We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Clean rooms, friendly and more importantly helpful staff. They even had full breakfast until 10am.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastinauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Our room could not have been more perfect for our needs - a small patio area outside that lead to a gassy area on the hotel property and then a park across the way. Just perfect. And close to the trail system along the river. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Hi there --

I would have to agree with some of the other honest comments about this "hotel."

Indeed, the folks at the front desk (especially Tatiana) were very nice and accomodating. Without an inquiry, she took the time to tell me the "must see's" in/around Aspen and places to eat. She was lovely....

The pool area is very nice and upscale but the rooms do not rate on the same level. Agreed that the picture of the hotel front makes it appear nicer than it is. The hallways are very dark and I too feel that this was once a very average motel that has had a descent makeover.

That said, make no mistake that it still has the feel / ambiance of a motel that has been madeover. While the beds were comfy and the bathroom had nice Rusk bath products the feel of the place felt very dated -- old windows...dimly lit hallways, etc.

Also, I totally agree about the breakfast...very mediocre and limited (cereal, milk, cold bagels, cream cheese, sliced turkey, OJ, tea, coffee).

Would I stay there again? Yes b/c it was descent enough. I would rather stay at a remodeled motel w/ a comfy, clean bed and a nice pool area than at a Super 8 (or something along those lines).

I always prefer 4 and 5 star hotels but for a three star I think it was about as good as you're going to get. It is centrally located in the heart of town...it felt safe (albeit the dimly lit hallways)...the staff was nice...the beds were very comfy and it was clean.

As long as you know what you're getting, you should be pleased with your stay.

Ciao....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritBear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Clarebearroy,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, we take your comments and opinions seriously and will take whatever steps we can to continue to improve our product and services.

Just to clear up any misconceptions, the Hotel Aspen was never a motel, it was developed in the 1980's as a condominium hotel and when the current owners purchased it a few years ago they immediately embarked on a 2 million dollar complete renovation of the hotel. In the last 2 years all of the property’s 45 guestrooms were stripped to the core and renovated with wood floors, contemporary furnishings, plush bedding, new high efficiency Andersen windows and window treatments, new air conditioning and fully refurbished bathrooms. The poolside courtyard sports stylish, new Buddha beds, fire pit and water features and the interior and exterior of the Aspen landmark share a fresh color palette. Our property’s trademark friendly service and intimate feel remain unchanged. The result is an Aspen accommodation that is modern, stylish, yet still affordable.

We offer a extended complimentary Continental breakfast with fresh coffee, juices, tea and cocoa, made to order waffles, bagels and a toaster to heat them, fresh fruit, eggs, meats and cheeses, pastries, cereal and fresh bread. We also include complimentary parking, wireless internet, complimentary airport transportation and several daily newspapers including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

We truly feel that if you compare our hotel to any other hotel in Aspen in our price range you will find that Hotel Aspen represents a tremendous value for the money and a warm, relaxing and comfortable lodging experience.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you back in aspen and the Hotel Aspen soon,

Best regards,
Jeff Bay C.H.A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We've stayed with Hotel Aspen and their sister property across the street - Molly Gibson. Both properties are older hotels that've undergone nicely done renovations and are comfortable/clean and walking distance to restaurants/shopping in-town. The more recent update was to Hotel Aspen in mid-2010...the interiors of the rooms are VERY nice. They are listed in various lodging guides as "economy", but we saw only first rate bedding, bathrooms, and superior service from the hotel front desk. Consider this property when staying in Aspen.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had four people in our room and it held us all wonderfully. The hotel staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel had a beautiful pool and and the complimentary breakfast was very nice. I would definitely stay here again. We loved the location as it was close to everything and we could walk pretty much anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIEVG826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Compared to other hotel prices in Aspen, this place is a steal. It has all the amenities of other hotels but for hundreds less. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. And you are only a few blocks from the central downtown area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The reservations/front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms and pool area are very nice. My only complaint would be the included continental breakfast. They ran out of almost everything long before breakfast ended - coffee, fruit, pastries, sliced meat, tomatoes, sliced cheese, boiled eggs, milk, etc.... The gal who was monitoring it was very slow and in no hurry to replenish. When asked if she would be refilling some things she said no. Otherwise, our stay was great and I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuitYourJobandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: 110 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: $189 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing