We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aspen at its best!”

The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aspen's iconic J-Bar (short for "Jerome Bar") remains the town's social hot spot, with its lively yet casual dining atmosphere. Ski bums, socialites, cowboys and luminaries - from members of the Tenth Mountain Division to the late Hunter S.Thompson gather at this authentic bar for an hint of the Old West. Sit down, relax, and enjoy a beer, vintage-inspired cocktails and light dining fare for lunch or dinner. And don't pass on Aspen's best burger.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Aspen at its best!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the authentic Aspen experience. From the minute you step foot into Jerome Wheeler's hotel, it is like stepping back into the boom days of 19th Century Aspen, where silver was king and the railroads were suddenly making making the massive open areas in the American West accessible to the rest of the country and attractive to those with the courage and ambition to set out and test the unknown.

The staff is always attentive and friendly. Our waiter on Friday evening made us sidecars, even though they were not on the menu. One of the other guys who worked at the bar came over and talked to us and actually thanked us for giving him the opportunity to learn how to make a sidecar - super nice guy. I hate to say it, but these were actually better than the ones we get at the Broadmoor - and the sidecar was Spencer Penrose's favorite drink!

Our waiter was very friendly as well, asking us where we were from and having a polite conversation. I could tell that providing good service was absolutely top of mind for him.

Even if you are not staying at the Hotel Jerome, it is a must see for any visitor to Aspen. There are a couple other great places to eat and have drinks in the hotel besides the J-Bar. Any one of those dining options is absolutely first class.

Thank you to all of the staff at the Jerome for being awesome!

I've posted the same review on Yelp.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_80202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    143
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Travel "Moment"”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This review is slow in getting posted, but I wanted to make sure we still did it. My wife and I visited the J Bar in mid-June, just at the end of the "off season". We had read about the J Bar in Tripadvisor and planned to go there for drinks and a casual dinner. The bar itself is something of a classy throwback to older times, with the bar itself being an original from over 100 years ago. Our food was very good - a couple of recommended sandwiches and an excellent soup of the day. We would have given it a five-star rating just with that. However, what made it special was the people who worked there: manager - Ryan, server - Miles, and mixologist - Mattais. What makes travel special to us is that somewhat rare but special experience when something happens that takes your trip to a different level. We call it a "moment". We had such an experience with the staff, who all went out of their way to make our visit extra special. Miles visited with us and shared local info and personal experiences, Mattais actually came to our table several times to see just what we might like in the way of our drinks (my wife asked for suggestions) and Ryan stopped by several times to see how we were doing. We felt as if we were dining and drinking with friends. Mattais not only came by to see what we might like for our drinks, but crafted them with special touches (like my wife's name spelled out on top of her drink).... and came back to make sure we liked them. (We did!) Miles not only gave us some tips on good hiking trails, but arranged with a friend of his at the hotel to give us a tour when we finished. (We were staying elsewhere.) Service that is "above and beyond" high standards occurs from time to time, but such service coupled with personal touches and a sense of camaraderie is rare - and gave us that special "moment" that was the highlight of our two-week vacation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great meal at the end of an amazing day in Aspen!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautifully restored historic bar and hotel. Perfectly cooked burgers and fantastic specialty drink "the Aspen Crud" as well as tap beers, were a fitting end to our amazing day hiking in the incomparable Maroon Bells.. They were short on wait staff this particular afternoon, but our waitress was very friendly and in such a gorgeous location we didn't mind the wait and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A definite must do again the next time we are in Aspen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Bartenders are awesome. Bartenders are amazing.
Drinks featured were great. Food is delicious......

Helpful?
Thank JYNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for luch”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stopped in to look at the hotel and decided to have lunch outside on the patio. It was a beautiful day and it was busy. We decided to split an tacos appetizer and cod sandwich. The food was plentiful and great. We would definitely eat there again! And if we were to stay in Aspen, we would be interested in staying in the hotel, very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotInKansasToto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome also viewed

 

Been to The J-Bar at the Hotel Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing