We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and the staff was very helpful. Someone helped us with our bags. We used their wifi. They gave us directions to a couple places. Like the hotel and check in on Facebook for freebies in town. Microwave and fridge and newly renovated room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Chris D,

Thanks for letting us know that we're doing a great job, hopefully next time it will be even better!

Regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    183
    57
    23
    11
See reviews for
127
216
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 4/13 & 4/14/2014. We stayed in a room with two queen sized beds, a little kitchen area and a sitting area that looked out to the pool. When we checked in we were told that they served cheese and wine upstairs. We checked it out and they had nachos, pizza, soda, cheese, crackers, salad, and wine. It was very nice and the guy running it was very friendly and kept everything well stocked. The next morning after breakfast the front desk girl named Anna was very friendly and let us use her ice scraper so get all the snow off of our car. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Lisa H,

We are so pleased that you loved our hotel, we take great pride in our property and hope to serve you again in the future!

Best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed April 8th-9th, first stay at the hotel. In town for business, but was able to get in skiing one day. The hotel staff was very friendly, greatly enjoyed the apres ski reception and breakfast in the morning. Hotel staff was great with directions and suggestions. I stayed in room 318, which had a great view from the jacuzzi balcony (rooms 315-318 have separate jacuzzi balconies with same view). Only complaint is that the hotel computer did not have Microsoft Office which I needed to print a few things.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Aaron R,

Thanks so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to Aspen and the Hotel Aspen!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Aspen 15-22 March - it was our first time in Aspen (we were meeting a group of Aspen veteran friends who were staying in several accomodation).
On arrival Kyle/ reception had kindly given us a corner roomwith fireplace as it was our anniversary. (Room 223)
Hotel may not look great from the outside but the room was large, bright, airy, comfortable and clean.
Yes, there is an old fashioned bar/kitchen in the midlle with is a little dated, but we found it very useful for our drinks and snacks.
The reception staff was brilliant with a "can do" attitude ,and helped me recover my lost gloves AND had them delivered to reception (thank you Anna and I Forgot Your name = sorry)
B'fast was very good and varied, and the afternoon complementary food and drinks are a bonus.
Jaccuzi and pool outside were great to relax after skking with a drink in hand (water hot so you will not get cold!!!)
Location is great - right by the various bus stops - and also walking distance to town centre.
Overall fab value for money, lovely staff - will definately stay there again next time I go to Aspen.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with a view. (We had 223 but other corner can have a balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineGimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear CelineGimenez,

Thank you so much and i so appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay and mention some of our hardworking staff, I am a lucky man to have such great employees. We strive to provide great service and excellent amenities at an affordable price, and we hope that you will consider us again on a future trip to Aspen.

All the best -

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel. The room had been renovated, but the building is from the 1970's and they did so much with the renovation. The bed was super comfortable, but there was an old "bar" in the middle of the room - not sure why they didn't just remove it for the renovation. The bathroom was really crowded ... over sized vanity that took up the whole room so really cramped. Again, renovation was attempted but they left the old medicine cabinet on the wall. Lack of attention to detail ... electric plugs that didn't work, towels were threadbare, light switches didn't match (some white, some yellow). Sound proofing between units is very poor. Outside of buildings, other than the entry building, and pool area is in very shabby condition.

The breakfast was awful. Stale bread, overcooked eggs, anemic sausages, watered down juice, mediocre coffee. The breakfast area was a horrible mess by 9 am each morning, actually disgusting ... food all over the floor, tables and chairs, overflowing bus pans, a horrible mess. We bailed after the first day and went out to eat for the rest of our stay.

Maybe I am being nit-picky, but for $400 a night (we stayed in high season) I just wished it was finished off a bit better with more attention to detail and I wish it were cleaner. On the up side, the bed was super comfortable, the location is good and the staff are super friendly.

Room Tip: Get an interior room ... overheard other guests complaining about traffic noise with the rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristainco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear kristainco,

I appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback regarding your stay. You are correct that we are a older hotel that has undergone extensive renovations, but unfortunately we cannot make every design decision perfectly. We left the bar in the room to provide a sink, refrigerator and microwave, and most guests find this a tremendous convenience. We use 100% egyptian cotton sheets and towels and find that our towels are generally in excellent condition and quality, We try really hard to provide great service, tremendous value and excellent amenities, and our prices, even in high season as you mention are usually half those of our competitors, and we include parking, wifi, airport transportation, local and LD calls, Apres Ski reception and more at no additional cost. The breakfast room gets busy and most of our guests enjoy the full hot complimentary buffet , but I'll take your comments seriously and see what additional improvements we can make, I just wish you would could have enjoyed it more than the one morning you did and based your entire trips observations on that experience.

I would enjoy the opportunity to personally discuss your stay and impressions and do whatever I can to consider us again on a future trip to Aspen, please contact me at your convenience.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
jeff.bay@hotelaspen.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Not suited for couples!
Mainly groups of men or young people who are coming to party even in the middle of the night.
Location is ok and ski busses right in front of the hotel.
Rooms spacious but loud because hotel is old.
Staff very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast poor very basic!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lambrichts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Lambrichts,

First of all, my apologies if any part of your stay was not to your satisfaction. I do recall your situation and there were certainly some inconsiderate guests who made it difficult for you and other guests to fully appreciate their time in Aspen. I can understand how that would make your stay less than expected. However, I was discouraged that you did not share the complete story. As you recall we worked with you extensively to find a solution, we upgraded you at no charge and bought you and your wife dinner as a gesture of our sincere concern, we went out of our way to apologize even though the situation was somewhat out of our control as we have no magic powers to change human behavior, however the situation was readily addressed with the offending guests as soon as you made us aware. The Hotel Aspen is not a "Party Hotel" as you infer, but unfortunately occasionally we get rambunctious guests who over-enjoy their stay in Aspen. I'd venture to say that this happen at hotels like the St. Regis and Little Nell as well. I thinks it's somewhat unfair to paint a picture of our hotel based on one inconsiderate guest. As you can clearly see from the overwhelming majority of our reviews that we are a friendly, safe, upscale property with a high degree of value. We include a full hot breakfast with over 20 items on the buffet, a complimentary Apres ski with Beer, Wine and hot appetizers, free wifi, airport transportation, local and LD calls and much more. Again, my apologies, and I hope that you might give us another opportunity to earn your business on a future stay.

Respectfully, Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing