We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen Limelight Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is our second stay at the Limelight and the first at the new and completly reconstructed facility. The staff is very accommodating and extremely friendly. Not a grumpy employee in sight.

The location is within walking distance of downtown Aspen (longest walk is 6 blocks to anywhere). On street parking is adequate for the fall season and no need to use hotel underground parking.

The rooms are comfortable and the beds are the best. Closets are more that adequate.

The only missing item on the breakfast menu is cooked warm eggs (scrambled or any other version). Cold hard boiled eggs are avialable. Otherwise the offerings including waffles are excellent.

Would I choose this venue again for an Aspen stay? You bet I will.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I just returned from three nights at the Limelight and had a wonderful overall experience! The hotel is located in the perfect location next to a large park and just around the corner from all that downtown Aspen has to offer in the way of shopping, restaurants and bars. It was so great to have dinner and drinks and then simply stroll back to our room. The room was wonderful and the bed was great with several selections of pillows. The parking was easy in and out and they actually give you a garage door opener for easy access!

The service was what really stands out! The people at the front desk were wonderful and informative about what to do in Aspen. The bar and restaurant staff were the best. I can't remember all the names of the people who worked the restaurant and bar, but all were great. Joe, one of the bartenders, was particularly engaging and was good source of what to do and see in Aspen...a real ambassador for his adopted home town! The food was excellent...especially the pizza's and pastas. All of the food was made from fresh ingredients and they really took pride in their preparation and presentation. The continental breakfast was perfect for grabbing something quick on the way out to enjoy the beautiful fall weather in the mountains. We highly recommend the Limelight and are already working our schedules to come back and ski this winter!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very clean, modern hotel with great restaurant that offers local food and microbrews. Dogs allowed:) Next to a beautiful park and walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops of downtown Aspen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here during the off season. Wasn't impressed at all with the continental breakfast, the refrigerator in the room was broken and the picture of the terrace room on their website wasn't as large in reality. But besides these minor downsides, it was a pretty good time.

To me, it ranks better than average, but not something I would call "very good" ... especially for the price of the terrace room. Would not stay there again, but probably won't go back to Aspen anyway :)

We got spoiled with Vail Village, before going to Aspen, so this may have something to do with it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDallasDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

MrDallasDean,

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with Aspen and The Limelight when compared to your stay in Vail. Both towns are drastically different and cater to different clientele.

Had we known that your refrigerator stopped working, we could have replaced it immediately as we do carry extras just in case one breaks. Our staff takes great pride in doing everything we can to ensure that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay with us. During the off season we have rates that range from $135 to $775 per night depending on guests’ budgets and selected room type. In our room category of the Terrace Kings, the outdoor space for your room was smaller than some of the other Terrace King rooms, but room 441 has the best view of Aspen. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room with a larger balcony if we had known.

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your stay further. My email is richard.stettner@limelighthotel.com, or I can be reached at 970.925.5802.

Warm regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want a Hotel where the staff is amazing, then you must stay at the Limelight Hotel in Aspen. We just came back...our entire family stayed there for my Son's wedding, and we can't wait to return. The breakfast which is included had a great variety..something for everyone, AND you must try the pizza. My son told us he thought is was the best in Aspen, well he was right!!!!!

We had room 430, with a balcony & a fireplace...LOVED IT!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge get a room with a balcony and the fireplace!!!! Worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZcactusflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Limelight Lodge has been an Aspen staple for decades. With its most recent reconstruction and the ownership transition from a family-owned lodge to a SkiCorp property, one might fear that the old flavor and flair had disappeared. But the new building - opened in 2010 - offers comfortable rooms, a welcoming lobby with marvelous complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning, two large outdoor hottubs and a pool, and the same fantastic location in the heart of Aspen. Have looked at - and even stayed at several other lodgings on trips to Aspen, but somehow when all is said and done, we always find ourselves coming back to the Limelight.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZGSkiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival to my room, which was very large and clean, I realized that I had forgot my Mac power cord. I thought it'd be a long shot for them to have a loner power cord, but they did! They also have loaner bikes to ride around town on all the great trails and free wifi.

Downside: if you are a price conscious person it may be a little expensive for you. There are less expensive places in town, but you sacrifice on size and quality of room.

Would I recommend? Yes

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
518 reviews
1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $266 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing