We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great value, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Central location, great value, wonderful staff”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We thought about staying at the Hotel Jerome, which is arguably the best and definitely the most expense hotel in Aspen. We're really glad that we decided to stay here instead. Our room was large (and by luck of the draw, we ended up with a fourth-floor terrace that provided a wonderful view of town). Staff here are very friendly and welcoming, and the amenities (robes, Keurig coffeemakers, television options, etc.) were terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth-floor room with a terrace, if possible. You'll have a wonderful view of the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecureforeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    183
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
262
523
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel staff were relaxed but attentive and "area knowledgable". Beautiful foyer area serves the most extensive breakfast Buffett we ever seen- FREE with our room. Also available at no extra charge, touring bikes. I am suffering from a ruptured cervical disc so without those bikes I would been hotel bound. The pizza is truly the best we've had (and we make our own). Go by the menu or have one of the pizza Chet's creat you a one of a kind. The pool and hi tubs were a very welcome diversion with towels available at the pool so one didn't have to drag a bath towel around. The only complaint we have? We didn't book more days here. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenatolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for Aspen. Everything was very well done. The build quality is first rate, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are large and well appointed. They even had a Keurig coffee maker in the room with the cups ready for you to make coffee. Nice touch. The staff was excellent. It rained a bit during our stay and the woman at the desk offered our entire family umbrellas. The breakfast is complimentary and really good. The rooms could have been a bit bigger, but they weren't small by any measure. Also, nice location - close to everything. The only thing that frustrated me was the parking fee. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Procurare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just completed a four night stay with our 3 granddaughters(17,14,and 12). We had 2 rms.one for the girls. our experience was outstanding with great service, full breakfasts and marvelous locations. The concierges(pat and Sarah) were superb in every category and would compare with the best we've ever had and we are frequent travelers all over world.i would rate the experience superior to 5 star hotels without the elegance but
with warmth,caring and service that rates at the top. There is no question if we return to aspen we will stay there. Al and Sara Dreskin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The old Limelight Lodge has risen on the same fabulous Aspen location as the Limelight Hotel. Bordering the west side of Wagner Park, the location would be difficult to surpass, but the new hotel is a great improvement on the funky old one. Sleek, modern and state of the art in all details, with beautiful rooms that include a small kitchenette, the service is impeccable in both hotel and restaurant. The pizzas served in the bar/restaurant area include gluten free crust option, greatly appreciated. Delicious, too.

We stayed at Limelight while attending Music Festival events and so the best part of the whole experience was that we could bring our dog and she was made so very welcome. She is not a barker or trouble-maker, and we left her in her portable kennel in the room while we were out. But, had she made noise, we were assured that a staff member would go get her and let her stay by the Concierge at his desk. How accommodating is that?? She could not have been treated better or welcomed more by every employee.

We needed a ride to the Music Tent on short notice and so found that the hotel's transportation is also first-rate, nice vehicles, friendly staff drivers. But the locations is so great that once we parked in the garage underneath the hotel, we never used our car during our entire stay.

What a great hotel.

Room Tip: Weekday rates are significantly lower than weekends. Mountain view rooms may also look onto the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm fairly picky about where I stay and I like boutique hotels. The Limelight ranks right up there. First of all, the location is perfect. It's in downtown Aspen right in the mix of things and within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, grocery store, bus stop, etc. There's a big park across the street if you want to lounge around or have a place for kids to play.

The interior of the hotel is really cool and the rooms are top notch. We booked a King Terrace room and the terrace was HUGE. On the terrace was a large wicker couch and separate table and chairs. A great place for cocktails or to chill out. The breakfast that's included is quite large and the food quality is really good. If you bring your bicycle, they also have a dedicated and locked bike room with a bike stand and any tools you might need. A nice touch. The large lounge on the first floor is very large with a nice fireplace and lots of comfy furniture.

If you want to go to Maroon Bells, the bus stop is right across the park and comes every 20 minutes. The hotel staff has been trained well. They go out of their way to make things smooth. Our two week vacation to Europe next summer just got moved Aspen and we'll be very comfortable staying right here.

Room Tip: The rooms that come with terraces are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Limelight for the second time in a row--each time during the music festival--and we plan to return again next summer. Each time, we stayed for at least a week. Good food, a marvelous location, and a friendly, helpful staff. We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north get the least sunlight. Fly in and out of Aspen in the morning, to minimize the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Property: The Limelight Hotel
Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing