We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Service & Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Tavern

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Came to Aspen on business and met a contact at this restaurant for a 'working' lunch. If the weather is nice try to get a spot on the deck, the view of downtown Aspen and Ajax looks like a postcard! At our table we had the steak salad, kale salad and chicken sandwich. The portions are HUGE and our server was not pushy, giving us plenty of time to chat before we put in our order. She checked back on us regularly and was always helpful, never intrusive. Pop into the washroom and check out the inside of the restaurant, done in darker wood and rich, deep tones. The bar was full the entire time we ate but it looked like they had a great selection of craft Colorado beer and liquor. Menu selections tend to the healthier side of things but are in no way 'rabbit' food. You can dine on the occasional fried item found on the menu. Bon Appetite!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    222
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great little restaurant with the perfect atmosphere for a casual dining experience. The chicken sandwich was divine, as was the Macho Salad. Great and friendly service, too. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cinq-a-sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Small Menu Big Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

They only have about 10 items total on the menu but what they do have they do VERY well. It is quick and casual and located in the middle core of Aspen. It is owned/managed by the same group that owns the Houstons chain. I had the prime rib beef dip and it was as good or better than the ones you get in a Houston's Restaurant. The burgers looked incredible as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojo Caliente, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great casual food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

One of the few places open in Aspen in off season, we ate here twice in one week. The atmosphere is great. Nice bar indoors and seating outside. Good cocktails and beer on tap. We tried the fish sandwich, burger, fries and kale salad. The salad and burger were out of this world. A little too much breading on the fish for our tastes but the fish was good. Servers were friendly and accommodating. A do over.

Helpful?
Thank jnj182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Prime Rib Sandwich is so good. We started with a Kale Salad which was a delight. They do not take reservations. A fun place to have some comfort food. The décor is lovely.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveltattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing