We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High on the Sky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High on the Sky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is perfect for skiers and non-skiers. Right downtown a couple blocks to the buses and easy walking distance to the attractions and distractions Aspen has to offer. The pool area looks out on to Aspen mountain and is an apres' ski hang out so afternoons can get crowed. During our visit the pool was used as for a calendar shoot so the models enhanced the view around the pool. Ski storage and rental downstairs is well run, friendly and efficient. Lockers with boot dryers are in good condition

The double double room was large enough for the two of us. Room was clean and in surprisingly good condition for the end of ski season. Other properties of I've stayed at in Aspen have been pretty beat up by then Staff are friendly and knowledgable offering some solid suggestions for sightseeing, dining and what tourist traps to avoid.

Although my pooch didn't come on this trip, Kimpton hotels are dog friendly making them a good choice for traveling with a pet. If you are allergic to dogs, make sure you note it in your reservation and mention it at check-in. An even better option is to call the hotel a day or so before you arrive.

Great location Reasonable room rates for on the mountain Good service Nice pool Restaurant with a view Welcomes Fido

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the shout out on TripAdvisor. Great to hear you had a good time while you were. Can't wait to have you back this ski season. We're expecting a much better snow year (unfortunately wasn't very good last year) so get your ski legs ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    142
    66
    36
    36
See reviews for
68
178
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in one of the rooms that had a side mountain view & caught the sun on the balcony late afternoon so lovely to sit out. The pool area was surprisingly warm for early October and a quick relax there was also on the cards. We really loved our room, its size wasn't an issue for us though the bathroom was a tad cosy.

It being the shoulder season between summer and the ski season, the hotel was pretty quiet, which suited us well. We found all of the staff incredibly friendly and helpful and they even remembered we liked white wine at the free happy hour between 5 and 6pm. No problem at all to borrow the hotel bikes and get excellent instructions for an afternoon's riverside ride - loved it!

We ate at the bar two nights on the trot and had excellent grub right by the fire. Can definitely recommend.

My only gripe would be the pool - covered in midge type flies so not that pleasant to swim in - I got out pretty sharpish - and the jacuzzi was cold, so again a bit disappointing.

All in all, would come back, we got a really good rate and we're not skiers, so the shoulder season was ideal.

Room Tip: Book one with a balcony, it makes a real difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food in the lounge. Sorry about the flies at the pool. Unfortunately, we can control the hatch of those little guys and they tend to overwhelm us a coupe times a year. We will definitely figure out what happened to the temperature in the hot tub as that shouldn't be the case. Can't wait to see you back in Aspen. Whether you come back to learn to ski, or come back to enjoy the off-season, it will be great to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Got a good price on the Sky Hotel. We liked the rooms. Very comfortable. Ours had a view of the mountain. Some rooms, I think would be very dark with no view. We loved the pool and spa area. But both were drained on the 2nd day we were there. We were offered a drive to a hotel where we could use the spa and pool but who wants to drive to place, get wet, and then have to drive back to your hotel. We passed. Still, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. I'm sorry that the pool wasn't available during your entire stay. Unfortunately we had to finish some last maintenance and cleaning before the freezing temperatures and snow starts flying in Aspen. Can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The first thing you need to do before making reservations at a Kimpton Hotel is to sign up and become a Kimptom member (free). This enables you to get upgrades to suites if any are available, free internet as well as getting free access to the Spa.
Now that I covered this important tip, let's talk about the Sky Hotel, which is nestled at the base of the mountain and where you can ski right to the hotel front door! The hotel is very well located and is walking distance to everything. The hotel has been renovated and is of modern design with friendly staff. Our room which was upgraded to a suite was very nice and came with all the amenities you can imagine (fridge, minibar, microwave, humidifier, fireplace and a tv in the bedroom and the living room.)
The lounge is a nice hangout featuring a full service bar and a restaurant. The menu is a little limited food selection wise but Aspen has hundreds of amazing restaurants so it wan't a big deal to us.
The outdoor pool and spa is a fantastic feature and is open until 10pm. Enjoy a nice swim even when it is snowing. The pool area also has a outdoor "bar" which is great for that "après ski" drink.
We visited the hotel during the "off" season so the staff was not overwhelmed with guest requests and did a fantastic job tending to our every needs.
I would definitely go back to the Sky Hotel and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Become a Kimpton member and get a free upgrade if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winevibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us at the Sky Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the quieter off-season time in Aspen. We hope to see you back in Aspen sometime soon whether in season or off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Walkway is very noisy. Rooms are smalls in an eclectic style. Bathroom outdated. No elevator for our floor. We had to use stairs with the stroller... Menu at the restaurant was scarse, few items available, but good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and thanks for staying with us. I certainly wish we had an elevator to the entire building, however, when the property was originally built in the 60's, that half of the building didn't include elevator access and we unfortunately don't have the ability to correct that. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food while you we're here and we look forward to having you return to enjoy the full menu we offer during the peak summer and winter seasons. We would love to have you return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved the staff, very helpful. The facilities and location at the base of the mountain were great. Pool and hot tub had great views and the outdoor fireplace was a great spot. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us on your recent trip to Aspen and thanks for the excellent 'shout out' on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return visit. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Basics here are good. Great location, decent property, nicely decorated, comfortable. Great bar/pool/restaurant scene.... a tad too focused on the spoiled rich kid crowd - but I don't want to sound like an old cranky geezer.... The real issue is lack of consistency among the staff. Several were phenomenal - five-star quality. Others couldn't be bothered... or were even aggressively rude. I tend to dislike the "Stepford Wives" approach to service staff training (think Four Seasons) - but Sky Hotel desperately needs some rigorous training and staff education to deliver a consistent experience for their clients. . One poor interaction with staff person at a hotel can color your entire stay. Unfortunately, I experienced three such incidents in a three-day period. Not a great ratio... If they fix this problem, I would substantially change my review. I find this to be true of many of the Kimpton properties at which I have stayed. This is the first time that I thought it was worthy of a comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Datablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Aspen. And thanks so much for the constructive feedback about our team. I agree that we need to be very consistent and outstanding in all of our staff interactions with our guests and I am terribly sorry that you encountered a few less than perfect interactions. We will definitively use your feedback in our upcoming staff training as we prepare for the winter season and hope that we will see you back at the Sky Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing