We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel (but expensive)”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 4-July-2008. Nice, but expensive.

Since it was a holiday weekend, the hotel price/rate was quite expensive (nearly $300/night). It is an older building with wall air conditioners, but they try to make up for the building age by providing nice, modern, quality furnishings. However, there may be some electrical problems as the power in our room would go out about every 5 minutes when the air conditioner was on. We would have to call the front desk to get them to flip the circuit breaker to bring the power back. This only seemed to happen during the daytime and we didn't have any problems at night (probably because we weren't using the air conditioner).

There were 2 queen beds in our room with soft, comfortable mattresses and bed linens. There was also a flat screen TV and small kitchenette with a mini-fridge, sink, and coffee maker. Our room also had a balconey, but the view was of the building across the sidewalk - nothing to speak of.

The bathroom was a bit small, but functional. They also provided some very nice towels (soft, thick, and absorbant) and "gilcrest and soams" products. Unfortunately, the toilet didn't flush well and it usually would require 2 flushes. The bath also didn't have an exhaust fan, so it would get quite steamy during a shower.

The continental breakfast in the morning is fairly standard - bagels, toast, pastries, fruit, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, etc. No hot items other than the make-your-own waffles that a lot of places seem to have these days. Since I'm not a big breakfast person, it was fine.

Overall this is a nice place and probably worth a lower price on a non-holiday period. The location is great (right on the main street a couple of blocks from some very nice restaurants and shops) and the staff is quite friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talaga_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 515 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

Let me begin by saying that I did not actually stay at the Hotel Aspen. However, I was supposed to stay there during the extremely busy holiday season. This meant that when I booked my room it was during the cancellation time period (30 days) - in other words my card was charged immediately even though my stay wasn't scheduled for another 2 weeks.

Long story short, unforeseen circumstances arose and I had to cancel my stay, which technically I couldn't do. However, after pleading my case with a very helpful and friendly voice over the phone, it was determined that if the room rented then my money would be refunded ($500+ per night). I promptly decided that probably wouldn't ever happen and forgot all about the ordeal until a day after my former reservation date. I received a call from the Hotel Aspen - the same friendly guy who helped me in the first place letting me know they had been able to rent the room and were refunding my money in full.

He made my day! And I'll definitely be looking forward to staying at the Hotel Aspen in the future.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank RLWilwerding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Spent a week for skiing and loved it. The updates are nice, the beds are comfortable, and complimentary breakfast and happy hour is great. No, the food wasn't to die for but that's what all the great restaurants are for in town - and you can afford them because you're paying half the price of the other places nearby. It is a lodge, not a hotel, so be prepared for a room with its own entrance to the outside - ideal for skiing as you don't have to leave your equipment outside of your room. We love it, and will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willr0bins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

I booked a room for the weekend in hopes for a relaxing weekend with my family. Because we travel with our dogs, we chose this hotel because it's one of a few in the area that allow dogs. When I made my reservation, I requested a Deluxe King room on the first floor, and the person on the phone confirmed my reservation for this. I also confirmed that they had wifi available so I could use the internet, as internet access would be required for me to meet other obligations while I was away.

What I got, was a room on the second floor (supposedly a Deluxe King, but mine did not have the sitting area or patio), an empty promise from the check-in clerk that he was going to find me a room on the first floor (didn't happen), no wifi (and extremely bad help from their provider, amerispot) and empty promises (again) from the clerk that he was going to help resolve it. The bathroom was pretty disgusting, from the broken tiles to the moldy bath tub (which looked nothing like the one on the web site). The bed was nice, and we managed to have a good time anyway, but there's no way I'd ever go back to this hotel. I haven't stayed in any of the other hotels in the area, but I would suggest that this one only be used as a last resort.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gwrColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2008

We are sorry for the problems with out internet, since your stay we have added 4 additional wireless access points and our provider has been very attentive to our guests needs.

We are glad you enjoyed our bedding package, considerable time and energy was spent in selecting the most comfortable linens, down comforter, and pillows. In addition to our heavy terry package.

All of the bathroom tile was recently replaced, as well as new vanities and fixtures throughout the hotel. The bathrooms have now been fully renovated and we hope that if you visit Aspen, you will give the Hotel Aspen another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We arrived in Aspen on October 3rd intending to look at a few hotels before booking one, but were convinced once we saw the rooms at Hotel Aspen. They have obviously been renovated and although a bit dark (our room was on the first floor), was clean and modern. They had great bed linens, towels, robes and even a DVD player. We had a small kitchenette in the room with a sink and fridge, which was nice. The room rate also included breakfast and free high speed internet. All and all for the time of year, this was a great choice. It was a nice location and had good amenities.

A couple complaints were that we were over charged for our room (they did fix that during check out). The staff did not seem knowledgeable about the area, or rather didn't want to take the time to discuss it with us. Also, when we checked in we weren’t told that there was a free breakfast. We stumbled across it and it turned out to be a nice breakfast for a hotel, but would have missed it.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people used to traveling on a budget, but want a nice place to stay. It was a great find for the area, but is definitely not the newest hotel out there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LSW-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

The room was very good size, with an internal balcony.It had a sink, free dvds for tv, and comfortable beds. It was quiet, although near the road. The bathroom could do with freshening up. the breakfast was quite good.We could walk to town centre.Would return.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank dobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank edmilson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: 110 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1710
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range: $134 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing