We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Downtown, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Downtown was easily walkable from Hotel Aspen, and we walked back and forth multiple times a day. It was nice to be so close. Parking was free along the street, no valet service. The girls at the front desk were always super friendly and helpful. There are bikes for rent right outside the hotel. There are DVDs available for check-out from the front desk when it gets rainy! We splurged and got a room with a hot tub. Lots of climbing tiny flights of stairs - I thought of myself not un-fit, but found myself sucking air in that elevation! The bathroom was teensy-tiny and the bedroom large. The hot tub was on the balcony. I loved the idea of the hot tub more than actually using it. It was such a great idea to use it in the chilly evenings, but I couldn't be in it for more than about 5 minutes as the chemical vapors stung my eyes. I understand and gratefully appreciate the need to keep the tubs super-clean, but those vapors kept me out of the tub. We did not use the pool area as it was a bit too cool for my liking, but the pool area looked amazing, like out of a magazine. It had nice lounging areas and looked very tranquil. There is a lodge-y area above the front desk that held morning complementary breakfasts. It also boasted some couches by a fireplace and some board games - looked fun for those who may not enjoy the skiing but still want the vacation!

Room Tip: Hot tub rooms may not be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Rachel B,

Thanks so much for the generous reply and feedback. We are glad that you had a great time with us and enjoyed Aspen. (it's hard not to!). Hopefully you can come back and visit in the winter and enjoy the roaring fire with complimentary Apres ski reception held daily in the Lodge-y room :-)

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    184
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
129
217
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location is great in center of town short walk to center of town where all the restaurants shops and bars are. The rooms are very clean. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The pool and hot hub I didn't use but guests seemed to enjoy. Breakfast isn't that tasty only complaint. Best hotel option for value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SapnaChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear SapnaChamp,

I so appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great stay with us I'm so glad that you enjoyed the location and amenities. I'm sorry if you didn't feel the breakfast was perfect but we do offer fresh eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, made to order pancakes, fresh ground coffee, juices,fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, bagels, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and much more all included complimentary with your room. I'''l continue to look for ways to make this service even better.

Thanks and please come and visit us again,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I desperately needed to get away. His business consumes every ounce of his energy and we're still living through the trauma of the Black Forest Fire. My Mom and I had gone to Hotel Aspen last year and had a wonderful time and I longed to go back. As I felt summer slipping away, I asked my husband if we could go because I really wanted him to see it and we needed a break. He finally consented and was so glad that he did. Everything from the drive over Independence pass to the welcome we received when we first walked into Hotel Aspen to our room which they were so kind to upgrade for us was an awesome experience that we will never forget. Hotel Aspen and the experience of being in that lovely mountain town was so enjoyable. Thank you Hotel Aspen for helping us make another grand memory to tuck away for our 31st year of marriage! We thought Aspen might be kind of smug, but not at all. They are very down to earth there!

Room Tip: I have stayed there twice and both times, I enjoyed my room. Both times were off the main level. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear JVCroft,

Thank you for posting such a "delightful" review! I'm so glad that we could make you and your hard working husband's stay memorable! Congratulations on 31 wonderful years and we hope that you come back next year for #32!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redstone, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, decent size pool, very helpful staff, good free breakfast, nice rooms. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely use this place as our hotel of choice when in Aspen. And of importance to us, my dog was welcome for a small additional fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear DMC427

Thank you so much for your nice review and we are so pleased you had a great time with us. You are correct that our location, service and amenities make us a great value in expensive Aspen. We love your pup too!

Please come back and visit again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this hotel! Great location, well maintained, very nice rooms and pool was great. Really enjoyed the stay and the staff were so friendly and nice. We got a great off season rate too. Great girls time in Aspen.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 queens and a nice big wet bar and deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleddogs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear sleddogs7,

Thanks so much for the great review and we're so happy that you had a great time. Come and see us in winter and maybe visit the famous Krabloonik sled dogs, it seems based on your profile this might interest you.

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location and pool area with hot tub. Motel-like rooms. Very noisy air conditioning. People who work at hotel are super nice and extremely helpful. Free shuttle to and from Aspen airport. Great free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens on to the pool area, especially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Gary S,

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. I'm sorry is you found our new LG Energy Star rated air conditioning units loud but we can easily move you to another room with a different set up, just let us know. This would have been an easy thing to have taken care of for you. Hopefully you can return and let us take care of you again.

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While I would characterize this facility as more of a motel thana hotel, the rooms are quite spacious, clean and modern. It is within walking distance to pretty much everything in the town and before the winter season the free bikes they made available (about 4) for use by guests, was a very nice touch. While the breakfast is adequate, it leans more toward the continental variety, it was free. All in all this hotel is a very good value in a beautiful town where good value is hard to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear roosterlaw,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We certainly consider our property a hotel, with full service staff, bell service, free breakfast, free parking, free local and LD calls, free wireless internet, airport transportation, 300 thread count sheets, I Pad docking stations, double pillow top mattresses, flat screen TV's with HD programming, complimentary bikes, afternoon BBQ's and receptions, pool, hot tub and much more. I'm certain that you would not find these amenities at a "motel" Also - our breakfast features scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit, pastries, pancakes, cold cuts, oatmeal, juice, coffee, cereal, tea, yogurt and more. I think this would qualify as more than a "continental" breakfast. All of this at a price that is usually half of what many of our competitors charge.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to have you back with us for a future visit.

Regards,
Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing