We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hearthstone House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hearthstone House
Ranked #3 of 10 Aspen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Second time back at the Hearthstone and just as good as I remember it.
Scott, Shannon and the team are super friendly and really create a home away from home for the guests.
Great breakfast every morning and wine and cheese in the afternoon/evening adds a nice touch.If your travelling alone or a as couple the evening drinks are nice for a social gathering.
Rooms are not huge but your there to ski or snowboard.
The town centre is two streets away and the bus to the other three mountains is only one street.
If you like small intimate b+b's then this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
31
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

While skiing with friends who stayed elsewhere, I stayed at Hearthstone House on my own. I have travelled extensively in my 62 years, staying in everything from YMCAs to six star hotels. Hearthstone House is up there with the best - it is a great place to stay! My room was very comfortable (I enjoyed the big leather armchair) and the whole house has an ambiance of warmth and welcome. Breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese were highlights - both taken as I looked out of the big picture windows towards the mountain. Other guests were happy to chat by the blazing fire. Interesting people stay here - from the anaesthetist from Switzerland to the international hip fashion design team from San Francisco. Hearthstone House had an intimacy that is never found in a hotel. It is superbly located- just across the road from the shuttle bus stop for the other mountains and within a very short walk to the best of Aspen's restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful little gem best location in town,really nice staff great breakfast great value.Girls weekend for the X-games just loved it.Staff were so helpful also loved the wine and cheese in the evening

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Loved this bed and breakfast. The staff were over the top helpful. Location amazing. We were able to use their bikes and the suggestions for food were fabulous. Breakfast was great and wine and cheese was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalamothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thanks to the wonderful staff at the Hearthstone House for another great visit. Special thanks to whoever was responsible for leaving two breakfast sacks outside our door for us to enjoy on our pre-dawn shuttle to Denver. I can't imagine such personal care being given at other hotels. The breakfast buffets and late afternoon wine and cheese parties made our visit seem less like a hotel stay than a visit with friends. As always, the Hearthstone House helped to make Aspen a special place for us.

Ann and Walter Dobie

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Close to the main thinjgs in life- Ski slopes,restaurants, and places to drink. Second floor room large enough for one,clean, great view and close to the bus route Staff fiendly and most helpful. Nothing better than sitting in the hot tub, in the snow after a hard day skiing. Stay there you will not be disappointed !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is not Little Nell! If you're looking for fine dining and glitz, this is not your hotel. Now, if you're looking for pleasant accomodations, in a great location, and the opportuity to meet with fellow skiers from all over the world, you have found a home. The day starts with a made to order breakfast, and ends with a late afternoon wine & cheese which affords the opportunity to socialize with fellow guests, many of whom have been coming to the Hearthstone for years.

The staff are attentive and accommodating and remember your eating preferences from year to year. (They even remember my wife's Earl Grey tea made in her special tea pot!)

They just celebrated 50 years in Aspen.

This is one of Aspen's hidden gems!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesGUnionville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Property: Hearthstone House
Address: 134 E Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing