We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walking location close to Aspen”
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Seven months before our trip we booked, through Expedia, a room with two double beds at the Hotel Durant. In the month before we went, we re-visited the booking and added a second room so that we all had our own bed. Just as well we did, as on arrival we found we had been allocated a King Bed in one room and a queen room in another, far from what was originally bought. I appreciate that the allocation is at the Hotels discretion, but why would we buy a room with two double beds? Simple, we had 2 adults and two small children and 1 adult planned with i child in each. The hotel was recently fully renovated and is really suited for couples, not children. The phones were like a prop on a set, not connected. The Hotel suited our needs and was comfortable et cetera with a basic free breakfast and a small spa on the deck. The only tip I would make would be to confirm the bedding configuration required and make it a condition of the booking, then ask for a confirmation to be sent to you. At about $300 per night, per room, they could have at least informed us what allocation had been made.

Room Tip: Have the hotel confirm your bedding configuration ( if it matters to you). The higher floors (not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 6 nights over New Year in two rooms on the third floor in this newly renovated Hotel. Very fresh and nice (a tiny bathroom in one of the rooms, but not a big deal).
Location is perfect, a short walking distance to the main Ski Shuttle Bus Station. In the afternoon all Ski Buses stop at Lift 1 in "Aspen Mountain" which is right in front of the Hotel.
A continental breakfast is included with fresh bread and cakes from the bakery, and complementary wine, cheese and cookies in the afternoon.
Cynthia and Brian were welcoming, super friendly and very helpful to us.
I truly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Refurbished in December 2013, the hotel is presented at a very high standard. Location in our view is unbeatable, close to restaurants, bus stop and a short walk to the gondola, but in a very quiet spot. Service was terrific - thank you especially to Daniel, Cynthia and Brian - and we found the stay to be excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one on second and one on third, both were just refurbished to an excellent standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLW_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

They have fully renovated the hotel inside and outside. Really fantastic job guys! New rooms, new lobby, new jacuzzi just all is new and really remodeled with an eye for the details.
Complementary happy hour wine and cheese and a really good breakfast as well as
the warm welcome and friendliness of the employees contribute to just a fantastic stay the week before xmas.
Highly recommend to book this hotel if you are looking for an amazing experience in Aspen - almost impossible to get a higher value for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would have given this hotel an EXCELLENT rating if not for the out-dated-ness...WHICH is going away.....renovations started the day we left!!

First of all, we booked this hotel for a JUNE date, and had to cancel. Despite the 'no-refund' policy, Brian told us we could use our deposits towards a future stay.,,,,which we did. He then bent over backwards to fit us in on the last night, AND even upgraded our rooms!

The gal upon arrival was so friendly and knowledgeable, and our rooms were fine! What is soooo great about this hotel:

Location, location, location...........walking distance to EVERYTHING!!!!
Beds were comfy, everything worked, fabulous shower (albeit bathroom a bit small, but???)
Didn't try the outside Jacuzzi, but others were enjoying it.
Rooms with balcony had great balconies...new, trex, with lots of room.
NOT pretentious....just down-home GOOD!

In the morning, spent some time talking with another staff member..........again super-friendly, and knowledgeable!

I would go back to this place AGAIN and AGAIN! I never met Brian, owner, but everyone had great things to say about him, as well. I can't wait to see their renovations, and visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Durant several times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated and cozy, but the location, amenities, affordability and the staff make the place work. Updates include a new deck and hot tub. A very nice continental breakfast is included in the rate. If you want to visit Aspen, and leave with your wallet intact, give the Durant a try.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed, book a balcony room with a fabulous view of Ajax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProRecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Aspen to see Chris Isaac at the Belly Up. We stayed two nights. The room was quaint and comfortable. The staff was great! Friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was great! Excellent coffee, delicious pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. Very nicely done. The only drawback was PARKING!! Parking in Aspen is like trying to park an RV on the streets of New York City! We drove for hours before finally lucking out! Parking is a BIG problem, which is the only drawback to this lovely small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel guarantees you a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
522 reviews
1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $165 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing