We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beer flight”
Review of Hops Culture

Hops Culture
Ranked #19 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Hops Culture is an exciting new craft-beer focused restaurant-bar on Aspen's historic Hyman Mall. We feature over 200 domestic and imported craft beers (30 on tap!), 15 World-class wines by the glass, and an upscale American comfort food menu focused on gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, mac n' cheeses, huge gourmet salads and hearty soups. Indoor and outdoor seating!
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“beer flight”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

excellent beer selections make it a "hopping place" for an aftrenoon watching sports. Its a new place and I noticed in the evening it was not crowded. Better advertising will help and although I did not eat, a larger a specified food selection,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hops2014, Owner at Hops Culture, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
George - Thanks so much for your review. We've recently added a bunch of new menu items and are always working to adapt to guest feedback. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    94
    27
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. I went to HOPS a few times on a recent trip to aspen and enjoyed it every time. The staff are fantastic and seem to really love their jobs. They were knowledgable about the different types of beer and knew just what to recommend. The food is awesome. I LOVE their mac and cheese and the FIDEL sandwich is a MUST. I'm drooling just thinking of it. I also enjoyed the salads which were a good size for a meal and the spinach dip in a breadbox was unique, tasty and fun to eat. The trashy treats are perfect for a sweet tooth. The cider selection was also awesome and made the tastings fun for the non beer drinkers in our group. Will definitely be coming back to HOPS on my future trips to Aspen!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hops2014, Owner at Hops Culture, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks so much for the review. It takes every ounce of my willpower not to eat 5 Fidels each day! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We wished we had this in Ann Arbor! Lots of fun beers to choose from. The seats facing out to the street are really nice and a great place to grab a drink before a meal!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hops2014, Owner at Hops Culture, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
EmLogan:

Thanks so much for your review and feedback.
We're delighted you enjoyed the beer selection.
We're looking to grow quickly, so you never know - there may be a HOPS Culture in Ann Arbor soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of overpriced beer in a very pretentious Aspen environment”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

First, in the interest of full disclosure, let me begin by saying that I hate Aspen. The bright side of Aspen even existing is that all of the pretentious, haughty people all have a place to gather close together so they're not spread out all over Colorado.
That said, Hops Culture is perfect for the pretentious, haughty drinking crowd in Aspen. They do have a decent beer selection but, at least in my mind, beer is not meant to be highlighted in a setting that includes $15.00 mac and cheese entrees. The building itself is very sterile and upscale (welcome to Aspen), so we decided to sit outside on the "walking mall" to enjoy our overpriced beers. The outside area is right in the middle of the mall, which is beautiful and shaded and great for people watching, but is so packed with tables and people and all of their belongings that you can hardly move. The outside area is so tight and crowded that it makes you feel like you're being smuggled across the border with a truck full of Kardashians. Nobody in our group enjoyed this place at all, so we paid out after 2 beers and walked down the mall to Little Annie's Eating House for dinner and more beers. That turned out to be an excellent choice that was suggested by one of our servers, who was too nice to be working at Hops Culture and understood our plight.
In conclusion, if you hate Aspen, you'll really hate this place. If you're one of the Aspen people, you'll probably love it and that's good. Please stay close together.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoky_Mtns_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hops2014, Owner at Hops Culture, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Smoky_mtns_traveler:

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience in Aspen or at HOPS Culture.
We strive to be one of the most casual and affordable bar-restaurants in Aspen so we're quite surprised to hear your reaction. We offer an enormous range of over 200 beers, from $6 and up. Many of our guests have remarked that they're surprised we're able to offer many of the beers they're familiar with from their hometowns at exactly the same prices as at home, despite our location in high-rent Aspen.
We do hope that you'll give Aspen and HOPS Culture another chance. It's a town that's greatly loved by most everyone that visits and lives here.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Served properly”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great tasting beers, delicious deviled eggs with chorizo. This bar is really clean and pleasing to the eye. The outdoor area was nice for people watching.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hops2014, Owner at Hops Culture, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed the design and the Chorizo deviled eggs in the Beer Garden. We can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hops Culture also viewed

 

Been to Hops Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing