We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine's Day Dinner!”

Pine Creek Cookhouse
Ranked #23 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's Day Dinner!”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

For Valentine's Day my boyfriend arranged for us to cross-country ski to the Pine Creek Cookhouse for dinner and it made for the perfect evening! From the friendly staff to help us with our equipment, to the beautiful trail out to the cookhouse and ending with a truly delicious meal, everything was wonderful! The kitchen did a great job with each course and the staff were very attentive throughout the evening. The atmosphere was a true "Aspen" experience and I can't wait to go back for lunch to see it in the daytime!
Also, if you would prefer a different way of getting there, you can take a horse-drawn sleigh or snowshoe.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank kdebesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    46
    19
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
“Special time- Special Place”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We bicycled up the long scenic road to an idyllic setting as only the Aspen area can offer. The sunny patio was warm and the service was friendly and attentive. We were not rushed and lingered over our food and wine for most of the afternoon.

It is such a special place. The staff is so attentive and the food so delicious you can't help but relax, lean back and enjoy the view. It was a high point of my Aspen visit.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendalou97504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Save your money! And don't get the kid's meals!”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The -14 degree weather was the highlight of our New Year's dinner!
This was the second time we have been to this restaurant and were excited to reserve the night-time sleigh ride...despite the $100 per person cost. We were told that our toddler would be free as long as she did not take up a seat on the sleigh. We arrived, completely frozen, to their beautiful building and warm fire. The appetizer's were delicious but barely big enough for a mouse to nibble on, not a party of 5. We ordered drinks and were presented with a kid's menu for our 3 year old. The usual fare for kids was on there but we were happy to see that it also included Buffalo. She wanted Buffalo and 2 others in our party ordered off menu specials (Farrow Deer) at an extra $26 each. I ordered chicken and another member ordered the Buffalo as well. The Farrow deer was interesting with a liver aftertaste, all the Buffalo was over cooked and my Chicken was dry and not nearly as exciting as it sounded on the menu. Our child only took 2 bites of her meal and preferred to eat off my plate. We were then given the 10 minute notice for our sleigh...but the sleigh showed up in 5 minutes right as we were getting our dessert. We were the first table to get there and the last to be served dinner and dessert. The check was presented to us as we were frantically trying to get our child dressed again for the cold weather ride down the hill. Instead of keeping all members of the sleigh indoors where it was warm until everyone was ready, 3 of us held up the sleigh of 20 just trying to pay the bill. They were rushing us out the door so fast that all I had time to look at was the extraordinary cost of the meal...$726!!! No time to read anything but the total or even dispute it. When we got home that night we had a chance to thoroughly read the bill. We were charged a full $35 for the sleigh ride for our kid and $65 for a kid's meal! It's hard to imagine that they would actually consider charging someone $65 for mac-n-cheese or chicken strips. It's even labeled on the bill as "Kid's Sleigh" and "Kid's Meal". What's kid's about it? We called to talk to the manager about the desrepency between what we were told when we made the reservation and the actual cost of our child and are still waiting for a call back...4 days later. Their initial response to our questions and statements was "You're paying for the experience." At $726 for 4 adults and a child, I can think of other experiences I would rather have than so-so food and a $65 kid's meal!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mudpuppy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Erractic Service, average food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have been a number of times and always wonder why we go back, but it is because the atmosphere, location and experience is woderful. In summer, the service is good, but in the winter when people arrive in a group on the sleigh, the service can be really slow. Don't order dessert as you may have them annoucing the sleigh is leaving just as it is brought to your table. Dont order a special without asking the price.
Most of the time, the food is good.
The setting is really great and the sleigh ride is a real treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VillageTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Good, Bad, and Real Ugly"”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Good - Great atmosphere, great sleigh ride (or choose to ski which is well worth it), and the Elk entree was fantastic

Bad and Ugly- Now we had almost ten people with us, honestly other than the elk, the food was a disaster. We have been here several times before and expected the same great experience. I have no idea if they have a new chef or new mgmt, but the food was awful. The lasagna was a miss, the pork was WAY undercooked, the chicken was in a sauce that completely overpowered it, and the appetizers were all left on the table once sampled. The kids meals were crazy expensive and were mere frozen pizzas and simple mac and cheese. The dessert was supposed to be a warm brownie sundae. Instead a cold brownie was served with tasteless freezer burned ice cream.

You simply cannot beat the atmosphere and experience this restaurant could provide. How they missed it on SOOOO many levels in regards to the food is beyond me. I want to go back someday, but something has to change. This could not have been an off chance miss. Something is fundamentally wrong that need a fix. (I suspect it is the chef)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Creek Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pine Creek Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing