We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasons are clear why this hotel has 5 star/5 diamond rating”
Review of The Little Nell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Little Nell
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Reasons are clear why this hotel has 5 star/5 diamond rating”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

First, you are treated like royalty upon arrival with the bellmen whisking away your luggage and your car. The check-in is efficient and the bellman explains all of the wonderful offerings of the hotel on the way to your room. The rooms have recently been remodeled. The beds super comfy, the gas fireplace romantic, the mini bar well stocked with premium selections. The bathtub is extra deep and the lighting options in the bathroom a nice touch. Only got to stay one night so didn't get to experience the spa and bar .... but I'll be back. Litle Nell hotel has THE bes location in Aspen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    49
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
192
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, TEXAS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

First Time In Aspel???? 3 Days in Aspen? Begin by staying at this beautiful property! We went in September at the height of the Aspen tree color! We had a room facing the gondola and the view was spectacular, service incredible, room was to die for!

We arrived mid afternoon and lunched at BB's Kitchen....an outdoor eating area with wonderful weather was a nice way to begin our trip! We strolled around the town.....lovely shops, art galleries, etc. to take in.....Dinner was at Steakhouse 316....small but oh so good.

Day 1
Begin your day with a Segway Tour - we had never done one before and it was loads of fun....friendly guide.....located across the street from The LIttle Nell....the tour was about an hour and a half....worth every penny and a great way to see the area!! Lunch was at Mezzaluna....wonderful food. The Little Nell set us up with a guided car tour of the area in the afternoon.....we toured the outlying neighborhoods, went up in the mountain area, seeing the homes of celebrities, and marveling at the beautiful scenery! A pedicure, wine in the bar at the Little Nell and NOBU for dinner rounded out our day.

Day 2
Rent a car at Little Nell, we had one of the brand new Audis....we headed to the Maroon Bells for a hike....I cannot describe the beauty and majesty of this location.....this is a MUST DO! Wear good walking shoes!!! Not a hike for the unsteady or unfit......We came back and had lunch at AJAX - a restaurant at the bottom of the LIttle Nell lift. Known for their $17 truffle fries!!!!! Toured the town by foot and finished up the day at The LIttle Nell 5 star restaurant, Montagne.....EXCELLENT!

Day 3
Rent a bike and ride the Rio Grande trail to Woody's Tavern for lunch....this was the most fun thing to do....we saw incredible scenery, deer on the trail....mostly a flat or downhill trek, but a few uphill portions....great exercise....you could even take a picnic and find a nice spot along the trail to eat lunch. Had the car from the Little Nell pick us up from Woody's Tavern and bring us back....the return ride is UPHILL! We were still hungry and had a fish taco downtown Aspen at JUNK.....great funky place, good people watching location. After all of that, times called for a hot tub soak at LIttle Nell....hot tub is next to the pool, it was warm enough to soak up the sun and enjoy a cocktail (again). Dinner was at CASHE CASHE - a restaurant that stands out above the rest for atmosphere, location and food.

GOING HOME
Before we left town, we spent an hour or so riding the gondola to the top of the mountain....what a way to end the trip....seeing the Aspens in bloom....looked like a postcard! We will DEFINITELY be back!!

Don't MIss
- Belly UP Bar - great bands there for awesome music!

Room Tip: A room with a View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandiLongview_TEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed two wkends ago and had the best time and the best treatment. We booked through AMEX Platinum and enjoyed a double upgrade. Reception desk service was prompt. All concierges were fantastic. The instructions for the drive back to Denver Airport via our favorite truffle burger joint were spot on and extremely helpful. The gym was just the right size, clean, bright with lots of water and little snacks.
The only down side at breakfast was the speed of delivery. It was soooo slow. Was there only one cook? A side of sausage came after we finished our meal. We were at the hotel at a slow period so Montagna wasn't packed. At check out I mentioned this and they too said they'd heard about it. Nothing else said or done. Otherwise, the service was perfection. Our servers were friendly and gave us lots of tips on what to do or where to go eat. They also remembered our drink/water/juice requests from the morning before.
We'd definitely return. We love the hotel espcially after the renovation. Warning: Some of the clientele can be a little snooty sometimes though.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a mountain view but since we were on the 2nd floor, the view wasn't great. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Little Nell exceeded all expectations on our recent stay in Aspen. The Location can not be beat, the best in getting around town, biking, and hiking. We were picked up and greeted at the airport by friendly staff and upon our arrival at the hotel, car doors opened and greeted and welcomed by name. Check in was seamless and we were in our room in minutes. Our room was spectacular. We had a premium mountainside room and found it to be spacious and extremely comfortable. The fireplace, sitting area, large bathrooms all wonderful and beautiful. The decor is gorgeous as well. Very nicely done. Chocolate covered strawberries were sent to our room that evening courtesy of the hotel. Very nice. We enjoyed Ajax Tavern nightly as it is in the best location with incredible mountain views and great service. The Montagna was wonderful as well. We were going hiking in the Maroon Bells area and needed a car, the concierge offered us the Hotel Car and it was much appreciated. We like coming to Aspen in the Fall as it is not crowded and has a more local feel. It is relaxed and casual and always beautiful. The Little Nell was the perfect place to stay and we will return next year. 5 stars!!

Room Tip: Mountainside for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This wonderful hotel is situated in the prime location in Aspen. The service is outstanding. The hotel staff can not do enough and are extremely courteous . The spa in hotel also. An a plus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had heard many very good stories about this hotel, but was still blown away by the service, the welcoming attitude of everyone one of the staff members I encountered. In addition, the location is fabulous--within walking distance of restaurants and shops. No detail was overlookedat this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel has found a way to combine the latest in comfort and technology features with attentive, professional and friendly service. You're welcomed warmly and treated with the best possible service by a wonderful staff. In addition, the location is perfect and the rooms are huge and very comfortable.

Room Tip: There doesn't appear to be a bad room location anywhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
1.3 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Nell

Property: The Little Nell
Address: 675 East Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Family Hotel in Aspen
#3 Business Hotel in Aspen
#4 Green Hotel in Aspen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Little Nell 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of Aspen at our front door, Aspen Mountain at our back door. And in between, a gathering place for the free-spirited. We're proud of our 5 Stars and 5 Diamonds -- hospitality is our passion. From our kitchens to our cellars, with their 20,000 bottles of wine, from the Concierges in our lobby to the Concierges on our mountains, and from family adventure to apres ski, this hotel is, guests have said, "the Aspen of Aspen." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Little Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing