We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Ribs, great service”
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
Ranked #5 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Ribs, great service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ordered a full rack of ribs and shared between two of us. The ribs were very tender and the sauce tastey! I ordered a side of grilled vegetables that were perfectly done. The service was excellent and the prices were affordable (hard to find in Aspen). We sat outside and the noise of Main street was very noticable. But we were there for 5-6pm traffic. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    224
    75
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ in a log house in Aspen”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good BBQ. Wide variety of meats and side dishes. The 4 of us sampled the shredded beef, the pulled pork, ribs and the chicken breast. All were tender and tasty. The chicken was nice and moist. The usual sauce is very good (they say they've won awards with it) and they had a second spicier, thicker sauce on the table. The hand-cut, batter dipped and deep-fried onion rings (and dipping sauce) were a big hit. We would readily dine here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place with local flavor, great bbq”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hickory House was recommended to us by some locals....it's a great contrast to the boutique restaurants downtown, with a real "old Aspen" feel. Bare bones inside, but the food is terrific and the portions huge. We started with Onion Rings for the table, followed by BBQ of all types....ribs, chicken, and catfish. A fun night--good food and lots of it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nakMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“do I smell ribs?”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved the ribs and catfish combo. The onion rings were terrific too. The wait staff were friendly and helpful - but it was really crowded and one of our appetizers went to another table and only we noticed. The ribs were very good, meaty and tender. All in all very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendywoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandeville, la
Level Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Food, Onsite Parking and Reasonable Prices!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really good ribs and pulled pork. Side dishes were just ok. Prices reasonable and service good. Would definitely recommend to others and will go back next time I'm in Aspen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katrinabrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing