We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, delicious food”

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy place, delicious food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a must try while in Aspen. The resturant is very cozy and comfortable. The food is great. I had the macho salad without chicken and it was awesome, loved the dates in the salad as well as corn bread croutons. My husband had the French dip au jus and he also really enjoyed his meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NutritiousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    232
    44
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two words: Kale Salad”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Usually I like to try a variety of restaurants on vacation and don't visit the same place twice. Not true for The White House Tavern. I have obsessed over re-creating their kale salad at home. Everything else is great too. You can't go wrong with any of the sandwiches. Great cocktails too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful fall lunch in aspen”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great lunch here. on the down side, my only complaint would be that we waited a good 5 minutes before being recognized by our server, while the table of locals seated after us got immediate attention. The food was great however, with a limited menu. My burger was terrific, cooked perfectly to my liking, my husband loved his grouper sandwich, as did our friend, and his wife, a vegetarian, loved her torta sandwich. Everyone loved the on site made torta bread. The place was crowded,bu after being recognized and placing our order the food came out fairly quickly, which I was concerned about because although it looks like there is a prep kitchen in back, my kitchen at home is bigger than the hot kitchen. All in all, thanks to TripAdvisor's recommendations, a great lunch for a day trip of fall leaf viewing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went there for lunch and had the Kale salad and French dip. They were excellent. Good food and very friendly service. We ate outside as it was a beautiful day and had a very enjoyable lunch. It is priced about normal for Aspen. Everything is Aspen is high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLRedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Best burger in town!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice, small tavern....yes, truly a tavern. Limited menu, not as expensive as most of the neighboring restaurants. Some interesting and GOOD items on the menu, and the BESTburger I've EVER had.

Try the kale salad if you like a little 'spice'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing