We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but don't take rooms to the sidewalk”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Villach, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good - but don't take rooms to the sidewalk”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice little Hotel in downtown, an easy walk to the best Restaurants, clean and well furnitured rooms with a good heating. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is outstanding, the Price in october was fair
But: don't take rooms to the sidewalk on street level - somebody may knock on your door in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinzibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Heinz H,

I so appreciate your great review and we're so pleased that you had a great fall vacation with us. I'll pass on your compliments to the staff and we'll look forward to your next visit with us. I assure you all of our rooms are very safe and we are located in a quiet residential area of Aspen, so no one is going to knock on your door other than our friendly staff.

Take care, Jeff Bay General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    184
    58
    23
    11
See reviews for
127
217
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great small hotel in the heart of Aspen. Our outside sitting area was complete with mountain views of the ski slopes. What an unexpected treat for the price ($108 / $130 when all was said and done) - great value for what you get. We arrived just in time for their "happy hour" that included apps. and free drinks - which we enjoyed as we sat by the fire and chatted with other guests. Their staff was very helpful and friendly. Afterwards we walked downtown - just a few blocks away - to the shops, local brewery and other fun places to eat and drink. Don't forget the free breakfast we enjoyed in the morning before we went for our long winter snow hike. Although we did not have time to visit the pool and hot tub it looked very inviting! The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean. The rooms have some modern features such as window treatments, comforter, chairs, flat screen TV, newer carpet, etc. If you are used to staying at the Hilton where everything is sparkling new and updated, this might not be the place for you. However, if you want to feel like you are at the Hilton (with perhaps even better customer service) and experience more value for your money (happy hour, apps, free Wifi, full breakfast, great staff, very clean, and amazing location with views to boot) - I highly rate for family, couples and friends!

Room Tip: Usually I don't prefer the first floor, but the mountain views and sitting areas seem to be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Kim 2014,

I so appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review and we are glad you had a great time with us! happy that you enjoyed the great free included breakfast and friendly service, please come back and visit soon!

Take care, Jeff Bay General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

In Aspen for business and this was a great little hotel with easy access. Rooms comfortable and and staff extremely pleasant. Breakfast was good and rounded an overall comfortable stay. Only negative is that room was extremely warm even though the thermostat was set at 68 degrees. the only way to cool down the room (it was in the 20's outside) was to leave the window open all night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Bruce L,

Thanks so much for the nice review and we so appreciate your staying with us. I'm so sorry if your room was to warm, we use hot water radiant heating and it takes a bit of time for the room to change temperature, unlike a forced air system that works more quickly. I hope that we can have you back for another stay and we'll make sure the room is at the perfect temperature for you.

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Aspen for quite a few years because it has been quite a good value. Great location, comfortable and well maintained. Still a nice place in all those ways, but now prices are rising during busy times to the point that they are competing with nicer alternatives. Quality and clean - this is a good choice during value seasons or when the rates dip to around $240/night. When it gets up near $300 and you have enough advance notice to be choosy, look around a bit before booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sevenmile,

I do appreciate your nice review and comments and I'm so glad you had a great stay. I am sorry to read your comments about pricing when our rates are almost always less then our competitors. Keep in mind that we also include a free full hot breakfast, free high speed internet, free parking, free airport transportation, free local and long distance calls, free bike rentals and much more with every stay. I can say with confidence that our competition does not include these items and must be paid for extra, I hope that our readers keep that in mind when making comparisons.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Enjoyed the stay, Girl at front desk was very nice and helpful at check-in. There was a mystery noise on my last night there and when I contacted the front desk, she made a great effort to locate the noise which eventually just stopped. (probably some caused by other guests). Anyways it was apparent that she was going to make sure my stay was comfortable even if she had to relocate me to a better room. Liked the Coffee maker and the renovations were nice. HD TV which was a nice bonus. Good Value for Aspen. Some nice Robes in the closet and other nice touches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jon B,

Thanks so much for your nice review and I'll pass on your compliments to our staff. While we have an amazing hotel it's truly our service that sets us apart. Glad you had a great time and we'll see you on your next trip to Aspen!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great service, clean room. fireplace, small kitchenette very good location. Clean Hoy tub and heated pool. What more can you ask for ? Didn't expect much for 140$ in Aspen but was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask for the king room with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artnpen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Artnpen1,

I appreciate the great review and I'm so pleased you had a great time with us, Hope you can come back and stay with us again soon!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stallings, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location of Hotel Aspen is great and they have spent a lot on renovations, but they quit before they made it perfect. They could have spent just a bit more and really made it phenomenal. However, it was clean and a great location to walk around Aspen. Also the free parking and wifi were a great plus. The breakfast was plentiful with a lot of options.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the third floor if you are a light sleeper. They are pet friendly so dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Natalie S,

Thanks so much for your great comments and suggestions and we will continue to make improvements and upgrades to the hotel based on all of our guests suggestions. Hope you can come back and see some of the changes soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 34 in Aspen
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing