic noise, but none during sleeping hours. Loved the AM breakfast and the afternoon happy hour was exceptional and a nice place to meet other travelers.
This hotel is not "Aspen" luxury but neither is the price. If you want to be waited on and pampered this is not your place. If you are looking for comfortable clean place in Aspen I would highly recommend this hotel. Very short walk to downtown restaurants and shopping. Nice book of menus in the cozy lobby, great airport transport and used the free shuttle to the games and back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starshine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear starshine 18,


Thank you so much for the positive review and we are so pleased you had a great stay. Will we see you again for next years X Games too?

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Staff was over the top nice, the room was exceptional - comfy king sized bed, sunken living room, private deck, In-Room hot tub. The free appetizer and breakfast were a well-needed bonus since we were in a rush both when we arrived in the late afternoon and when we departed the next day. Only a few blocks walk to everything. The reason this place got the fifth star was that they allowed us a one night rental over president's day weekend when almost everyone else required at least two nights. Yes, it is pricey at 350-ish a night, but heck, this is Aspen!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private deck or in-room hot-tub, unless you want to use the heated pool (in which case, save the extra coin you will spend on those two very nice amenities).
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsmfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear wsmfp,

I'm sorry you only got to spend one night with us, hopefully you can make it back soon for a longer trip and enjoy all of our great amenites another time. Safe travels and looking forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews