We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Explore Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Explore Bistro
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Horrible atmosphere and horrible food. The food is terribly overpriced and not worth the money! Worst restaurant ever!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YoyoGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely food and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Took a break from roughing it in the nearby Maroon Bells campground (hiking and mountain biking) to enjoy a leisurely lunch at the Pyramid Bistro upstairs in the Explore Bookstore.

They serve delicious creative food crafted from excellent ingredients. My friend and I had a tough time deciding on our selections because EVERYTHING sounded great, and we both loved our soups and salads (menu items change depending on what's fresh). Most everything was vegetarian, even vegan, but I believe omnivores wouldn't necessarily notice.

We originally sat in the tiny but beautiful patio in the trees, but moved inside the beautifully windowed dining area and had tea, coffee, and dessert to wait out a rain shower that hit as we were finishing up. Staff was friendly and professional.

The prices were a tiny bit high, but the food quality, service, and setting were excellent. Also, what isn't pricey in Aspen?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
345 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients and made from scratch take on new meaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Now called Pyramid Bistro, chef/owner Martin brings his serious credentials to what formerly was known as the Explore Bistro-which he purchased from the Wileys. Don't expect a thick steak and fries here, this is primarily an organic, vegetarian restaurant with infrequently encountered ingredients artfully combined. We started with Truffle Ravioli for an appetizer-beautful presentation and loaded with wholesome ingredients. The Thai Curry soup was a bit too spicy for my wife and me, but that's our problem, I guess. A Kale Berry salad was delicious and filling , though, again, far different from standard salads served. We enjoyed a Sweet Potato Lasagna and this again required some imagination as it was totally different from any lasagna I have eaten. We concluded with a Chocolate Torte and our plans to bring part home failed as it melted in our mouths. This is a true gourmet experience but you have to be openminded and forget how you are used to eating a certain dish. When we left, we felt well sated, but not sick from overeating rich food as happens all too often. Martin is a skilled chef and is a true rarity. Prices are low for overpriced Aspen and portions are ample for sharing.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We went twice. The first time we were impressed, especially given the comparatively low prices for Aspen. The second visit was disappointing, They were a bit crowded and it seemed more than they could handle. The food on the second occasion was disappointing.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully complex meals in a simple decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

The food is impeccably presented in generous portions. As a vegan (mostly) it can be tough to find great food when travelling. All the dishes are tasty and there are a couple of options for the non-vegetarian that my spouse enjoyed as well. You can't go wrong here and it's as good as any non-vegetarian restaurant in Aspen. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allonsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing