We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I grew up in Aspen and during our engagement party there was no room in the house for us, so we decided to get a room at Sky. Very large beds that are comfortable, great climate control and large bathrooms. We had the front room over looking the pool on the second level, and during the summer the patio is regularly rented out for parties, so if you hate noisy rooms stay away from the pool! Speaking of the pool, it is a main attraction for locals to hang out and eat the amazing Truffle Fries!!! There is nothing like a froufrou cocktail in the hot tub, or take a dip in the year round heated pool! All of the food at 39 degrees is spectacular.

One of the most notable features of the hotel is the crazy, extravagant decor. They have giant white chairs with soaring backs and interesting light installments. Passing through the lobby is 39 degrees lounge, bar and restaurant. They have a cozy bar area with booths, loungers, and action-sports films to entertain you. In the winter it is lovely to curl up next to the fire with a Snuggler (peppermint schnapps and hot chocolate.) This is a boutique hotel and the service is exemplary. Sky is located at the base of Aspen Mountain and you can ski-in/ski-out to the Silver Queen Gondola. They provide robes for all ages in zebra and leopard patterns! They are also pet-friendly with in-house dogs to great the guests!

Room Tip: If you desire relaxation and peace, avoid rooming by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccallud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait for you to come back and visit the family again and stay with us. Thanks for the great feedback and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    133
    57
    35
    34
See reviews for
60
153
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

As a family of 2 adults and one 12 year old the Sky Hotel exceeded all our requirements. The room was spacious, warm, and very clean.Tom and Matt at the downstairs Ski Hire were fantastic. The boys knowledge and friendly personality made us feel like friends, not customers. Parker,the night manager, has had such an amazing life, and was happy to share his knowledge of Aspen history with us.
We will be telling our friends what a fantastic time we had a the Sky Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for your excellent review of the Sky Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait for you to return to stay with us and please do bring your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights with af friend. Loved the hotel bar and pool/hot tub. Very chic. Room was just okay. Nothing remarkable in the decor or amenities for the money. Motel type set up where you walk outside to get to your room. Have had to walk outside before but usually at resorts where your room is a more like a separate condo. Overall satisfactory experience but not a great value for your dollar. If you like a "scene" the bar has a good apres ski scene.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for your review of the Sky Hotel, Aspen. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the lounge and public areas. We want to let you know that we are planning some cosmetic updates later this year so watch for updates and come back and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I just returned from a four night stay at The Sky. The hotel was gorgeous, and the perfect place to stay for skiing and enjoying Aspen. The hotel is clean and the room was always spotless. Everyone who worked at the hotel, from front desk to doormen to waiters, provided excellent service and were very friendly. They remembered us everytime we came to eat or walked by. The location was great- skiied right off the mountain to the hotel. The ski shop on property was very convenient and the guys who worked there were great. As hotel guests we got a nice discount.
Some nice extra amenities were the free in-town shuttle, comp breakfast buffet and hot chocolate in the lobby in the afternoon (great when returning from skiing!).
It was family friendly but still had a great vibe and fun apres ski scene.
Highly recommend this hotel. When I return to Aspen I will definitely stay there and recommend it to anyone traveling there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
What a fantastic review!! Thank you so much with sharing with us and the rest of the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

On a trip to Glenwood Springs late this summer we decided to go on further to Aspen for a night. We didn't have any reservations or place in mind to stay. While renting bikes for the day we asked the owner of the shop where would be a good place to stay on such short notice. He recommended Sky Hotel. What a great find! The hotel decor is what I would describe as retro/modern. Pool/hot tub area is fabulous, staff was all super friendly. Happy hour for guests included a meet and greet with their head chef. We took a standard room. While small, it was very comfortable and quiet. Loved the Keurig coffee maker in the room, and the zebra and leopard print bathrobes!

Most of the guests were younger (20's-30's), the atmosphere is laid back and easy going. At least while we were there during an "off season" time. The hostess told us that their bar and pool area is very popular and great party place for locals and non-guests. When we got back from dinner later that evening the bar/lounge area was packed but not a" rowdy bar " atmosphere. Again, I must remind you, it was during the week and at a slow time, we heard that in the height of the season it can be pretty crazy and busy.

(A few of the locals told us that in the Fall during the week and February after most of the ski visitors leave is a great time to visit when things seem to quiet down. If thats what you are looking for.)

Breakfast the next morning in their bar/lounge area by the fireplace was wonderful, the laid back atmosphere caused us to linger by the fireplace sipping coffee long after breakfast was done.

We can't wait to go back.....when everyone else leaves!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catiedfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We are so happy that you decided to make the trip up from Glenwood and we were recommended to you by the bike shop guys. Come back and see us soon. Ether when we are packed or when it is slower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

What can we say, we love staying at the Sky! It is funky, fun, rooms are great... has the feel of a funky ski lodge gone big time ( without the atttitude...) The food is great,39 degrees is THE PLACE for apres ski.. and the pook well... rock and roll!
We love the Kimpton properties as each one has it's own vibe... What brings us back every chance we can is the people... can't say enough.. Last year had to go solo, and ended up doing a Ajax day with one of the Valet guys... Jim... what a riot.. and what a tour...
Cheers to the Sky.. this is one of those places I want to keep quiet.. ( ie the Epic in Miami) .. however must share..
Cheers .. looking forward to seeing you at the airport... tune in my XM station and time to rock once again..\
Tom and Stella

Room Tip: Just go with it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thanks Tom and Stella for the great Review. Hoping to see you back in Aspen this Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at the Sky for a few days as I was in town for an interview. Everyone there was so friendly, helpful and the drivers were so nice. They took me wherever I needed to go as I was alone and not sure of any of the spots to go in Aspen. My room was cute, very clean, and I felt like I was on the best vacation. Staying there was so much fun. I actually wanted to just hang at the hotel all day! I never felt alone due to the wonderful staff at the Sky. I hope so much I get to go back and will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend the Sky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay at the Sky Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We wish you the best of luck with the interview process that brought you to Aspen. We look forward to your return to Aspen and your next visit to the Sky Hotel. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#5 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#11 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-2037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing