We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and pizza”
Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #24 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mezzaluna, meaning “half-moon” in Italian, is an independent, locally owned and operated restaurant serving modern Italian cuisine in Aspen. Our large Italian marble bar and our beautiful patio are key features of our restaurant, and our wood-burning pizza oven helps create an authentic atmosphere. We serve lunch, après ski and dinner, with daily food and wine specials. Aspen's favorite Italian for over twernty years and with Aspen's only wood-burning pizza oven. Fresh salads, tasty appetizers, pastas, fresh seafood daily and classic favorites like chicken marsala, veal piccata and pepper-seared beef tenderloin. Our horseshoe-shaped Italian marble bar is right in the center of the action. Our walls are adorned with over 100 pieces of original Italian art, and our patio is open for outdoor dining in the Fall, Spring and Summer.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and pizza”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We carried out pizza and salads. We had 2 different pizzas, both were excellent. The salads were typical side salads, but the house dressing was excellent. The bread that was sent with our dinner was very good as well.
The following day, we stopped in for a glass of wine and a bowl of the tomato basil soup. The soup was excellent. The restaurant is beautiful and the service at the bar was great as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deryk c, Owner at Mezzaluna, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
thank you for your two visits to mezzaluna - we appreciate that. glad you enjoyed your food to go and the service at the bar. we hope you join us for a full lunch or dinner next time you're in town to try a few more of our great menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    151
    67
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Enjoyed an early Christmas eve dinner with a large group. Service was fast and friendly. Bread was brought and replenished freely. All food (pizzas, pasta, soup, salad) were good italian dishes. Better than chain Italian but nothing super special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deryk c, Owner at Mezzaluna, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
many thanks for your review. we are glad you and your group enjoyed mezzaluna on christmas eve and we hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on time for dinner reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes. Other patrons following us that knew the hostess were seated before us. Obviously catered to large parties. Our family of four was placed in the very back of the restaurant next to a table with two young boisterous children . Server was nice enough but pizza came from a separate kitchen area and it arrived 20 minutes after our three other main entrees arrived . Server apologetic but still annoying since the rest of us had finished dinner already . Would not return as our dining experience was sub- par and food value not in line with menu prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tourguidemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deryk c, Owner at Mezzaluna, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
tourguidemom,

Thank you for stopping in with your family during your time in Aspen. I wish your experience left you with a better impression! It's disappointing to hear the hosts might have been seating parties out of order. I'll be sure to speak with the staff on this point. In the meantime, let me assure you that we don't play favorites. We truly want to accommodate everyone -- families, locals, visitors alike!

I'm also disappointed to hear the entrees were served at different times. There must have been some miscommunication there, and for that I apologize. So you know, the pizza likely arrived from our wood-burning pizza oven, which is separate from the main kitchen. We take a lot of pride in our homemade dough and old-school cooking process, so I hope you enjoyed it. If you have any other thoughts on the dishes you ordered, I would love to hear your feedback. We're always looking to improve. And we thank you for your help!

Hope to welcome you back again,
Grant Sutherland - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As a local, I really like the Mezz for a light Italian meal. Great staff, fantastic food, and you just can't beat their bread.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdieterich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deryk c, Owner at Mezzaluna, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Happy to hear it! I'll pass this along to the staff, as well. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review—hope we'll see you again soon!

Cheers,
Grant Sutherland - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We ate here twice during our trip, the Pizza was fantastic and the mushroom ravioli was to die for. Great atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deryk c, Owner at Mezzaluna, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Glad to hear it, Mike. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great call on the mushroom ravioli, as well. If you're ever back in Aspen, we'd love to host you again!

Best,
Grant Sutherland - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing