We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Limelight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We have just returned from our trip to the Limelight Lodge. The property is beautiful. Our room was clean, and had extras we weren't expecting. The ipod docking station was a nice touch! The room was large, and the bathroom was beautiful. The staff was very responsive to our requests. Our room did not get cleaned until dinnertime, but we were not in a rush to have it serviced (we did have to call to get clean towels, however). It was in walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go while we were there. Who would have thought you could swim in the middle of winter! We took advantage of this ammenity, and absolutely enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. If we are ever in Aspen again, we will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abbeysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed at the Limelight for 4 nights in mid-December for a quick ski trip. The hotel is new, after the old hotel was apparently torn down completely and built back up. The rooms are as depicted in the pictures on their website. Beds are very comfortable with better bedding. Towels were still fluffy and bath products are on the higher end. The little touches are appreciated, like the Ipod docking station. The walls are thin so noise in the hallway (like from the housekeeping staff) is fairly noticeable.
The hot tubs and pool are very nice, and of adequate size for the hotel. There's a great view up Ajax mountain while sitting in them.

Extras were included in the room rate, which were both convenient and budget-friendly. Breakfast is included, and consists of 'help yourself' yogurt, granola, cold cereals, oatmeal packets (with access to the microwave), breads and muffins, fresh fruit and meats and cheeses. (There seems to be some catering to the European set - there was a large tour group of Germans there during our stay.) Throughout the day, coffee, tea and hot cocoa are available in the lobby free of charge, as well as with the coffee makers that come in the rooms. In the evenings, red and white wine is set out along with cheese and crackers, again at no charge. Note there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel.

Service is average. The staff still seemed to be getting up to speed when we were there. They were moderately helpful, but were new and didn't always know how best to help. Don't count on them for restaurant recommendations or information about the public transportation system or mountains. It took two times at the hotel and another time once I got home to get my bill to accurately reflect my stay. The housekeeping staff isn't very speedy yet either. We didn't have our room cleaned until 5:00 one night, and talked to several other guests who had their rooms made up fairly late in the day.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It's one block (cutting cross lots) from the main bus terminal for the mountain shuttles. It's approximately three blocks to the Ajax gondola. There are also several good restaurants and bars within a few blocks. It seemed that everywhere we wanted to go was on the end of town where the Limelight is located.

Overall, we enjoyed staying here and would do so again. The location is great and the rooms are brand new and quite comfortable. Service could be better, but maybe will improve with time. Although this isn't the place if you want a lot of great service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emorygrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwyatt1009, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2009

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We just opened our doors in late November 2008 and are still working out some of the kinks. We recognize our service was not quite up to the standard we expect but I know we will improve with experience. We were only open about 3 weeks at the time of your visit!

For example we've now added a ski and snowboard valet and have added complimentary on-mountain storage.

Thanks again for your fairness and honesty and anyone who reads this I invite to email me personally if you have any questions about the Limelight Lodge.
Brad Wyatt
General Manager
Limelight Lodge
bradwyatt@limelightlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

From loaning me a shovel and brush to remove snow from my rental car to free overnight check-in of skis at the base of any of the four mountains, it couldn't have been more delightful. I failed to avail myself of the 30-car underground parking at first, but later realized what a good value it was.

I had a marvelous view of Aspen Mtn. from my 4th floor wrap-around balcony as well as a perspective of half of Aspen.

Kindness and caring at every turn. $50M on this completely rebuilt facility has been well spent. Only three short blocks from gondola and two blocks from the transportation center. I'm already dreaming of my next stay at the Limelight Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank setayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Stayed up in Aspen the end of the season and stayed at the Limelight Lodge. Old property but very clean, the real value is the service. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years but have never experienced a family run hotel that sets the bar higher than five star properties. This group of dedicated people made reservations, activities, and suggested dining. They made our trip one of the best we have had in years. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful as well as visiting with other guests from all over the world. My wife and I love the Limelight Lodge and we just found out that they are redeveloping the hotel into a larger brand new hotel opening ski season 2008/2009.
Love the location just a block from the very center of all the action.
You will never stay anywhere else in Aspen!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank runninghard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwyatt1009, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2008

Thank you for the lovely review of the Limelight Lodge.

Our hotel has been completely rebuilt and will reopen November 2008. We are still family owned and operated by the same family for more than 50 years.

We will have the same personal service but with a brand spanking new building. Please get in touch with me personally if you have any questions about the new Limelight Lodge. I hope you will consider us when you make vacation plans for Aspen.
Brad Wyatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights 4 & 5 October.
I chose it because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we wern't disappointed. The hotel is only a few hundred yards from the centre of Aspen and very good value.
The rooms are of a standard motel type but are very clean and a good size. There is a small outdoor pool . . . . and I mean small! We were given a disc to display in the front of our car which enabled us to park right outside the hotel on the street.
The staff are very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about local restaurants & sights.
The breakfast, included in the price, is reasonable - fruit, bagels, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee, hot chocolate etc.
I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeessideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, Illinois
19
Reviewed September 15, 2005

This hotel is so close to teverything in town and the bus route for Snowmass yet it is very quiet. We have stayed at a few places right on main street and this place is just a few blocks closer to Aspen Mt. and a lot of the bars but if you go backand forth a lot like we did it makes a difference. The staff is very nice and the continental breakfast is decent though not quite as good as Hotel Aspen. The place wasredone last year so still a little dowdy but clean and new. We stayed there the last 2 years and last year a bit of a glich since the hotel was sold to new owners between the time we made the reservation and our sty. We wanted 2 beds in the room instead of one king size but this year when we made the reservation they seemed like they got it. Rooms are quite large and they evn have one bedroom suites that have 2 bathrooms. No cool bar to hang out at but so close to everywhere doesn't matter and they do have free wine and cheesef at happy hour in the lobby. Plus great free hot chocolate all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver
17
Reviewed July 18, 2005

I'm a wedding planner and I stayed at the Limelight over a weekend when I was coordinating a wedding in Aspen. My clients chose this hotel so I read the reviews on-line before I left and was impressed to see how many people raved about it. Well, the room was clean, but nothing over the top. It was simple, but included the necessities of a business trip (iron, mini fridge, etc). What really impressed me was the service I received. I never waited more than 30 seconds at the front desk, the maintenance staff helped me find my room, and the entire staff was more than excited to help with anything I needed.

I experienced the staff's kindness on my second day in Aspen. I had not booked a hotel room for Saturday night as I was planning to drive home 3.5 hours to Denver directly after the wedding ended at 7PM. I didn't wrap up until 9:00 and was dreading the drive. I decided it might be safer to stay the night and asked a few hotels for pricing. Unfortunately, most of the hotels in town were sold out or too pricey so I decided to head out of Aspen. As I was leaving, I drove by Limelight's street and decided to see whether they had vacancy. The man at the counter told me they only had 2 rooms available and each was $179. I told him that I only asked because I didn't want to drive home to Denver that late at night, but was hoping not to spend that much. I was ready to say thanks and head out of Aspen when he said that he'd rather that I be safe and offered me $139. I was relieved, checked in, and enjoyed a good night's rest. The next day, he gave me another 10% off! My bill came to $139 with tax. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for service with a smile from people who care about their guests. Thank you Limelight!!!!

Stayed: July 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $212 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing