We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for casual dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #23 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mezzaluna, meaning “half-moon” in Italian, is an independent, locally owned and operated restaurant serving modern Italian cuisine in Aspen. Our large Italian marble bar and our beautiful patio are key features of our restaurant, and our wood-burning pizza oven helps create an authentic atmosphere. We serve lunch, après ski and dinner, with daily food and wine specials. Aspen's favorite Italian for over twernty years and with Aspen's only wood-burning pizza oven. Fresh salads, tasty appetizers, pastas, fresh seafood daily and classic favorites like chicken marsala, veal piccata and pepper-seared beef tenderloin. Our horseshoe-shaped Italian marble bar is right in the center of the action. Our walls are adorned with over 100 pieces of original Italian art, and our patio is open for outdoor dining in the Fall, Spring and Summer.
Springfield
Level Contributor
133 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place for casual dinner”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Six of us had a midweek dinner here. All got pizza and salads. The pizza was good but the salads below average. Phil the wine guy was very knowledgeable and the wine list was very good. A good dinner and time was had by all but the food was not as good as some of the other places we dined this week. The service, however, was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    150
    65
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dinner last night was delicious. Four of us, two adults and two kids, arrived at 6:30 without reservations. Fortunately for us there were still seats available outdoors. Indoors was very pretty as well and the doors were wide open with big picture windows looking out but we enjoyed sitting outside under a shaded patio. They gave us a nice selection of bread items while we waited. Our waiter was not an outwardly friendly man like some of the other waiters around us but he was attentive and did an excellent job. He also didn't balk at my request for specific types of bread after our meal, which I appreciated. My son and I shared the spinach fettuccine with lump crab in a light lemon sauce. The presentation and quality of food was great. Besides the slightly large bits of lemon rind in my sauce I really enjoyed it. My husband had the gargenelli pasta with chicken. He said it was delicious but I didn't like it as much as mine. My daughter just had plain penne with butter and the noodles were cooked perfectly. For the quality of food we received the prices were very fair. The portions could be just a tad bit bigger but overall we had a very good experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatormom36758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mezzaluna”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good value meals. Nice bar outlay and very nice ambiencePity about the less than friendly male bar tender

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food; terrible service”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch. Lunch pizzas are large enough to share but are delicious. Our service was terrible, as the wait staff was milling around the bar and not particularly friendly. This was very disappointing considering the price we paid to eat here and the quality of the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for an Italian meal”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were here during the off season so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We ordered the giant calamari & tomato soup for appetizers. The calamari was the biggest we'd ever seen. The spinach & apple salad was the perfect size & not too filling. The mix of the apples, brie, & macrona almonds was delicious. My husband ordered the chicken parm. He said the chicken was cooked perfectly. The homemade marinara sauce had just the right amount of kick. We would have given it 5 stars but the service was a little slow considering we were the only people in the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ponyboyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing