We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in Aspen”
Review of Snow Queen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snow Queen Lodge
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in Aspen”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great time in Aspen with M and David. The room was large enough and included a kitchenette, and the living area downstairs was spacious and victorian. The hot tub was great, tho one day it was out of service. The breakfast was delicious, with made to order eggs every day.
For the money we felt this was the best deal in downtown Aspen. We stayed more than a week as a result. M met our every need. David knows all about flyfishing in the area if that is of interest to you!

Room Tip: You can walk to everything in downtown Aspen from here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
17
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great place to stay. Very convenient to all shops and food. The room was very cleans and cozy. Great breakfast and conversations with other guest and the inn keeper "M" was a peach. Thanks for a wonderful time. We truly enjoyed the stay and would highly recommend to friends and family!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'll start off with the Pro's of the Snow Queen:
1) The room was very clean. This goes a long way for me
2) The location was good-right at the base of the mountain and in the heart of Aspen. It was within walking distance to anywhere.
3) The host M was pleasant and kind

But, the con's much out-numbers the pro's and I would never recommend this location to anyone:
1) I have had better accommodations for half the cost at Super 8's in the middle of nowhere. The beds were old spring mattresses, that were horribly uncomfortable. Our room had a private entrance that backed into the alley (yes, the alley). The day we arrived, our alley neighbors were having a knock-down, drag out fight which forced us to close the windows (obviously, no fault of the B&B on this one, but just trying to give you the idea of how close we were to our neighbors)
2) There was no AC and the days were pretty warm. We turned on the fan. Bad idea. It was so old it sounded like a jet engine. We opened the windows and the noise of traffic and neighbors kept us awake
3) The "breakfast" was not what you would expect for paying so much at a B&B. It consisted of bread, fruit, muffins and coffee. Once we sat down, we were offered eggs, smoothies, etc. It would have been nice to know all our options first-it seemed like they didn't want to go out of their way at all

This place was way over-priced for what we expected. Stay away!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cyclistrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here in January during the X Games and had a great experience. Stayed in the Lucky Strike room, which was small but had everything necessary for a comfortable stay. WiFi was super helpful for work. My only suggestion is to offer humidifiers for guests to get acclimated to the elevation.

The location of the inn is great. Every morning there was ample food & drink, and they made me some of the best eggs! "Eggs always taste better when they're made for you" (a very true statement from the inn's host). I believe I was the only American staying there at the time and it was enjoyable to meet new people while sitting around the breakfast table. Everyone was respectful of one another's space and simply put, it was just lovely. Hot tub was really nice too (got to use it once). I'm typically a hotel girl but really enjoyed this experience. It took me a bit out of my element and was positive all around. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our experience with The Snow Queen Lodge in Aspen was that they have great staff - we worked with David and Norma and their customer service was excellent. We look forward to booking with the Snow Queen Lodge again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We book at the Snow Queen because of a friend and we found it charming... we stayed 10 days and 9 nights ..It is not the Saint Regis... but we were treated like family. It was like going to stay with your great aunt... The staff is the best and accommodated all our requests. The owner who is one of the famous Toni twins ( this is in the days of the 1930s) was great she had us all to a party to meet and greet all the guest. We made a lot of friends that day from around the world. In short my friends and I would never stay any were else. The snow queen is a gem.

Room Tip: The cooper lofts are nice..... In house the two friends room and the midnight room are the best in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerHoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Snow Queen Lodge for 4 nights/5 days over Christmas 2012. I carefully selected the lodge since the prices were some of the best in Aspen, since it has a great location, and had ample and cost effective accommodations for our needs. We were all round pleased with our stay!

I had been to Aspen 4-5 times before and know what a special place it is - Summer or especially Winter. It was cold in December (5-15 degrees at night and below freezing by day). However a wonderful white high Rockies alpine Christmas delight. We saved by not having a car-prefer not to drive the icy roads and you can walk around town (few blocks) and to the Ajax mtn. lifts (5 blocks) easily. Also ½ block from the Lodge you can jump on the extensive free shuttle bus system to all neighboring 3 ski resorts-which we took advantage of to get to Snowmass to ski one-day and to have a special Xmas eve dinner at Krabloonik restaurant again near Snowmass. ($15-$20 w/tip for Taxi to/from ASE).

We met the owner, down-to-earth and engaging “Norma” who has lived in Aspen for 40 years and still overseas things along with her friendly son Michael and his family. But the live-in Innkeepers Mary and Billy are also very sweet, accommodating and genuine---the best that hosts can be. They serve a relaxed and homestyle continental breakfast each morning along with hardboiled eggs. All you need in the morning to get rolling. One night they had an informal get together for guests to enjoy some wine and chat across international new friends. Plus Billy is a veteran base guitarist and openly invites guests to the many venues around Aspen where he frequently plays with his band. They are always there to inform, smile/laugh, chat and assist with anything one needs-but otherwise give guests a lot of privacy and time alone.

The place is very quiet, clean, a typical simple B and B accommodation and a perfect location. The Aspen Brewing Company is a few blocks away, a fondue/”Creperie” place we enjoyed 2x is nearby, as are all the shops, restaurants and the City Market is about a 10 minute walk (fridge in room). The Jacuzzi out front looks up at the runs on Ajax and is a wonderful way to relax, soothe sore muscles, and enjoy the amazing ambience and scenery.

We had the “Silverqueen” room in back on ground level and on a quiet driveway/backstreet-so we had a private entrance. Overall the Snow Queen is a nice value, no frills, and an ideally located accommodation. The “staff” as aforementioned are welcoming and like family. As I did they enjoy the international guests which were plenty. Next visit to top-notch Aspen we will surely stay here again!

Thanks very much for the special memory and overall holiday experience!

Room Tip: They all seemed private and ample-but we loved our "Silverqueen" room in the back and grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 36 in Aspen
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 36 in Aspen
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Queen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Queen Lodge

Property: Snow Queen Lodge
Address: 124 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Queen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Snow Queen Lodge was established during Aspen's Wild West Silver Boom and continues to sparkle with Victorian charm.Our family run lodge is conveniently located at the base of Aspen Mountain, in the center of downtown Aspen. We specialize in western hospitality at affordable prices. Start your day with breakfast & good conversation, and then walk to the Gondola & Ski, the world class terrain of “Ajax”(Aspen mountain), or catch a free shuttle to Aspen's other legendary mountains: Highlands, Snowmass or Buttermilk. Enjoy our world class skiing without the lift lines! Later, relax in our hot tub & take in the mountain view, or enjoy après ski in our Victorian Parlor with a hot beverage. At night, let us steer you to one of Aspen's many renown restaurants, affordable local favorites, or numerous entertainment options. Even in the warmer weather, we are still an Aspen travel hot spot! In the summer, experience Aspen's unsurpassed arts offerings or escape into unparalleled scenic beauty. No matter what time of year you come to stay with us, in no time you will see why our satisfied guests keep coming back year after year… because at the Snow Queen Victorian Lodge . . . we treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Snow Queen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Queen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing