We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sebastopol, California
1 review
“first rate hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

It was a pleasure to stay at hotel that was top notch in very way. We're not used to staying at "better" lodging as we commonly stay at 3-star chains. But we were able to splurge because of the off-season Fall rates at Aspen. Also refreshing that this "fancy" hotel was very down to earth in this very pretentious town of Aspen. The staff was more than helpful, as they went to the trouble of making copies of hiking maps. And the breakfasts were way above average. Downtown location could not be better. They even hand out loaner bikes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler33069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    190
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
270
535
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

First of all, the hotel accommodations and breakfast was superior. The hotel is located within walking distance of most places in town (but keep in mind that even in early October on a weekend night, downtown had little activity). The place receives my highest kudos and I travel several times a month. My issue is with the added on fees. And I'm not talking about the $15-$30 resort fee. I booked a room at expedia.com. Expedia added on the tax (I asked the hotel for their tax rate) PLUS $30. I thought they had collected the resort fee in advance, which was fine. Later I find out this wasn't the case. When I inquired with Expedia what the $30 fee was, I was told, "the taxes and service fees charged on your hotel booking is a combination of two separate charges: tax recovery charges that Expedia pays to the hotel to cover the taxes owed by the hotel on your hotel stay and service fees which are retained by Expedia as compensation. Expedia does not separate these amounts because of confidentiality obligations to the hotel suppliers." In short, this room cost me an extra $30 over the price advertised that caught my eye. This, in addition, to the resort fee. It didn't turn out to be such a good deal. Had Expedia made this more clear, I would have likely selected different accommodations that I personally felt would have offered better value for the money. Also, the front desk clerks did not seem all the interested in helping me figure out this extra charge, saying only that they didn't have those answers/figures when booked directly through Expedia. Guess I should have booked directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RueCler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limelightlodge, Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the classic Limelight Lodge here in beautiful Aspen, Colorado. We know you have many options when you travel to Aspen, and we are thrilled you picked to stay at our property.

We have recently noticed your review on TripAdvisor and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We would like to apologize for the additional fees that were charged through our property as well as through Expedia. We have contacted Expedia and with their help we were able to resolve this issue. Expedia will send you a refund within the next two weeks for the amount that was double charged for each night you stayed with us.

We strive to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their stay and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We hope you plan to come and visit us again, let us know how we can help with any future reservations. Again, please accept our apologies for this inconvenience. If you have any additional concerns or comments, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Thank you again for your business,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
970.925.5802
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmdel new jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

we stayed at this hotel march 2009 and 2010. loved it, but it no longer is family owned and it already shows, room prices have almost doubled, and now they charge a $30.00 per day resort fee. this is a lodge not a resort. i did call about the $30.00 they told me it is for the continental breakfast, internet ski valet etc. keep in mind parking is additional , no health spa or gym, you have to pay to go to work out at a local spa. i loved the fact that this was a lodge, casual , friendly , low key. if i am going to be paying for a resort, i will now stay at a resort in town. such a shame. we really loved this place. nothing lasts forever. also the breakfast was nothing great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midtown2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we received 5 star service. The staff helped us plan our day trips, was incredibly friendly to our 2 dogs, offered cruiser bikes to get around town, picked 8 of us up from dinner when we were too tired to walk back to the lodge & even provided coupons for the gondola. Thanks guys we will be back soon !!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taosfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My husband and I went to Aspen to hike at Maroon Bells. Friends and family joined us and we all stayed at the Limelight Lodge and brought our dogs. From the moment we arrived, the staff was friendly and welcoming. The Limelight Lodge is in an excellent location directly across the street from Wagner Park and one block to town. Our room was quite plush and everything was well-designed. I loved the wide hallways and bathroom sheleves. The pool and 2 oversixzed hot tubs were very nice after a day of hiking. The breakfast was well run and the graonola was superb. I can't wait to go back and have decided to make the Limelight Lodge my Aspen home!

Colorado Springs, Colorado

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I could write and write, but it comes down to, just stay here. The Limelight met and exceeded all of our expectations. The staff are friendly and professional at the same time. Our room had everything that we could have wanted. Our research was done thru Tripadvisor and AAA and we could not have wanted or more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I stayed at the Limelight for 4 nights with 2 friends over Labor Day weekend. The hotel is in a great location by Butler Park. We had a deluxe queen room. It was very large and the 3 of us did not feel cramped at all. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to help. The guys who drove the shuttle were also very nice. We used them to and from the airport and to many different places in town. I was never up before 10am so I can't comment on the continental breakfast. They open there bar in the late afternoon and have cheese crackers/breadsticks to snack on. They have complimentary bikes for guest use. They have a pool and hot tub. There is also a small work out room- but why workout inside when the weather is so great outside?
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 36 in Aspen
526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 36 in Aspen
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing