We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
414
57
13
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
414
57
13
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski concierge ajax tavern town view mini bar mountain side aspen mountain room service world class rooms are spacious luxury hotel concierge staff favorite hotel perfect hotel maroon bells beautiful room car service apres ski
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 502 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night here and we both agreed, that there is no way you would consider this that unique of a hotel. Staff was super accommodating, and location in winter, for skiing is hard to beat, but actual hotel is tiny and culturally/architecturally uninteresting. (Eg. Stein Erikksen lobby/common areas versus Liitle Nell? Not even close.). We didn't eat at hotel, only had drink at Ajax, the tavern, which was fine, but again, just not very original. Rooms were very nice and well appointed as you would expect for price. Overall, bit of yawn. Best thing about Relais properties is you can find some very special, one of a kind properties, this property just underwhelms.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_GM1, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear HClowd,
Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad our team members were very accommodating; however, I’m sorry you found the property uninteresting. Our design is understated by choice, and meant to be approachable, yet elegant. While we do work with the world’s finest designers and artists, our biggest focus is always on our staff and the service they provide to guests. To that end, we are planning a remodel of our guest rooms next spring to freshen up the look and feel. Please feel free to reach out to me at 970.920.4600 if you’d like to discuss your concerns in detail.

Regards,
Simon Chen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We held a three day board retreat and The Little Nell and the staff exemplified a 5 star hotel. The hotel provided an intimate experience all guests enjoyed. Aspen is a great town to experience and a stay at The Little Nell enhanced it. I would highly recommend any event with The Little Nell as their team is highly experienced and knowledgeable about Aspen and hosting group events. The event team was responsive to needs and requests and all around top notch to work with.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Custer_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_GM1, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Custer_Denver,
Thank you for hosting your retreat at The Little Nell! I’m so happy you found our events team to be highly experienced and knowledgeable, and that your event was flawless. I hope to welcome your group back to Aspen next year.

Best,
Simon Chen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

The service at Little Nell is remarkable. Every wish and need is anticipated by the handsome staff. The property stands out in Aspen and the USA. I wouldn't hesitate to stay if you can afford it. We were treated like royalty.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 707holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_GM1, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Dear 707holly,
Thank you for your superb review! It’s so nice to hear that you think our service is remarkable and rate The Little Nell so highly within the US. I’ll let you in on a well-kept secret we have for our Colorado neighbors. The Little Nell’s best value by far is the Colorado residents’ rate in the spring and fall. I’d love to welcome you back this fall to enjoy Aspen’s stunning foliage!

Best,
Simon Chen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

my husband and i are world travelers and there is nothing, nowhere that can compete with the overall atmosphere of the little Nell. the concierge have become our friends, as well as the valet. no one has ever said no to us in all the years we've been coming. and its been more than 20 years. and i look forward in returning

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevlitsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_GM1, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Dear bevlitsky1,
Thank you so much for your very kind review! It epitomizes our goal at The Little Nell, which is to build relationships with each and every one our guests, including you, and continue to amaze them stay after stay. I can’t wait to welcome you and your husband back to Aspen!

Warm regards,
Simon Chen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We've recently returned from another stay at The Little Nell, and the standards seem better than ever.

What is truly remarkable is the pleasant and helpful attitude of ALL of the staff, no matter where/when we encountered them. (If this is a "show" for the Guests, then they all deserve acting awards!)

Whether it was room service, a drink at the pool, or a request for a ride, *everyone* was always smiling, and they made it seem like they would rather be doing "this" than anything else. (Yeah, we understand that's not really true, obviously! ;-)

Especially helpful was the *immediate* assistance with rides around town, including pickups elsewhere.
Given the altitude, getting this assistance was critical for one of us.
(As a comparison, at another top hotel we stayed at until we switched to The Little Nell a few years ago, when we asked for a ride - which was supposedly part of the regular hotel service, a common thing in Aspen - we were *often* told that a "regular shuttle will be coming around soon..." "Soon" could be "not so soon"... But it was especially the *attitude* that was so different.)

Although we usually prefer 'classic/traditional" styling to the modern, the modern decor at The Little Nell was nevertheless tasteful and comfortable.
(That last part, comfortable, is important. To often these days, "modern" seems to be "ultra trendy", with trendy looks apparently more important than comfort. That's not at all a problem here, thank goodness.)

We keep extending our annual stay here... and it's still difficult to leave.
(Fortunately, this most recent time, we were heading home for a brief stay before heading off on an Alaskan cruise, so that took the sting out of leaving... a bit.)

Room tip: It's worth it to request a mountain view. It's beautiful and peaceful.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2PhDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_GM1, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Dear 2PhDs,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are never satisfied with our service, and constantly train and retrain our staff in order to provide guests with the perfect experience. We’re in the early planning stages of our rooms remodel next spring, and I have definitely taken your feedback into consideration to ensure the rooms remain comfortable. I’m thrilled that you continue to return to The Little Nell every year and I can’t wait to welcome you back next year!

Sincerely
Simon Chen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews