We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exactly what I was seeking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was seeking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Needed a place to stay for one extra night in Aspen - Hotel Durant fit my bill perfectly. Convenient location close to a few different parks and about a five minute walk from the Gondola and downtown. Front desk/owner guy was super helpful about getting oriented, getting settled, and sharing information on what to do. Room was simple and clean, sheets were soft, bed was comfortable, and the water was hot. Embroidered robes were a nice touch. The wine and cheese reception and solid continental breakfast certainly added value to my brief stay. The thing that really earned the fifth star was the fact that after I checked out and checked my bags to go skiing for the day, I came back and because they had not made up my room yet, they let me back in (after I had checked out) to take a shower and get freshened up. I wouldn't necessarily expect that in high season, but it made all the difference for my flight back home that afternoon. Will definitely stay again next time I am in Aspen and would recommend to anyone looking for a reasonable place to stay in an expensive small town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
53
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in March, found this place the last minute and found it to be very clean and cosy and good value for money... Got the balcony room which was small but just enough for two people. The location was very good, close to restaurants and shops and there is free continental breakfast including bagels, pastries and cereal which was fine. Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay without the luxurious that other pricey hotels would offer....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apple055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Why do we go to Aspen? Skiing and Shopping, right? This hotel gets you in the heart of both... and adds in a little romance. This cozy hotel has a great little european style continental breakfast to get you ready for the slopes. When we came back from skiing there's some fresh baked cookies, cheese and wine... and a hot tub to soak our banged up bodies. It's small enough that you can get to know the other guests throughout your stay. A short walk and you're in the heart of Aspen shopping... great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel Durant is situated in a fantastic location near to the town centre, and directly opposite the drop off point for the ski bus which is great for avoiding having to struggle along walking in ski boots ! The hotel itself is clean and tidy however it is a bit dated. We had a superior room (201) which had plenty of space, however the mattress on the king size bed was definitely needing replaced as it collapsed in the middle which doesn't make for a comfortable night's sleep unfortunately.
The hot tub is fantastic, and the simple continental breakfast is good albeit an injection of some protein maybe in the form of boiled eggs or even a slice of bacon a couple of days a week would have been nice - we appreciate that the limited breakfast no doubt assists in keeping the cost down which is a bonus in Aspen where reasonably priced hotels are hard to come by.
The hotel does miss a boot room / dryer though and we had to store our ski boots in our bedroom which isn't ideal when your husband has smelly feet.....
The staff were all very helpful and my brother's bedlinen was changed immediately on request after the original feather duvet / pillows irritated his allergies.
The hotel isn't fancy or luxurious but we would recommend it as being good value for money in an expensive town !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter who was doing the Golden Leaf Half Marathon in Aspen. It was a 2 minute walk to the park where the race ended, so the location was good for that as well as the ease of getting into town. There are several good trails close by and we had a great visit. Rooms are cozy, but very comfortable and there is no additional charge for parking. It was also pleasant to sit outside with a beverage in the afternoon and meet some of the other guests. There is also a hot tub outside on the deck. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to stay here based on proximity of the hotel to the town (and ski lifts if you come during winter). We were greeted and educated by Cynthia, the delightful and ever so helpful desk person. She gave us a map, circled places of interest, based on our conversation with her, and even recommended a few great motorcycle rides since we're on a fall leaf tour on the bike. Our room is small, but more than sufficient. The entire atmosphere of the place made us feel very much at home (and dispelled our impression of Aspen as a snobbish place!). The hot tub was wonderful after a day of riding. The hotel is quiet, the linen sheets feel great, and the balcony looking up the slope is great. We strolled around town to galleries, shops and restaurants, all within blocks. Wonderful! I highly recommend Hotel Durant if you come to Aspen. Also, I AM a real traveler, not being paid to review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pajamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great hotel - such good value in a town where 'value' is generally ranked with names like Gucci and Chanel.
Rooms are charming, breakfast delicious, linen of excellent quality, a balcony to view the mountains and all for less than $165. But the 'biggest selling point' is the knowlege and quiet charm of the owner/front of house. Brian is a mine of information - from quality hikes, to which roads are driveable in an SUV and where to eat. He smiled and advised with old world courtesy to all of our (many) questions. The result........ our stay in Aspen was of the highest quality without the accompanying high price ticket. Thank you Brian.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#11 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing