We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and huge servings”

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location and huge servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a small but awesome little eatery. Right downtown aspen with great location. Lunch portions are huge- split the hamburger or sandwich - they serve 2 . Great beer on draft and nice staff - very helpful. Try the Kale salad - with peanut sauce- together with a fresh burger- hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    222
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Food is amazing but pricey, par for the course in down town Aspen. Here it's worth the money. excellent remodel, gorgeous setting. Chicken sandwich is to die for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cougarcubkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited in October 2013 and had an excellent chicken sandwich. The staff were friendly and the prices were reasonable considering that this was a gourmet sandwich - well worth the price at around $15. Wish that there was a larger beer selection, but Aspen Brewing Company is located right next door.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank urbinato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite meals!! We started w dip trio. I had salad and hubby had chicken sandwich. Small menu but perfectly executed!

Helpful?
Thank Roxie0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Kudos to Lisa and Andy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Cannot say enough about this fabulous place! We had a day to stroll around Aspen and looked up TripAdvisor for lunch recommendations. The White House looked good and one of the shopkeepers confirmed that this was THE place for lunch. Several people were waiting for a table but Andy offered us two seats at the end of the bar. We had the best seats in the house! We watched Lisa, the head chef, and her staff prepare an unbelievable number of plates in a tiny space. They were a symphony of cooks, dancing around each other in their own special rhythm. And the food was FABULOUS. My husband had a wonderful steak sandwich and I have never had a salad so perfectly designed with so many wonderful fresh ingredients. Probably the best lunch experience we have ever had. We met Lisa and Andy as we were leaving and were able to tell them about our experience. They were super nice to us, perfect strangers who wandered in to their establishment, and their enthusiasm for what they have developed was obvious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing