We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable for Aspen, a rip off anywhere else in the world”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Acceptable for Aspen, a rip off anywhere else in the world”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

While this place isn't terrible, it's certainly far from great. My title pretty much says it all... We had a "Garden level" room, to me that means slightly below ground not basement, which is what their "Garden level" actually is. The property is old and showing it's age. It's obvious the owner isn't interested in truly renovating it, and instead keeps it up in a rather hap-hazard/ barely sufficient manner. I would approximate the room was about 10' by 12', literally just enough room to walk around the king sized bed. Furnishings are somewhat dilapidated. The bathroom was abysmal. Like another reviewer mentioned, the noise that resulted from turning on the light (and connected fan) gave you the impression a helicopter was landing in the bathroom. Shower was itty-bitty, think broom closet size. Next to the shower was the toilet, in just enough space for it to fit, and then the wall, there is no way that you could have the bathroom door open and open the shower door. There are only like 19 rooms at this place, and yet housekeeping was vacuuming at 7 am on Saturday, talking super loud, and knocking on our door shortly there after. Do not stay there if you are a light sleeper, or at least bring ear plugs with you!
The most this place has going for it is the friendly and helpful staff, and the patio hot tub, which was lovely on a cold, slightly rainy night.
Like my title says, anywhere else on earth this place is a rip off, in Aspen it's acceptable because it's a room with a bed and a bathroom with running water for under $300/night.

  • Liked — Friendly front desk staff, patio hot tub.
  • Disliked — Quality of the rooms, sixe of the rooms, bathrooms, noise, poorly managed ho
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
55
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

Hotel has excellent location. Staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was ok. Warm cookies in the afternoon. Rooms were VERY small. Bathroom was VERY small. You couldn't turn on the bathroom light without a VERY loud fan going on. Although we couldn't hear conversations in other rooms, you could hear toilets flushing and the lights turning on in bathrooms - not just the room closest to you. I am a somewhat light sleeper and it woke me up during the night - multiple times. Bed was comfortable and shower had good pressure. The water in the shower got somewhat hotter when someone else in the hotel flushed the toilet. For the money, i'd recommend seeing if there was another choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size and noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackandsuetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were very happy with our stay at the Durant. The room was smallish, but very comfortable. Terrycloth bathrobes in the closet. Excellent location. Just a two block walk to downtown.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasZuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

For a very expensive town, this was a great little hotel. Room was nothing special, but clean and well located. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Great value.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank BPinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton CO
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here one night...July 27th, 2007......booked the hotel on the basis of customer reviews on Trip Advisor. Noted on the website that only queen bed were available...called the hotel and was told they had three king-bedded rooms, so booked one.
The hotel looked okay from the outside, and the location close to the lifts would be great in the winter....however, the lobby looked a bit shopworn......the room was on the third floor (no elevator), was dim without much up-to date furniture, two straight-backed chairs on opposite walls for sitting, without side-tables or lamps to read by...tiny TV in the armoire too far from the bed for watching from bed......two small windows looking onto roof of building next door...tiny bathroom and shower, with minimal-sized towels and tiny soap bar. It reminded us of an old ski condo.
In it's favor, the room was clean with nice linens, but for $200.00 a night, we thought we overpaid.....however, this is Aspen in the summer!

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — nnot a very welcoming room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank romanylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

We were very pleased to have stayed at the Durant when we visited Aspen. Many of the other hotels looked awfully corporate, overblown and expensive. The Durant, in contrast is small-scale, friendly and reasonably priced.

We had a balcony room at the front of the hotel. Although the room was not large, that had its plusses and it was undeniably pleasant to sit out. But there was a good deal of noise through much of the night and the early morning from the town buses that nearly all seem to come past the hotel (ironically, the bus service in Aspen is excellent and we ended up using it after a few days). We might have a rear room on another occasion.

The desk staff were pleasant and the lounge is very welcoming. Breakfast is served there and, for a hotel like the Durant, while it's a simple breakfast, we enjoyed it and the breakfast ambiance, very much.

I would have given the hotel five stars (and would, like a shot, stay there again if I returned to Aspen) but I have knocked a point off for the difficulty in carting luggage up and down. There's no lift and no assistance. We did not seem to be only guests that struggled. It may seem trivial but it it means that arrival is a bit of a sweatier and less relaxed procedure than it ideally would be.

  • Liked — The cosiness and friendliness of it
  • Disliked — Traffic noise at the front, carrying cases.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

Fabulous property - amazing location, incredible value. Nice breakfasts, hot tub and friendly staff. All the other guests were so nice also. This is a great property and so good value. Rooms are small, but functional - who cares you are in Aspen ! Also close to the free bus to the slopes

  • Liked — location and all the people
  • Disliked — rooms quite small
  • Tips/Secrets — book either of the suites !
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewallscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#14 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing