We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was suberb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff was suberb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently returned from Aspen and I have to give thanks to the Assistant Manager, Elizabeth, for making us feel welcome when we finally arrived at the hotel. After a slight accident on the way into Aspen, she couldn't have been more helpful. The rest of our stay was great with friendly staff and proximity to downtown Aspen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    180
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
255
513
50
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Flooding in Rocky Mt. National Park created last minute change in travel plans for us. Decided to come to Aspen. We like to stay in boutique inns or hotels and found favourable recommendations from Trip Advisor on this location. We booked a deluxe king room at a discount because we stayed for 2 nights. We were not disappointed. Firstly, the hotel is well located within an easy walk to everything in this upscale town. It is, of course, minutes from the ski hills and nearby mountains. The room was large and comfortable and quiet. As well there is a fireplace in the room, a Keurig coffee machine, a wet bar and fridge. If you are into drinks and a social scene there is a nice bar in the lounge with couches and a fireplace, all very hip. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast comes with the room and even though it is 'buffet style' there is a full complement of hot and cold selections, all of very good quality. Parking is available (at an exta cost) in the basement of the hotel and this was helpful since it rained on and off during our visit. I have no negative comments about this facility. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place or come back. We were not disappointed with the change in our travel plans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent two nights at the Limelight, room was nice, spacious, service was great, breakfast (included) was terrific. Really, no complaints at all. Staff was very friendly, helped me with multiple requests. Room was clean, big, nicely decorated. Didn't get to use the pool, but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is pet free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has a really nice, modern feel. Good location, nice view. The breakfast in the morning was great and the rooms, though small, were clean and comfortable. Were it anywhere else, I would NOT value it at the rate we paid, especially in the summer.

I realize it's Aspen, and you're essentially paying for the privilege of being there, even in the summer. However, if I pay $250 for a hotel room, I expect guaranteed parking. Even if it's paid valet, I shouldn't have to hunt around a crowded city for a non-2-hour parking zone after a 4 hour drive from Colorado Springs. Just saying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokinokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear smokinokapi,

I'm sorry you had to spend time on your vacation hunting for a parking spot. Nothing is more of a buzzkill to an arrival than that! Unfortunately, with Aspen being a small town with limited "paved paradises," our parking options are somewhat limited during busy times.

Guests of The Limelight Hotel do have a few options though: They are welcome to park in the loading zone adjacent to the main hotel entrance during check-in. We offer parking in our underground parking garage for $15 per night. Parking is secure, self park and available 24 hours per day. Alternatively, we have parking permits for the residential area surrounding the hotel, which cost $5 and are valid for one week. And if none of these options work due to high occupancy in town, there is also the City of Aspen Rio Grande Parking Garage, which is about four blocks from the hotel.

I do hope you will return to Aspen and The Limelight. Let me know when/if you do -- parking will be on us!

Best,
Richard Stettner, general manager, 970-925-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our first time to visit Aspen. It is in driving distance from Kansas City and much cooler. We thought the hotel would be a great one as it was newer and thought that it would be wheelchair accessible.

Here are a few observations about the hotel:

+ Loved that the reservationist listened to what I wanted, thought about it and then emailed me the details!

+ Arrival was a bit confusing as I could not figure out where to park at first.

+ Loved the space in the room. My wife's wheelchair had plenty of room to get around. The closet space was excellent and the bed very comfortable.

+ The bed and the built in shower bench were too low. When we complained the hotel maintenance staff was very helpful in raising the king bed and providing a shower chair so that my wife could transfer from her wheelchair.

+ Disappointed that the concierge was not really aware of activities that a person in a wheelchair would enjoy in Aspen.

+ They had the best hotel breakfast buffet I have had in a very long time. Loved the coffee, fresh bagels, the hot entrees and the fresh yogurt.

+ We enjoyed a $10 pizza and cheap glasses of wine during a relaxing happy hour in the lounge.

+ The hotel has great access to the downtown village. Easy to take walking excursions to shops and restaurants during the day.

Overall I thought that the Limelight was a great value for the price! One of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have outside patios. Wish that we would have spent a few more bucks and got one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcitybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Limelight. I enjoyed my first stay so much that I booked my next (annual) trip to Aspen only when I could book my favorite room at the Limelight. I stay here with a girlfriend who lives in the area, it's our weekend away, when we walked into our favorite room we both yelled out "I'm home!"

We paid the $5 for street parking and had no problem finding a spot near the hotel. Since everything in Aspen is walking distance we didn't need the car again after we parked the first night.

Breakfast is amazing and FREE!

I have stayed at most of the higher end hotels in Aspen and the Limelight is my "go to" hotel for my Aspen stays.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We rented a balcony suite for our honeymoon. The room was very nice. However, at over $400 for one night, I was very disappointed that they did not acknowledge our honeymoon (i informed them so they were aware) with any kind of upgrade our special acknowledgment such as a meal or something of the like. We were not even there that long, due to when our flight landed, after 8pm and we checked out at 8 am. They do not even offer any continental type breakfast or anything. Really? We pay over $400 for less then 12 hours, celebrating our honeymoon and do not even get a donut much less any upgrades. I have to say, as nice as the room is I would not pay this price again. I am staying in Telluride which is just as nice as Aspen and half the cost and the hotel I am staying at, their Customer Service is out of the world.

Room Tip: It was raining when we were here and we only stayed one night but seems a balcony room is a good cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Debbie K,

First of all, congratulations on your marriage! So sorry we did not acknowledge that during your stay, as we are usually very good about sending an amenity to the room, upgrading when possible, etc. Given that you had a suite with a terrace, you were likely already in one of our best rooms. I am checking with the reservations team to follow up on this.

We do offer quite an extensive continental breakfast daily, which would have been spread out in our lounge when you checked out at 8 a.m. Our breakfast includes fresh pastries, house-made granola, cereals, eggs, waffles, lox, meats, cheeses, bacon, sausage, gluten-free items and steel-cut oatmeal, as well as coffee, juices, tea, etc.

I do hope you will return to Aspen and The Limelight. We have a marriage to toast and some donuts to eat!

Richard Stettner, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing