We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Limelight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Limelight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Limelight and it exceeded all expectations. Even before we arrived my dealings with the front desk staff were a pleasure. They happily accommodated my room requests and our plan to ship all of our gear ahead of time. We were in room 306 and it was perfect. No balcony or fireplace but those were not important to us. The deluxe king was spacious and comfortable well laid out and immaculate with a fabulous view of the mountain. The lobby was bustling each day after skiing and the live music was enjoyable. As it was a holiday week there were many families with kids - we left ours home so would have preferred it the kids weren't taking over the space by the fireplace but no big deal. The hot tubs and pool area afforded great mountain views and were welcome relief after long days on the ski runs. The breakfast was delicious with many choices. The staff were all wonderful - polite, professional, informative, friendly - we did not encounter one employee who did not provide service with a smile. The location could not be beat in terms of convenience to shops, restaurants and the gondola for Ajax. The free transportation to all mountains was so convenient, and the vouchers for free transfer of our ski equipment from one mountain to another was a revelation. The friendly atmosphere we encountered at the Limelight carried over throughout Aspen - from all of the restaurants, to the ski patrols and ambassadors at all of the mountains. We met nice people everywhere we went and can't wait to return. We checked out many other hotels in the area and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were pet-free and room 306 had a spectacular view. Don't stay on first floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sapphirehg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    180
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
255
513
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I got home last night from an outstanding trip to Aspen and The Limelight. Our prior trips were spent at Skye Hotel but we felt it was time for a change of scenery. Happily, we were right. The Limelight is located two blocks from the base of Aspen Mountain with a great view day and night. Our Deluxe King (210) overlooked the pool and hot tubs and straight up the slopes. The property is immaculate and everything seems new. We were greeted by Pat at the airport upon our arrival and he gave us a complete rundown on everything we wanted to know, from skiing to where to eat and drink in Aspen. Chrissy, the lounge bartender, was equally impressive in her knowledge of Aspen and is a great Ambassador for the hotel. The breakfast spread is high quality and diverse and offers all you could ask. Après Ski offers live entertainment and we enjoyed Olympic coverage on a nightly basis. Whether you are traveling as a family or for a couples getaway, this is the right spot. Thanks to The Limelight for a great trip. See you next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Robert P,
Thank you so much for the kind words. We’re thrilled you were able to enjoy so much of what our property has to offer, from the breakfast to the friendly service.
We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back next year!
General Manager,
Richard Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've just returned from a two week stay at The Limelight and can't recommend it highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble, all staff were charming & the Inside Tracks program is fantastic - join in!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sash41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I discovered Aspen and the Limelight Hotel 3 years ago and have been hooked on this amazingly luxurious and approachable property ever since. A great complimentary breakfast buffet awaits you in the morning and complimentary cars and SUVs drive you around town and to the nearby sister mountains (Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass) free of charge. The après scene here is sophisticated, yet causal…. with freshly baked cookies and live music to welcome you back after a long day on the slopes! The view of Aspen Mountain from the hot tub is unrivaled and the pizzas in the lounge area are delicious! And did I mention that Limelight will pick you up and drop you off at the Aspen Airport free of charge?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel was nice, the staff was helpful and professional. They had music every night in the lobby bar area, a nice breakfast each morning but no lunch. I am a nonskier so having to go out in the cold an snow for lunch was not appealing but understandable. The hotel was virtually empty during the day. The hotel provided shuttles to Snowmass which thrilled my husband. Aspen is a fun place and this hotel is in the perfect location at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glee604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Never done a review before but the service, location and overall experience at this hotel has driven me to spend a moment to give a rave review following our recent ski holiday in Aspen at the Limelight Hotel

Room Tip: Not the first floor near reception, preferably a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niall g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear niall g,
Thank you so much for reviewing our property! We are honored to be the first hotel that inspired you to write a rave.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.
General Manager Richard Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The rooms are clean and updated. Ours looked into the square. Hot tub is a must. It was snowing and you could look up to the mountain. Fabulous happy hour and bar scene. Great location! We booked this for our first night in aspen before we then move up to the ritz in aspen highlands for 3 nights with our vacation club. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziSkiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing