We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family vacation”
Review of Hyatt Grand Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing family vacation”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just returned from a week's stay at the Hyatt in Aspen. The accommodations are top notch, uber-comfortable beds, great towels and robes. The Hyatt is such a great location, right next to the outdoor ice rink (not open in summer, of course), so only one block from the Aspen mountain gondola and Starbucks. Two block walk to City Market full grocery store. We prepared dinner in our condo/room each night, the Viking appliances were wonderful. Our kids spent every afternoon in the pool, and several days during our stay the hotel staff offered free popsicles to guest by the pool.
The complimentary continental breakfast is such a plus with small children, and the breakfast area converted into a cozy bar in the evenings.
The hotel staff is efficient and friendly!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephiNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    35
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
76
94
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

From the in-room steam showers, to the heated pool deck, to the beautiful views we had of downtown Aspen, this resort is top notch in all aspects. Helpful staff, nice free continental breakfast, enjoyable entertainment in the lounge and perfect location in Aspen. Our unit had wonderful little (and big) extras to include substantial granite throughout the unit and Viking appliances in the kitchen, from the range to the refrigerator and microwave.
I felt like I was relaxing at a spa all week long. I had a particularly beautiful evening, sitting in the outdoor spa, temperature just below 32 degrees, no wind, and large silver-dollar snowflakes floating down around me. Remember the movie “Kill Bill” when Uma Thurman chases Lucy Lui into the tea garden at night? With the water flowing peacefully in the stream as snowflakes drifted downward? It was as if the movie was based upon this moment.
Downside? Aspen is small, and there are only so many good restaurants there. Matsuhisa and Jimmy’s are great for dinner, but I’ve had plenty of bad experiences looking for lunch. By far the worst restaurant in all of Aspen has to be Oy Vey Jewish Deli. They have a very small menu and only half of the menu available – the worst half. We were the only customers there with the exception of the owner/manager, who was sitting in the corner eating and sharing with staff sushi from some other restaurant – good choice, I wish I had done the same.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radworkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Hyatt Grand Aspen has a lot going for it....location is wonderful for walking around Aspen. There is a breakfast buffet, which has decent coffee and so so food. The hotel is fairly quiet. There is a small pool, jacuzzi and weight room. It's certainly not the St. Regis as far as grounds, but it is right next door. My only complaint is that while the rooms are well appointed, they are poorly lit and too warm. I had to set the a/c at 68 to get through the night. The two occasions I have visited were in June..down comforters and mattress pads are great in the winter months, but please take them off for the summer months.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBee53060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

You enter a beautiful lobby, are greeted by very friendly staff, then walk down a hallway that smells of mildew into a room (studio) which is poorly lit. The good: bed comfortable, pool wonderful, great staff. The bad: not enough light, noise carries between rooms easily, amazingly substandard breakfast (a couple of cold cereals, instant oatmeal, stale rolls, apples and oranges only fruit). Very disappointing for a Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonWoodduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I are members of the Hyatt Vacation Club and used our remaining points to stay in a studio bedroom at the end of March. We didn't know what to expect as studio pictures/room description are not included on Hyatt's website. We were so pleasantly surprised!! The studio was beautiful with king-size bed, corner fireplace, and bar area that included a mini-frig, microwave oven, and bar sink. Best sleeping bed ever with feather mattress pad and luxurious feather comforter & pillows! The studios do not have balconies but our room had a small table with 2 chairs directly in front of windows with outstanding view of down town and the mountains. The bathroom was roomy with walk-in shower but the tub is not a whirlpool since it is a studio. All in all we found the studio to be surprising spacious and extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

As first timers to the Hyatt Aspen we found that this hotel lived up to the hype and the Hyatt brand. Perfect location just one block from the gondola and across the road from the bus terminal. Better still, book a seat on the Hyatt shuttle to either Buttermilk, Snowmass or Highlands and they will even take you home. Rooms were very luxurious and beautifully appointed with twice daily maid service. Kids loved the pool area and managed to toast marshmallows by the fire pit! Roger and his team, including the ski valet staff, were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. They truly made us feel like we were at home. We will be back. Thanks again Roger for everything!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australiantripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The hotel called ahead of time to see if we needed anything. We asked if we could be picked up at the Aspen airport and sure enough someone was there on time to get us when we arrived.It was a short 15 minute drive to the hotel. The person who drove us took our bags up to the room for us. We had rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit for the week. The hardwood floors in the room were beautiful. There was a big coat closet when we first walked into the unit. Our bedroom with King size bed had a fireplace and a flat screen TV and a seating area with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom had a shower and a separate bath tub, a double sink and there was a tv in the bathroom. We also had a huge walk in closet.
Our friends room had a Queen bed. They had no windows in the room and the doors to their room were like closet doors. They also had a Flat screen TV and they had a bathroom with a steam shower and a jacuzzi tub. Then in another room they had a separate toilet room with additional sink.
There was a sleeper couch in the living room with another flat screen TV and a fireplace.
The living area had 2 sets of glass doors to a walk out porch.
We had daily cleaning service that was incredible. They also replaced the soap and shampoo every day and even left us a small tube of toothpaste. Every evening they had turn down service and left us some chocolate.
They had free shuttle service from the hotel that took us to the Snowmass ski mountain and the Cross Country ski center.
The ski rental shop in the hotel kept our skis and boots for us overnight. The shuttle bus picked us up right outside the door of the shop.
We used the fitness center and it had all the machines that we needed.
Every morning there was a free breakfast downstairs.
The concierge recommended that we try the L'Hosteria restaurant and it was excellent. We were able to walk there and back.
All the shops and restaurants were in walking distance and we were also able to walk to the grocery store to get our groceries. Aspen is a cute town to walk around.
Our kitchen had all the top appliances including a wood panel fridge & dishwasher and a small flat screen tv. There were plenty of dishes and glasses and we were able to cook our own meals several nights.
We had a dining table that could seat 8 people as well as a kitchen counter that could seat 3. There was also a wine cooler near the counter.
There was a washer and dryer in our unit. Our only complaint is that the dryer did not work well but there were some washer dryers in a room in the hall that worked very well and we used those. The hotel provided the washer soap and fabric softener sheets.
The hotel also had regular and decaf coffee on the kitchen counter as well as salt and pepper.
We had a view from our window that faced Aspen mountain and we could see the skiers coming down. Although we could have just walked over to Aspen mountain to ski we took the 20 minute free shuttle ride to Snowmass Mountain where we skied off the Gondola side and had excellent conditions. Snowmass is more family friendly and less challenging than Aspen Mountain. After skiing we were able to sit outside at Sneakys tavern at the bottom of the mountain and have a beer. It was in the 30's out but they get a lot of sun in the afternoon so it was warm enough.
There was very little I could improve on at this hotel. The only thing I might suggest is that because many people do their own cooking in the units they should provide the rooms with recyclable bins. Also, the beds have pillow top mattresses, which is a little too soft for me.
I understand they charge for parking a car but we did not need a car while we were there.
We also had free internet service which was a big plus for us since we were able to do some business on our lap tops.
I give this place 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#2 of 34 in Aspen
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Grand Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Grand Aspen

Property: Hyatt Grand Aspen
Address: 415 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1809
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Grand Aspen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Grand Aspen is a Residential property that also rents rooms as a typical hotel would. Keep in mind that as we are not a typical hotel some services are not provided such as room service, or a spa. What is provided is a first class property with beautifully appointed, immaculate rooms in a relaxed, home-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Grand Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Aspen Hotel Aspen
Hyatt Aspen
Aspen Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing