We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value in Aspen”
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night on a road trip. We live in Denver and come to Aspen a lot and thus have stayed at most of the places in Aspen at one point. We were very impressed with this find. It is not high end but a small, comfortable, clean, very affordable hotel right in town with a very european and family ran feeling. I was especially happy when I arrived because there were freshly baked cookies, fruits, cheeses and tea for the guests. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and helpful. Our rooms were super clean and had everything we needed including a mini fridge and lots of pillows which we love (Note: the rooms are small, european style rooms). We were also happy to find out that our stay included a continental breakfast of pastries, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal fruit and coffee. We couldn't have asked for more for the price. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Think European small hotel. The rooms and baths are small, and lack glitz. But they are immaculate and well cared for. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is superb, just far enough from the hustle and bustle to avoid the hustle and bustle. Most rooms have a pleasant view, some have small balconies.

If you want space and amenities and a gourmet breakfast, this is not the place for you. If you want Aspen glitz, this is not the place for you. If you've stayed at places like this in Europe, and want a nice boutique hotel that's very reasonably priced for Aspen....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denverreviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We were very disappointed in this hotel. For $280 per night we expected much better. The rooms and lobby are pretty shabby and in need of updating and remodeling. The rooms are very small, with very little storage. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. On the positive side, the location is good, the beds were comfortable and our room was quiet. The staff and other guests were friendly and the hot tub was nice. They also have wine, cheese and cookies in the afternoon, but again just average. With a little effort this could be a much nicer property. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLuvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Taking 4 ski trips each year, we try to economize so chose the Durant..good location But after lugging our bags up to the second floor, found an austere, tired, tatty and patch-work setup, cramped,hokey, in no way comfortable. No way could we stay . , so we forfeited our deposit and moved down the street to the Mountain Chalet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I thought it was a shame some recent reviews were negative about this little gem in the mountains. I drove into Aspen for the first time and stopped at the tourist info office which booked me into the Hotel Durant. The location was perfect for walking into town and I had parking right out front. The room was comfy - loved having a robe - and the bed was great. Breakfast was yummy. It had a very European feel to it, and having living in Germany three years, it made me nostalgic! Only thing it needs is a St. Bernard wandering around... Hope to go back in the winter, if I can afford it then!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecd916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed in a balcony room for two nights and was VERY disappointed. The room was tiny, with barely room between the walls and the bed to get into bed! The bathroom (toilet and tub) was cramped, with broken floor tile and dirty grout in the shower and on the sink counter in the dressing area. The carpet looked 30 years old, as did the telephone. The balcony was nice, however, and the bed comfortable. The continental breakfast was OK, with good quality bagels and coffee. The best that can be said is that the front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. However, it was not worth what I paid for the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shampel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here for one night as part of a big tour of Colorado, Utah and Arizona. Denver is a trendy, expensive ski resort, and hotels don't come cheap, this one being no exception. Located near to designer shops and showy restaurants, but the rooms are tiny and well worn. Ours had a small balcony with views over other balconies and mountain beyond. The fridge in the room was noisy, and the room was very small, as was the en-suite (the vanity unit/basin is in the room, built into tatty base units). The complimentary continental breakfast had limited choice, but was adequate. On the plus side, ther is free parking outside and free wi-fi. It was great to see Aspen, but we won't be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1737
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $164 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing